Free Choice for NS Vocation?

StefanK

6:24?

That is a total (6x60)+24 = 384s which means 384/6 = 64s per 400m or per round running track [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Wow..

He has no lungs? [laugh][laugh]

Even Gurkhas training with us last time also 7min plus.

That means S-League Beep Test is no joke one.

First time I see people run 2.4km is use sprint one. He lapped everyone hor... E-V-E-R-Y-O-N-E.

Also first time I see people run 2.4km got cheering contingent cheer for him one.

You the can [thumbsup][thumbsup]

My ex-colleague was one and he said his most traumatic experiences was when kena posted to an A&E department.

Most terrifying to him was attending to victims of serious traffic accidents when they were brought in...

According to him best was to be medical center medics.

Yup, got a friend who is a senior medic posted to A&E in the emergency team. Meaning he kena thoses ambulance come with critical patients. Like heart attack, accidents and other life-threatening cases.

He said he was depressed for the first few weeks. Cos a high number of A&E victims he received died. He mentioned one of the most tramatizing for him is one patient, very old man, stared at him and his eye slowly fade to grey, died while staring at him. Quite traumatizing.

Can see he changed in terms of outlook in life after that.

Edited by Pocus

all these unarmed combat instrutors, pti, lifeguard la...reservist all become riflemen at 2PDF. [grin]

reservist...............wait until reservist then talk mah.........NSF life enjoy first........... [laugh] [laugh]

Yup, got a friend who is a senior medic posted to A&E in the emergency team. Meaning he kena thoses ambulance come with critical patients. Like heart attack, accidents and other life-threatening cases.

He said he was depressed for the first few weeks. Cos a high number of A&E victims he received died. He mentioned one of the most tramatizing for him is one patient, very old man, stared at him and his eye slowly fade to grey, died while staring at him. Quite traumatizing.

Can see he changed in terms of outlook in life after that.

this one is true training!!! [thumbsup]

Not sure about the age of Gurkhas SPF take in nowadays.

My time 3 of them all quite old and married with kids.

Youngest was a SPF Boxing Batam weight champion aged 35.

They also walked after the SOC ramp but only a short while during CPFT.

They are all 18 yrs old.

I'm conducting training with them on key installations exercises and was told by their instructors that their selection criteria was very strict back in Nepal. One of the selection criteria was to run 4 miles within 7 minutes and everytime open applications, hundreds applied.

This youngsters are super fits.... [flowerface]

the PTI when come back for 1st reservist, most got belly one. [laugh]

reservist...............wait until reservist then talk mah.........NSF life enjoy first........... [laugh] [laugh]

to me..........every word coming out from the PTI during PT is fearful............the only words very consoling is "GOOD DAY!!"....... [laugh] [laugh]

Nope... its "Section Leader, take your squad back & Fall Out" .... [sly]

all these unarmed combat instrutors, pti, lifeguard la...reservist all become riflemen at 2PDF. [grin]

And can see them from 55kg during NS to 90kg during NSmen .... [laugh][laugh]

Ya. Mostly ex-PTIs, some freshly ORDed somemore.

But attitude is different. Not the luan kan, si sua kan that kind liao.

Attitude must be different now liao la.

Cannot go around F here F there like last time "CCB you trying to chow keng is it? Harder/faster!!!" but "Excuse me sir can you try harder or go faster? Thank you."

They are all 18 yrs old.

I'm conducting training with them on key installations exercises and was told by their instructors that their selection criteria was very strict back in Nepal. One of the selection criteria was to run 4 miles within 7 minutes and everytime open applications, hundreds applied.

This youngsters are super fits.... [flowerface]

Spoke to the Batam weight champion quite often as his engrish most toa kong.

He told me the selection was tough: mountain runs carrying loads with tight timing to clear and that physical abuse was very normal.

PT nobody could beat them (imagine they were all there to cheer us Singaporeans at the end point of the SIW field after completion of the 5km/10km run themselves) but test-wise all CMI.

Tough SOBs and deserve every penny our gahment pay them.

the PTI when come back for 1st reservist, most got belly one. [laugh]

Not easy leh, like most they "trained" very hard to consoildate the six-packs into one big lump leh [thumbsup]

Same like all chiong to be BG, come out can become MP?

Oh different era lah... my era they raise the age for driving lessons already.

how old are you? I'm 35.

I didn't know they raised it...I remember taking my basic theory after my promos exams in JC1 then continue got my license.

they want to volunteer , go ahead. but after volunteer, need to be subjected to call up.

now we already kpkb about our 10 cycle reservist, you think any sane people will join the volunteer corp to get stuck in the same s--t hole as us?

obviously just another stunt to "pacify" singaporeans..

people get PR to come here to just earn money.. where got people really have love for this country to serve and what not..

how old are you? I'm 35.

I didn't know they raised it...I remember taking my basic theory after my promos exams in JC1 then continue got my license.

I 30, my friend same age already took his license when he was 18 too. But in the same year, they reviewed the age limit due to the numerous accidents of young drivers.

Given free choice?

Yeah , i still remember going for medical checkup many years back and the MO only gave me 3 choices , pilot , diver or cdo , you can't imagine what face i gave the MO and said no to all 3 .

Next , i reported to a camp again for some call up and wasn't sure what was expected(before enlistment) and i was given a form to fill where you are to fill in the preference of the choice of your vocation. Again i chose the storeman , clerk and cook as my preferred and pilot , diver , commandos as my last 3 choice.

Guess what happen later , my enlistment letter to BMT tekong was revoked and i was reporting to a camp in changi , only to find a whole bunch of fellows which had the same choice.

Don't come and talk c--k with me when you say free choice. That said , i didn't regret a sec of my army life , it shaped me to what i am now.

Edited by CH_CO

You the can [thumbsup][thumbsup]

My ex-colleague was one and he said his most traumatic experiences was when kena posted to an A&E department.

Most terrifying to him was attending to victims of serious traffic accidents when they were brought in...

According to him best was to be medical center medics.

Wrong bro.

Best is to DON'T SERVE kekeke [;)][;)]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bold and Italic my msg dunno why like that

really best medical centre [sly] that depend which medical centre u go to :) not the 24hrs medical centre.

remember/heard of LTA Bryan Loke (hope I remember his name correctly)?? the incident in Pasir Laba camp!!

LTA arm blow off!!! 6 sergant seriously injure!!! 1 private DIE!!! all send in to PASIR LABA medical centre!!!

but agree with another bro, the skill I learn follow me and useful til today!

CPR remember for good, all bandages skill and super IV skills thanks to all the ciao keng Sispec trainee every day I can jab at least one trainee [bounce2]

Edited by D3badge

heard from radio that next year onwards IPPT distance will change to 3.2km ?

good!! 2.4km seriously too short!!

Yup.... also on today ST. Speach by Minister.

Why extra 800 meters ?????? [grin]

from 1.5 miles to 2 miles lor

• Dislike 1

HQ medic relac one la....

Infantry/Guards/AI medics, respect [thumbsup]

yes....my twin was a combat medic...and during my ns and reservist this medics have to bear the most amount of equipments....stretcher, medical pouch,saline and others. During my nsf we always helped the medic out especially during the long route marches. There was once we helped him carry his M16...he just had to carry himself for the rest of the exercise.....he was even allowed to take out his no. 4. He repaid us during brunei reservist when we ran out of water and he gave us his saline for our consumption.....saying it was a kind of payback for our help during nsf. Maybe he wanted to get rid of the saline bag....hahaha.

good!! 2.4km seriously too short!!

from 1.5 miles to 2 miles lor

The 2-mile run sama sama with the US army's physical test.

They only have two other tests: sit-up & push-up.