2 lanes turn right to 3 lanes - which lane to go?

Nicholas

2 lanes turn right to 3 lanes - which lane to go?  

112 members have voted

1. 1. 2 lanes turn right to 3 lanes - which lane to go?

• Right most lane turn to right most lane.
    • Left most lane turn to left most lane.
    • Don't know, just follow.

Usually 3 lanes turn right to 3/4/5 lanes will have dotted lines so can follow, but 2 lanes turn right to 2/3 lanes seldom there's dotted lines.

Most of the time, if I'm the first car, I use the "waiting to turn right area" to gauge imaginary dotted lines to which lanes it's heading towards, then just zoom off when I can, to avoid any incidents.

If there are a lots of car, I'll just follow the cars in front.. some times most right lanes turn right to lane 1, sometimes they turn to lane 2. But which is the correct one?

--

Initially I thought that's what a user-submitted video is complaining, then I'm wondering if the taxi did turn to the wrong lane, but after watching multiple times, he's complaining about how the taxi cuts into the first lane as it turns.

The video also shows an instance of 2 lanes right turn to 3 lanes.

to me, if on right lane of any type of road, when turn right into any type of road, i will still keep to the most right lane. and the rest just follow. if turn left, then all take reference from left. not sure if i'm right but that's only me, so i dun go and assume everyone think like me. i practice caution and keep a watchout of how other drivers turn so as to avoid conflict.

life is short, let's not waste time arguing who right who wrong who got right of way. i'm not the one that can educate everyone. i just want to live longer. :)

  On 7/10/2013 at 1:18 AM, Mustank said:

no right no wrong

is see who drive a bigger lorlee [grin][laugh][laugh]

Nbz zzz hahaha

Must proceed with my class 4 & 5 Liao

See who lose [laugh]

  On 7/10/2013 at 1:18 AM, Toothiewabbit said:

When negotiating such turns, I tend to be extra cautious when the vehicles around me are trucks and taxis.

Ya man, slow a bit nvm but dun be crushed

On 7/10/2013 at 1:13 AM, SPT27AAA said:

No defensive driver spotted, self pawned

The video is not by me. I am usually quite defensive unless there's lines drawn that can follow and no lorries around. [;)]

Sadly even if dotted lines are drawn, always got some cannot follow the lines, dunno how they pass the circuit S curve.

no right no wrong

Haha true, I don't blame lorries or buses if they had to cut into lanes cause their turning radius wider.

But some of them really f up... turn so fast without caring about other vehicles.

Rule of a thumb [nod] Turn Right keep Right & Turn Left Keep Left [thumbsup]

Non of your voting choices suits me, I cast my vote into dustbin [bigcry]

Edited by Fongmy

On 7/10/2013 at 1:33 AM, Fongmy said:

My question is only for turning right 'cause most left turns in Singapore uses a slip road.

So from your reply, your vote should be the first one "Right most lane turn to right most lane." [;)]

no right no wrong

This is call bully kit chee you know ? [:(]

On 7/10/2013 at 1:33 AM, Fongmy said:

Yah. I believe the rule is that the right-most lane turns to the right-most lane.

The only exception is where there are dotted lines which may lead the right-most lane to the 2nd lane. Usually such cases are where the right-most lane on the road you're turning into is a right-turn-only lane...

On 7/10/2013 at 1:39 AM, Nicholas said:

My question is only for turning right 'cause most left turns in Singapore uses a slip road.

So from your reply, your vote should be the first one "Right most lane turn to right most lane." [;)]

Nicholas,

Already voted and save my precious voting chance [laugh]

  On 7/10/2013 at 1:32 AM, Nicholas said:

The video is not by me. I am usually quite defensive unless there's lines drawn that can follow and no lorries around. [;)]

Sadly even if dotted lines are drawn, always got some cannot follow the lines, dunno how they pass the circuit S curve.

Haha true, I don't blame lorries or buses if they had to cut into lanes cause their turning radius wider.

But some of them really f up... turn so fast without caring about other vehicles.

Bro , when u asked this question, oreadi means u have doubts Liao

And u dun blame lorries???? They got license one leh

They ought to keep in their own lane!

But we Siam them ourselves la [laugh]

  On 7/10/2013 at 1:39 AM, Nicholas said:

Hahaha your this reply is cute......

That uncle abit heart attack Liao [laugh]

On 7/10/2013 at 1:41 AM, Thedream said:

Yah. I believe the rule is that the right-most lane turns to the right-most lane.

The only exception is where there are dotted lines which may lead the right-most lane to the 2nd lane. Usually such cases are where the right-most lane on the road you're turning into is a right-turn-only lane...

If you see Orchard Rd major cross junction at Scotts Rd/Patterson Rd, you'll notice 4~5 lanes drawn with white dotted lines, these dotted line is for vehicle to keep in lane at turning into Orchard Rd [:)]