Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 I have a very "ang moh" view on this - hawker centre food is seriously cheap - and even after 13 years here, it STILL surprises (and pleases) me just how cheap it is. For only $4 I can get a decent feed of rice, 2 meat and 2 veg. Chicken rice - only $3.50. Some places for stuff like hor fun or black pepper beef with rice is around $4... It is fantastic and amazing. When I was a student - prices like this were unheard of from any sort of place I had access to - I used to pay about $7 for lunch at the university cafeteria - to cook at home it cost me around $4 per meal (steak with with pasta and tinned pasta sauce) - and that was almost 20 years ago. It is something that my wife and I occasionally have words about - she complains expensive, and I tell her that its dirt cheap. You come to Toa Payoh, Lorong 7, Blk 22A hawker centre. $2.50 for 2 meat & 2 veges .... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 Yeah, in this days and age, I am surprised the educated ones are still fear of taking a stand. For me quite simple, I look at the candidates and decide which one (or group) will better represent what I believe in. The dilemma for me is the weighing of local vs national issues. I finally get to vote in 2011 and voted for Chiam's team. Unfortunately his team disintegrated recently with infighting and what not and this has a big effect on my confidence for anything alternatives. Plus the fact that since 2011, I have not seen any parties except PAP walked my ward and offer help to people. When the next election come, I'd do the same and compare the candidates. Only this time I will be more careful about team that is formed out of convenience. Re: "walking the ground" - This is something that used to bother me when I was part of the Resident's Committee. And it stems from the lack of separation between PA and ruling party. With the MP for a district being the PA "Advisor" for grass roots committees they have A LOT of support to get out and meet people. To be CLEAR - I NEVER saw anything inappropriate, the block visits were ALWAYS organised under the auspices of, and described the MP as "advisor" to the Grass Roots Organisations - however the fact of the matter is, it's a distinction without a difference - everyone knows its the MP, even if she's wearing a different hat, so they still get the credit for "walking the ground" even if it's not done as a politician. Now to the support that was given - a) Full RC was mobilised - normally they aimed for at least 9 pax (3 pax advance party, 3 pax support, 3 pax follow-up) everytime the advisor wanted to do a block visit (walk the ground) b) The Town Council, Police, HDB, URA and sometime MND were activated - basically anyone you could think of that might be asked a "town council" question from a resident (eg: crime, why is a new block of flats being built, when are we getting a hospital etc etc) This is NOT an infrastructure that a "challenger" enjoys - they simply don't have the support to do this sort of thing. And to be honest - it wouldn't at all surprise me if I were to hear that it would need a permit if you wanted to do this "privately" anyone (i.e gather 12-15 people and go door to door in an estate outside of election time) Went to my fren's house in Hougang for MJ last night. Guess what, WP's Ah Huat was making his rounds going door to door asking how is everything... After he left, it struck me that living 10 years + in my area, i have never met my MP before APART from Election time. Just a random MJ session at my fren's place and i bumped into a WP MP. What are the odds? A small action but it impressed me. Huh... You're willing to admit openly and honestly here that you were illegally toking up at your friend's place????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 i guess 2nd half of next year before the world economy collaspe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 Re: "walking the ground" - This is something that used to bother me when I was part of the Resident's Committee. And it stems from the lack of separation between PA and ruling party. With the MP for a district being the PA "Advisor" for grass roots committees they have A LOT of support to get out and meet people. To be CLEAR - I NEVER saw anything inappropriate, the block visits were ALWAYS organised under the auspices of, and described the MP as "advisor" to the Grass Roots Organisations - however the fact of the matter is, it's a distinction without a difference - everyone knows its the MP, even if she's wearing a different hat, so they still get the credit for "walking the ground" even if it's not done as a politician. Now to the support that was given - a) Full RC was mobilised - normally they aimed for at least 9 pax (3 pax advance party, 3 pax support, 3 pax follow-up) everytime the advisor wanted to do a block visit (walk the ground) b) The Town Council, Police, HDB, URA and sometime MND were activated - basically anyone you could think of that might be asked a "town council" question from a resident (eg: crime, why is a new block of flats being built, when are we getting a hospital etc etc) This is NOT an infrastructure that a "challenger" enjoys - they simply don't have the support to do this sort of thing. And to be honest - it wouldn't at all surprise me if I were to hear that it would need a permit if you wanted to do this "privately" anyone (i.e gather 12-15 people and go door to door in an estate outside of election time) I have long learned that it is never fair in life, especially in politics. The opposition can continue to complain and get sympathy but it is what it is. Figure out a way to reach your intended audience, get some mind share and don't wait till election time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
159er 5th Gear October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 (edited) Huh... You're willing to admit openly and honestly here that you were illegally toking up at your friend's place????? MJ is Mahjong la.... what you thinking? Edited October 24, 2014 by 159er Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 MJ must involve $$? We play "shoot finger". Im now just typing with my right hand... Hmmm...that's not the MJ that I learnt in my youth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
159er 5th Gear October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 Hmmm...that's not the MJ that I learnt in my youth This is the only MJ i learnt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 I have long learned that it is never fair in life, especially in politics. The opposition can continue to complain and get sympathy but it is what it is. Figure out a way to reach your intended audience, get some mind share and don't wait till election time. Well it is what it is ... the question you need to be asking yourself (in my mind) is as much about performance vs expectations, visibility vs support etc etc - And also - is this the system we should be perpetuating or should we look towards seeing if something different can be built? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 i guess 2nd half of next year before the world economy collaspe... change the 2nd part of you sentence to: "before the HDB/COE supply is cut further to boost up property prices (and land sales revenues) and COE income again." 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 Re: "walking the ground" - This is something that used to bother me when I was part of the Resident's Committee. And it stems from the lack of separation between PA and ruling party. With the MP for a district being the PA "Advisor" for grass roots committees they have A LOT of support to get out and meet people. To be CLEAR - I NEVER saw anything inappropriate, the block visits were ALWAYS organised under the auspices of, and described the MP as "advisor" to the Grass Roots Organisations - however the fact of the matter is, it's a distinction without a difference - everyone knows its the MP, even if she's wearing a different hat, so they still get the credit for "walking the ground" even if it's not done as a politician. Now to the support that was given - a) Full RC was mobilised - normally they aimed for at least 9 pax (3 pax advance party, 3 pax support, 3 pax follow-up) everytime the advisor wanted to do a block visit (walk the ground) b) The Town Council, Police, HDB, URA and sometime MND were activated - basically anyone you could think of that might be asked a "town council" question from a resident (eg: crime, why is a new block of flats being built, when are we getting a hospital etc etc) This is NOT an infrastructure that a "challenger" enjoys - they simply don't have the support to do this sort of thing. And to be honest - it wouldn't at all surprise me if I were to hear that it would need a permit if you wanted to do this "privately" anyone (i.e gather 12-15 people and go door to door in an estate outside of election time) For every of their visits, 1) planning by RC & CCMC members in weeks advance 2) planning the programme in weeks advance 3) planning the routes to take and send to him/her for approval in weeks advance 4) inform police, hdb, town council, parking attendants, NPark and cleaning contractors in weeks advance 5) Clearing all rubbish, sweep clean one week in advance 6) touch-up painting or white wash certain area and peeling off 'ah long' debtor notes/writing one week in advance 7) Hi-jet washing the void decks of the routes to be taken two days advance 8) final clearing of rubbish, sweeping and ensuring all area clean on the night (12 hrs before visit) 9) in the morning can see 2 car park attendants chope car park lots and also seal off some lots on the left & right of the intended parking lot 10) policemen on patrolling So as you see, all the manpower, time, effort spent by so many parties just for his/her 3 hrs visit just to say 'hello', 'hello', shake hands and move off just as fast as he/she comes...... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 Re: "walking the ground" - This is something that used to bother me when I was part of the Resident's Committee. And it stems from the lack of separation between PA and ruling party. With the MP for a district being the PA "Advisor" for grass roots committees they have A LOT of support to get out and meet people. To be CLEAR - I NEVER saw anything inappropriate, the block visits were ALWAYS organised under the auspices of, and described the MP as "advisor" to the Grass Roots Organisations - however the fact of the matter is, it's a distinction without a difference - everyone knows its the MP, even if she's wearing a different hat, so they still get the credit for "walking the ground" even if it's not done as a politician. Now to the support that was given - a) Full RC was mobilised - normally they aimed for at least 9 pax (3 pax advance party, 3 pax support, 3 pax follow-up) everytime the advisor wanted to do a block visit (walk the ground) b) The Town Council, Police, HDB, URA and sometime MND were activated - basically anyone you could think of that might be asked a "town council" question from a resident (eg: crime, why is a new block of flats being built, when are we getting a hospital etc etc) This is NOT an infrastructure that a "challenger" enjoys - they simply don't have the support to do this sort of thing. And to be honest - it wouldn't at all surprise me if I were to hear that it would need a permit if you wanted to do this "privately" anyone (i.e gather 12-15 people and go door to door in an estate outside of election time) Huh... You're willing to admit openly and honestly here that you were illegally toking up at your friend's place????? Mahjong illegal meh?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 For every of their visits, 1) planning by RC & CCMC members in weeks advance 2) planning the programme in weeks advance 3) planning the routes to take and send to him/her for approval in weeks advance 4) inform police, hdb, town council, parking attendants, NPark and cleaning contractors in weeks advance 5) Clearing all rubbish, sweep clean one week in advance 6) touch-up painting or white wash certain area and peeling off 'ah long' debtor notes/writing one week in advance 7) Hi-jet washing the void decks of the routes to be taken two days advance 8) final clearing of rubbish, sweeping and ensuring all area clean on the night (12 hrs before visit) 9) in the morning can see 2 car park attendants chope car park lots and also seal off some lots on the left & right of the intended parking lot 10) policemen on patrolling So as you see, all the manpower, time, effort spent by so many parties just for his/her 3 hrs visit just to say 'hello', 'hello', shake hands and move off just as fast as he/she comes...... I cannot praise you again so fast - but exactly correct (if slightly exaggerated) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 change the 2nd part of you sentence to: "before the HDB/COE supply is cut further to boost up property prices (and land sales revenues) and COE income again." perhaps. after which a collapse follow by..normally that is the way... worse nitemare will be importing to support the housing marketing like in 2008....which had already planned for...6.9 mils... that will be very painful 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic October 24, 2014 Share October 24, 2014 next GE... he's gona b everywhere... can fight multiple battle fronts! Am I watching too much Nezha (哪吒)? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WelcomeAbroad October 25, 2014 Share October 25, 2014 (edited) I was watching Razor TV about Harry and Kishore. Many thoughts, chiefly how how does he maintain his sex appeal...no of fence, but that dude has got it. Not Mr Kishore but the other guy. Lucky got him ah. That lady posing the question to him how Singapore absorption of immigrants, she started with the statement, I am Singaporean. Those words spoken with the atas pronunciation, the way she stood with the char siew bao on her head. That is the result of immigrants to Singapore. How Singapore national identity has absorbed immigrants, there you have it. Volumes of achievement and failures in there, well to me that is. Do you think so too? How Harry shove the question back at the prying by that ridiculous person. That says volumes too. That immigrant culture does not know how to behave or appreciate Singapore. I resent that they bring out the worst in us. Then, what is life without a few worthy nemesis'. That question is like poking at the soft and painful area, which is why they should shut up, earn their dough and bugger off. Then the contrast hit, immigrant result and new immigrant coming in. What would the grandmama or even great great grandmama of the char siew bao lady have spoke or queried? Hmmm? Currently, the younger generation does not know life as we know it, thank goodness the opposition parties are disorganized with no charismatic leaders. Crazy lunatics of brothers and sisters. They are not projecting reliability or quality or value for money like automobiles of Japanese Marques or even the Korean Marques. Who would really want a third world marque unless really Bo bian. And you would know you are Bo bian then you chut the third world marque. Then you have the monopolizing company selling continental Marques and upscale Asian Marques. I digress, the opposition has to be united, show they have a clue and action plan to implement sound strategies that achieve the same or superior result of dad's company in a kind, compassionate manner, which lately has been missing be coz many old timers are gone liao. And please get charismatic and believable leaders that have sex appeal, got any image consultant anot? You keep hammering at this no good, that no good. You are making us out to be still new immigrants with thought processes incompatible with modernity. Are the opposition using us to gain fame and power as well as make responsible decisions with a good retirement package? You know what guys, the char siew bao and the ridiculous guy could be plants to set the stage so to speak. Heck even I may be a plant. Yet, IB and Radx would know I am a common son of Singapore, the result of immigration, with the attached gaffes and successes along the way. I hope that either they Win big like 70 and greater percent big. Or they get out for the people to expel their frustration and cool off, then make a come back. I hope this GE don't become like the sinking of IJN Yamato Harry is sexy....hahahahah. My grandpa not so sexy, why har? Btw, my grandpa, 100% ah tiong who sarporked Captain Harry and crew. Edited October 25, 2014 by WelcomeAbroad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/pm-lee-says-his-children/1504700.html?cid=FBSG "Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said his children have not yet expressed an interest to enter politics." so not yet means its a matter of time lah right? the dynasty continues... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/pm-lee-says-his-children/1504700.html?cid=FBSG "Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said his children have not yet expressed an interest to enter politics." so not yet means its a matter of time lah right? the dynasty continues... "Every child is different," said Mr Lee. "Of course parents would wish for their children to be successful but they all have different natures. Some may be more interested in arts while others could be keen on computing or science. This is something that will have to be developed based on their preferences." I have a feeling there are no takers from his familee . . .his children not in the news, so no idea what they are upto now. Still, it may be too earlee to say there will be no more lee. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 2, 2014 Author Share December 2, 2014 posted by nicfoo: Since I saw someone posted about wish list for soccer, I thought maybe I can start a wish list for election swing voters. As usual, there will be die hard PAP supporters, and there will be hardcore opposition supporters. For these two groups of voters, please take your battle to where it is suppose to be. There is a thread started by RadX for election battle, please fight there. http://www.mycarforu...st-here/page-25 It is no secret that many elections around the world are won or lost because of the swing voters, these people are not fully supportive of one party only, and they vote base on what they believe is best for the country and themselves. The key lies in how to reach out to this group of voters. It seem like the government is not too interested in this group of voters, so let us tell them, how they can lost our votes ( or how the opposition can win us over). I feel that our government is a good manager, but not a good politician. Generally I am quite happy, there are good policies introduced, and there are bad ones. What I really want to see , is that they can admit whatever mistakes done, get it corrected and move on. It takes a great politician to admit mistakes, sometimes mistakes bring in votes. The era is different, things are different, people are different. Those (swing voters) who want to share your thoughts, come on in. cheers!!! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...