October round 1: Sales slowdown brings COE pullback

Ahyoo2002

Dun worry....Christmas and CNY is around the corner, and that means bonus is on the way....and that means hand itchy....and that means ppl tends to change around that period...and that means more sales...and that means COE will go up soon...and that means if u want to buy car, book now!!!

BTW if you are not aware, yen is going up meanings the car price is going up and those AD is adjusting the car prices....in fact TanChong has just agjusting the price up even though COE drops on last bidding. sooner or later the AD of japanese make will do the same too...

Dun believe go and check it out....

Hi bro,

Ye right to say to tt there are always factors to 'push' ppl to quickly go buy/book cars now ie yen, bonus...

But also others b4 u mentioned other factors to 'pull' ppl back from buying cars

So which is the bigger factor here?

Like most ppl, I also love to get new cars, dunno y also haha...maybe it's a singaporean thing [flowerface]

Nissan increase car price?

On 3rd Oct, after COE bidding:

Cat A down $1k

Cat B down $2.5K

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2074056#2074056

On 4th Oct,

Cat A down another $500

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2075006#2075006

and on 4th Oct again:

Lafesta/Presage Highwaystar down by a further S$500http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=2075263#2075263

Yen up? See here:

post-1-1191552167_thumb.jpg

i drive a lancer. i calculated and my break even point is when my car is 7yrs old cos at least i put some downpayment when i buy the car! still not in the worst case scenario of taking max 10 yrs loan without downpayment.

20 years! tat means when you scrap your car after 20years it will have no value at all. correct me if i am wrong.

for me, max i will drive is 10years. after 10 years you still have to pay another 5 or 10 years COE and i think it cost about 20k... i find it not worth it for a jap car...

i just been itchy backside lah.. sometimes you see your friends around you drive new cars with new gadgets in the car or u see beautiful new car models coming out, you will feel like changing. but when you calculate the finances, you will be slapped back in reality and stop dreaming to change car. haha!!!

If you maintain the car well enough, it will last you for many many years. The 10 or 20 years time frame is only applicable in Singapore.

If my car is good at the 10yr and the COE then is not too expensive, I will renew it for another 5yrs coz the road tax is 1.5 times at the 16th year.

i gonna bring back to workshop again to rectify the sound. my warranty expiring this month!! so better highlight first before they start charging for spare parts if needed!

Better do it fast [:p]

yeah that why i was laughing the last month or when MTA say COE will chiong....

based on record, the so-called prediction by MTA has never been accurate.

They say COE will chiong to make buyers kan cheong & close the deal but in fact i know COE will stablise & drop somewhat due to the fact that 2md hand car prices didnt move much but new car price continue to go up. Hence if wanna upgrade, you will take a huge financial hit.

Additionally the COE quota didnt not drop as some predicted.

i drive a lancer. i calculated and my break even point is when my car is 7yrs old cos at least i put some downpayment when i buy the car! still not in the worst case scenario of taking max 10 yrs loan without downpayment.

bro... breakeven is one thing, must make sure u got some $$$ on hand for the downpayment for your new car. A lot people seems to overlook this aspect.

My ride already broke even last year (3.5 yr old).... now also itching to change a new car but in the midst of saving $$$ for the new car downpayment

ya lor... precisely and i think about this point too. if i am to sell off my car at the break even point and buy a new car without forking out a single cent, it the same as taking a max 10 years loan without downpayment. back to square one leh... i will definitly save up some money for my downpayment for my next car.