Bacteria83 Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 In other words - different groups are held to different standards? What's fair of one group is not fair for another? As dangerous as saying offensive things about religion is, such an idea, that some groups are "more equal" than others is even more dangerous as an idea. Rules and laws are in place to protect and safe guards human. Sometimes they are not execute accordingly or to perfection. I cannot say its diff rules for diff set of people, its just that diff people have diff values and expectation. The laws is always there, and its up to enforcer whether they want to act or not. Just like when someone illegal park, if nv kena means your lucky if tio summon dun come out and cry your innocent. Not everyone who illegally park will being summon so what is fair and equal? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 Slapped gets 2years and/or $5000 fine......really an impulse & rash act. 😓 Think his sentence is harsher than Amos's. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 Not that praise points make a diff to a mod - But you made me giggle, so that deserves a reward I wanted to mention the same thing but ermm... I won't get the same respond. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 I wanted to mention the same thing but ermm... I won't get the same respond. check out the picture i donno about you guys but when i saw it the first thing i was thinking was whoa! machiam bdsm 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 check out the picture i donno about you guys but when i saw it the first thing i was thinking was whoa! machiam bdsm he's my customer !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 he's my customer !!! which chap? the one standing behind or the one standing in front anyway what kind of a customer ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 I see the limelight on Amos only. Why nobody mention abt the guy in red who slapped Amos? What he did is as bad if not worst than what Amos spilled from his mouth! Shouldn't he be punished too!?!?! PS: i'm not with Amos but I just find the system in Singapore biased. I guess you spoke too soon? Now newspaper put big big liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 1 slap 3 weeks..... should have given him a few more... and maybe a kick or 2... since sentence will likely be the same.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 1 slap 3 weeks..... should have given him a few more... and maybe a kick or 2... since sentence will likely be the same.... sentence carry out concurrently Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 which chap? the one standing behind or the one standing in front anyway what kind of a customer ? he wire/aircon man, I supply some stuff to him lor but 3 weeks for that si ginna is damn stupid & bo hua thing to do !! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 sentence carry out concurrently if 1 slap 3 weeks.... 3 slaps 9 weeks, 1 kick 4 weeks, 2 kicks 8 weeks then boh hua..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 (edited) 3 weeks seems heavy for one slap. If it was one punch would it be 3 months ? But I think this is a good stance by the justice system, no one can take the law into their own hands. This is exactly why Singapore's judiciary system is highly held in esteem internationally. Edited May 11, 2015 by Ingenius 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 1 slap 3 weeks..... should have given him a few more... and maybe a kick or 2... since sentence will likely be the same.... the meaning of one slap is teaching him a lesson, anything more is violent act liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LiuDeHua 4th Gear May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 3 weeks' jail for slapping blogger Amos Yee SINGAPORE - A self-employed man was sentenced to three weeks in jail on Monday for slapping teenage blogger Amos Yee outside the State Courts last month. Neo Gim Huah, 49, was charged in court on Monday. He was not represented and gave a long mitigation plea in Chinese, explaining why he did it. He told the court earlier he wanted to teach Yee a lesson. Neo, who runs his own air-conditioning and electrical engineering business, said he had taken offence at portions of the video posted online by Yee which he found disrespectful to Singapore's founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew. He closely monitored the case and intended to confront and slap the blogger before his first two court appearances as he felt that the teenager's actions had portrayed Singapore in a negative light. Deputy Public Prosecutor (DPP) Winston Man said Neo initially restrained himself and did not confront Yee until his third court appearance on April 30 when he realised the teenager had flouted his bail conditions. Neo also believed that it would be difficult for the criminal justice system to deal effectively with Yee because of his age. On the afternoon of April 30, he waited at the State Courts for Yee to arrive. He knew the media was present when he slapped the blogger, and deliberately committed the offence as he wanted the assault to be publicised "so that the world at large would know that the victim was being taught a lesson''. Neo was arrested at about 2am the next day. Arguing for a sentence of two weeks' jail, DPP Man said Neo's offence was pre-meditated and featured a strong element of vigilantism, which undermined law enforcement mechanisms and the criminal justice system. "Public confidence in law enforcement mechanics and the criminal justice system will also be eroded if there is a widespread perception that it is acceptable to take the law into one's own hands and resort to violence in order to address a perceived injustice,'' he said. Neo said in his mitigation letter that Yee had been disrespectful to Singapore's founding father and insulted him, making all of Mr Lee's contributions "worthless''. He said Yee, whom he described as a "clever child'', had let everyone down. "What I feel is what everybody is feeling," he said. Slapping him would instil fear in the teenager, let him know what the ways of the world are and teach him a lesson, Neo said. He said he knew it was wrong to slap Yee but could not control himself. He could be jailed for up to two years and/or fined up to $5,000. [email protected] - See more at: http://www.straitsti...h.GDcBYC4p.dpuf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 The boy will probably not even go to jail so that 3 weeks is so not worth it. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 he wire/aircon man, I supply some stuff to him lor but 3 weeks for that si ginna is damn stupid & bo hua thing to do !! yalor damm bo hua 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 (edited) Yes Amos should be punished. The guy in red should be spared? So in future, if someone in the community disagrees with majority of the crowd, The crowd could whacked the person who disagrees with them? One thing bad abt Singapore is many practice double standard here. 1st world country, 3rd world mentality. Double standards is everyday, from governmental all the way to family. We can't fully stamp out, but at least the government here is trying to balance reduce it. Anyway, you multiple paragraph's replies worth of unfairness based on this case can throw into the dustbin liao. The slapper kena big time liap. Time to find out examples I presumed. Next time be patient for awhile before assuming what you assumed. Edited May 11, 2015 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged May 11, 2015 Share May 11, 2015 He slapped the wrong person lah, now he tio slapped. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...