University degree not VITAL for success!

dunno. but my wife's supervisor was sibei slack and trying to appear like work was being done, while usually monitoring stocks and doing his own stuff on the sidelines.

not that my wife doesn't do that also, but she also buay tahan him haha

Something like you lah  [laugh]

Do you mean your wife is something like me

or your wife's supervisor who kenna pok?

I'm not sure what's with the discussion over something a disconnected aristocrat said. It is like men talking about the pains of childbirth and how local women debate the insignificance and uselessness of Singaporean men over national service related deaths.

20% of secondary school places to be reserved for students with no affiliation

By Lianne Chia

POSTED: 7 March 2017 at 12:12 PM

UPDATED: 7 March 2017 at 12:20 PM

AA

SINGAPORE: From 2019, the 27 secondary schools in Singapore that offer their affiliated primary school students priority in the Secondary 1 posting exercise will have to reserve 20 per cent of their places for students with no affiliation to the school.

Education Minister for Schools Ng Chee Meng made the announcement in Parliament on Tuesday (Mar 7).

Speaking during his ministry’s Committee of Supply debate, Mr Ng said this is to strike a balance between recognising affiliation and ensuring open access for all students.

He noted that affiliation has its educational merits. “It helps foster a strong school spirit and preserve schools’ traditions and ethos,” he said. “But notwithstanding these merits, we have to ensure that our schools are open to all students, regardless of their backgrounds or connections.”

Since the 2014 Primary 1 Registration Exercise, at least 40 places have also been set aside in every primary school for children without a prior connection to the school.

Currently, most affiliated secondary schools already admit more than 20 per cent of non-affiliate students, said Mr Ng. But this proportion can vary from year to year.

The changes take effect from the 2019 PSLE cohort.

Mr Ng also stressed that as the education system improves, the Government will continue to ensure that it remains open and inclusive, such that every child will have access to a quality education.

In response to questions from MPs about MOE’s resourcing of schools, he said that when deciding how much to resource, MOE’s focus is on the student.

“Equitable funding is not about giving every school the same resources, but taking a needs-based approach, varying our resourcing to bring out the best in every child.”

For example, he said Crest and Spectra, which are two specialised schools for students in the Normal (Technical) course, received per capita funding of about S$27,000 in FY2016, which is significantly higher than other schools.

“This funding goes towards supporting a skills-based curriculum and customised learning environments that can better position the students for subsequent studies,” said Mr Ng.

- CNA/lc

AA

Mediacorp News Group

©2017 Mediacorp Pte Ltd

I like. This guy maths is good.

There is this very important fact, for those that dun get it.

The university system is for the best of the best, other places are for the best of the best from senior generations to utilize.

The two unis are tools, implements.

Still only those not ready to be best of the best would subscribe to a Taichi move.

If not, there would be tuition centers like in Taiwan or Japan for GCE A levels.

I like the bottom line of the CNA article.

Edited by Datsun366

Any fresh diploma holder from around 1997 period? Was the salary around 1.6k?

Managed to dig out my 1997 payslip and scan.

post-2654-0-77274600-1489014960_thumb.jpg

walao eh ... 97 payslip still keep ... win liao [thumbsup]

please don't remind me my first job basic pay $800 [bigcry]

Best part of this is I sometimes wonder how I manage to survive, give parents some money and still be happy about life...

Things were cheaper in 1997.  My favourite curry puff from the Marine Parade market opposite Parkway Parade was 40 cents. 

Best part of this is I sometimes wonder how I manage to survive, give parents some money and still be happy about life...

lesser responsibiliyies back then.

knn... orcefer pay, at that age is damn a lot of money loh.

if i print mine, you will flip in your chair. 

its $180 nia hor.

I'm not sure what's with the discussion over something a disconnected aristocrat said. It is like men talking about the pains of childbirth and how local women debate the insignificance and uselessness of Singaporean men over national service related deaths.

You are back for the twats. [bounce2]  :a-fun:

Things were cheaper in 1997. My favourite curry puff from the Marine Parade market opposite Parkway Parade was 40 cents.

hmmm, did you eat wan tang mee wet for 20 cents and dry 30 cents? i guess that was a different world then

What matters is ability, not a university degree: Ong Ye Kung

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/what-matters-ability-not-university-degree-ong-ke-yung

Actually he understand that when there are too many people with degree, degree will become worthless. So he actually want to cap it at 30% and there is uproar in public comments on Facebook.

Last time have degree is gold mine as not many have degree so they will be very valuable. Now he talked about skills.. I feel that he missed out something. That is which degree should not have in the 1st place. Those degree that got to do with medicine, engineering, IT and those that is more of specialized skillset are still quite relevent. Those that is liberal arts degree, human resources.. Erm.. Those degree what kind of skillset will they get?

post-14834-0-06594400-1494248110_thumb.png

Have these highlighted degree got use meh? When graduate and look for Job.. Employer ask you what degree you have.. I have degree in social skills.. Employer will be like huh? What degree is that? How is it relevent to the job requirement which require deep expertise.. Social skills still need degree meh? OMG..

Edited by Yewheng