StefanK Supercharged December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 On 12/25/2013 at 10:29 PM, Camrysfa said: Hogging or not, the video is not clear. For me, if I was doing 100 and the road ahead is clear, I would be looking at the rear mirr to see if there are cars are behind & if there are, will move left to let them pass. However, if I am the guy behind, I wouldn't say I have right of way. Why junk this? I also give way whether my speed is at 100/110/120km/h. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 On 12/25/2013 at 1:26 PM, Dinosaka said: Witness an incident today afternoon, a car was hogging on lane one at 80km/hr, A TP Volvo was driving coming behind the hogger, middle lane also have a car going at the same pace. As the hogger did not change lane for almost a min while the TP Volvo was behind tailgating him, the TP Volvo starts to overtaking from the left towards the 3rd lane and back to 1st lane.... Since the hogger did not get stop or fined by the TP Volvo... So with this I conclude that it is not an offense to hog the 1st lane n TP encourage overtaking from the left... First, overtaking from the left endangers not only yourself but others and by concluding what TP did by overtaking from lane 1 thru lane 2 and into lane 3 and later back from lane 3 cutting across lane 2 and back to lane 1 is damn dangerous. Please don't cut in and out like that, this is reckless. TP speeds or cut in/out is TP. You are not TP. And how do you know the road hogger was not issued with a warning. At end of the day, you can't say no coz TP do not need to stop someone along the road to get the motorist. Dont' anyhow assume and it is plain to follow what the TP did or practice. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 On 12/26/2013 at 2:48 AM, StefanK said: Why junk this? I also give way whether my speed is at 100/110/120km/h. nvm, upz him can liao haha. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 On 12/24/2013 at 3:59 AM, Hamburger said: obviously you have not seen the T6 or T5. They eat bimmers for breakfast.... That REALLY depends on the Bimmer we're talking about. Sure, if you're talking abouta poor hapless 118 or even 320. But don't generalise. MANY Bimmer models can eat any production Volvo short of the Polestar for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And,yes, cars like the S60R are included. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 On 12/24/2013 at 11:17 PM, Obscurest said: Guess what my friend did to those new car drivers? Really tailgate till super close. If he dares he jam brake and bang cos he is driving a super old car and scraping soon. He is not driving anymore so can't be bothered about the insurance premium. Sometimes we keep saying if u can't tahan overtake etc... Why on the other hand ask yourself are u one of those inconsiderate driver? Yes tailgating is bad and I don't give a damn to them if I'm already "speeding" But if u know u are slow pls move away... 1 more story to share with regards to my friend. There is once he really got into an accident by tailgating cos the driver jam brake purposely. Is a Merz and the driver came out and started scolding asking him why he tailgate. My friend just keep cool and says claim insurance. But before they leave, he said this: Next time must think if u can play the game before going slow or jam brake. I'm scraping soon but u have 9 more good yrs to go plus after this accident your car value will drop.... Yes he may seems like a b**tard but come to think of it, he is not wrong... It all depends if u are game enuf for this kind of "game" Good thing he not driving anymore and I hope he never ever drives again. Such idiots will only kill someone sooner or later if allowed to stay on the road. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thingy 1st Gear December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Honestly, there are really more and more road hoggers every single day. Why cant these ppl have the mentality to keep left if they wanna go slow? Some are even traveling way below the speed limit... I really hope the TP can enforce more rules on road hoggers... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 (edited) Like to hear your views of this: If you drive along AYE to Tuas after Tmn Jurong, the speed limit drops to a turtle 80 kmh along this rather straight and usually light traffic stretch. TP very very often positions themselves on one of the overhead bridge with a radar gun. Even if you have not got a fine yet, chances are you would have received one or two warning letters, and I heard that many many have received such letters. Here is the tricky bit. To avoid getting fine, drivers would tend to drive just about below ~90 km/hr in lane 1. Lane 2 is is often occupied by lorries travelling at their legal speed of 70 kmh. What would you do in such situation if you are in lane 1 already at "safe" 90kmh and being pressured by another car from behind who obviously don't bother about being fined for speeding? Would you kuai kuai change lane and get stuck at 70kmh in lane 2 then move back to lane 1 later. You may have to do this repeatedly....or would you just stick to lane 1 at 90kmh and be called a road hogger...or do you speed up in lane 1 but risk being fined? Here is the dilemma, you do not willfully want to be a road hogger to others but neither do you want to be fined for speeding by exceeding 90kmh or get stuck painfully behind a lorry at 70 kmh. Edited December 27, 2013 by Topspin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 On 12/26/2013 at 12:30 PM, Turboflat4 said: That REALLY depends on the Bimmer we're talking about. Sure, if you're talking abouta poor hapless 118 or even 320. But don't generalise. MANY Bimmer models can eat any production Volvo short of the Polestar for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And,yes, cars like the S60R are included. me referring to both make of similar price bracket regardless of engine capacity. On 12/27/2013 at 8:04 AM, Topspin said: Like to hear your views of this: If you drive along AYE to Tuas after Tmn Jurong, the speed limit drops to a turtle 80 kmh along this rather straight and usually light traffic stretch. TP very very often positions themselves on one of the overhead bridge with a radar gun. Even if you have not got a fine yet, chances are you would have received one or two warning letters, and I heard that many many have received such letters. Here is the tricky bit. To avoid getting fine, drivers would tend to drive just about below ~90 km/hr in lane 1. Lane 2 is is often occupied by lorries travelling at their legal speed of 70 kmh. What would you do in such situation if you are in lane 1 already at "safe" 90kmh and being pressured by another car from behind who obviously don't bother about being fined for speeding? Would you kuai kuai change lane and get stuck at 70kmh in lane 2 then move back to lane 1 later. You may have to do this repeatedly....or would you just stick to lane 1 at 90kmh and be called a road hogger...or do you speed up in lane 1 but risk being fined? Here is the dilemma, you do not willfully want to be a road hogger to others but neither do you want to be fined for speeding by exceeding 90kmh or get stuck painfully behind a lorry at 70 kmh. stay put and helps save others from being clicked.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 On 12/27/2013 at 8:04 AM, Topspin said: Like to hear your views of this: If you drive along AYE to Tuas after Tmn Jurong, the speed limit drops to a turtle 80 kmh along this rather straight and usually light traffic stretch. TP very very often positions themselves on one of the overhead bridge with a radar gun. Even if you have not got a fine yet, chances are you would have received one or two warning letters, and I heard that many many have received such letters. Here is the tricky bit. To avoid getting fine, drivers would tend to drive just about below ~90 km/hr in lane 1. Lane 2 is is often occupied by lorries travelling at their legal speed of 70 kmh. What would you do in such situation if you are in lane 1 already at "safe" 90kmh and being pressured by another car from behind who obviously don't bother about being fined for speeding? Would you kuai kuai change lane and get stuck at 70kmh in lane 2 then move back to lane 1 later. You may have to do this repeatedly....or would you just stick to lane 1 at 90kmh and be called a road hogger...or do you speed up in lane 1 but risk being fined? Here is the dilemma, you do not willfully want to be a road hogger to others but neither do you want to be fined for speeding by exceeding 90kmh or get stuck painfully behind a lorry at 70 kmh. This is my daily route and I always "wave" to the bugger on the bridge. Depending on the conditions, I either travel behind the car (assuming it's at 70 - 80km/h) if the middle lane is already occupied by heavier vehicles thereby obstructing me from undertaking (after the bridge, no point undertaking when the car in front of you is already at radar limit) safely. If after that, the car fails to pick up pace to overtake within 10s (more than enough time for most cars to hit their optimum speed), check middle lane, wait for opportunity (for me is usually when going up slopes) before undertaking safely and resuming legal overtaking speed. And yes, I always switch in and out repeatedly when I do not want to speed or my guts tell me there are more than 1 occupied bridges. No point going against your own license. Anyway, if you are heading out from Tuas, the fast drive can only last until Jurong Town Hall, after that it's average 70km/h due to heavy traffic all the way. On days when I feel adventurous, I can drive very fast, but I still give way when bigger HP cars catch up and I know sure lose one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 On 12/27/2013 at 9:25 AM, StefanK said: Depending on the conditions, I either travel behind the car (assuming it's at 70 - 80km/h) if the middle lane is already occupied by heavier vehicles thereby obstructing me from undertaking (after the bridge, no point undertaking when the car in front of you is already at radar limit) safely. On 12/27/2013 at 8:29 AM, Hamburger said: stay put and helps save others from being clicked.... That is provided you both understood the reason why some cars chose not to speed on lane 1 on some stretches even if the path is clear, but some may not be aware of true reason and start putting out videos in Youtube cursing and swearing at that stupid road hog. I may get flamed for saying this, but sometimes, just sometime, the road hog in front of you blocking your way could have saved you from a fine and demerit points.....ponder that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 用心良苦,谁又了解。。。哈哈哈 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I wonder if install this at rear windscreen will kenna summon or not? Best sia! http://www.au-my.com/product.aspx?lang=English&product_id=32 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 On 12/30/2013 at 2:20 AM, Mason016 said: I wonder if install this at rear windscreen will kenna summon or not? Best sia! http://www.au-my.com/product.aspx?lang=English&product_id=32 Why? want to increase cases of road rage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 On 12/30/2013 at 3:48 AM, StefanK said: Why? want to increase cases of road rage? They do have a nice thank you / sorry sign as well. http://www.au-my.com/product.aspx?lang=English&product_id=1 But on a serious note, any LTA rule forbidding such "ornaments"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I will in & out. Behind lorry not good unless stay far behind. Gravel, stones can crack ur windscreen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 (edited) On 12/24/2013 at 11:17 PM, Obscurest said: Guess what my friend did to those new car drivers? Really tailgate till super close. If he dares he jam brake and bang cos he is driving a super old car and scraping soon. He is not driving anymore so can't be bothered about the insurance premium. Sometimes we keep saying if u can't tahan overtake etc... Why on the other hand ask yourself are u one of those inconsiderate driver? Yes tailgating is bad and I don't give a damn to them if I'm already "speeding" But if u know u are slow pls move away... 1 more story to share with regards to my friend. There is once he really got into an accident by tailgating cos the driver jam brake purposely. Is a Merz and the driver came out and started scolding asking him why he tailgate. My friend just keep cool and says claim insurance. But before they leave, he said this: Next time must think if u can play the game before going slow or jam brake. I'm scraping soon but u have 9 more good yrs to go plus after this accident your car value will drop.... Yes he may seems like a b**tard but come to think of it, he is not wrong... It all depends if u are game enuf for this kind of "game" driving is not playing game..if your friend has got small kid in car ask him to do that lah.. your friend must be those who whine about the new rules of 40-50% DP so he is jealous of new car drivers lah. no money to DP for a new car after scarpe? must be the reason for giving up driving. your friend is childish and a big loser. oh yes,most Merc drivers won't even blink an eye on such repair cost or car value drop..he dare to jam brake means he don't even bother too. Edited December 30, 2013 by Turbonetics 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 On 12/27/2013 at 11:08 AM, Topspin said: That is provided you both understood the reason why some cars chose not to speed on lane 1 on some stretches even if the path is clear, but some may not be aware of true reason and start putting out videos in Youtube cursing and swearing at that stupid road hog. I may get flamed for saying this, but sometimes, just sometime, the road hog in front of you blocking your way could have saved you from a fine and demerit points.....ponder that. if i were the car infront and knew of TP ahead,i would quicky switch lane and let the tailgater be the "hero"..hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 On 12/30/2013 at 9:35 AM, Turbonetics said: driving is not playing game..if your friend has got small kid in car ask him to do that lah.. your friend must be those who whine about the new rules of 40-50% DP so he is jealous of new car drivers lah. no money to DP for a new car after scarpe? must be the reason for giving up driving. your friend is childish and a big loser. oh yes,most Merc drivers won't even blink an eye on such repair cost or car value drop..he dare to jam brake means he don't even bother too. That's the most important thing to me. When I rode, I always give in due to 2 wheels. Now driving is the same due to kids. I especially hate tailgaters as I have kids & mine is a small hatch. So I will change lane. Sometimes I wish tailgating will kana demerit points or at least classified as driving w/o due care. If so, I will immediately install rear cam. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...