Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Today I tried to do re-contract after current contract in force for > 12 months but < 21 months. Wanted to get the Sony-Ericcson Arc and was prepared to pay the $100 penalty for not waiting for the full 21 month as before. BUT, was told I have to pay $300 penalty as Arc is a smartphone. Really disappointed as never know about such rule. Is it a new rule? me actually contract almost expire, ask the person, say no charge to terminate, then i go terminate and suddenly next month they charge me $400!!! i go complain and it seems settled, SUDDENLY, in the next month, the $400 bill added together with MIO homes bill, knn complain again, then this month still kena yesterday had complained and they apologize, hope no more next month! Sinktel suckssss ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Today I tried to do re-contract after current contract in force for > 12 months but < 21 months. Wanted to get the Sony-Ericcson Arc and was prepared to pay the $100 penalty for not waiting for the full 21 month as before. BUT, was told I have to pay $300 penalty as Arc is a smartphone. Really disappointed as never know about such rule. Is it a new rule? me actually contract almost expire, ask the person, say no charge to terminate, then i go terminate and suddenly next month they charge me $400!!! i go complain and it seems settled, SUDDENLY, in the next month, the $400 bill added together with MIO homes bill, knn complain again, then this month still kena yesterday had complained and they apologize, hope no more next month! Sinktel suckssss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 theres a reason they are called STINKtel and SUCKhub. M1 i dunno. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuleo78 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 (edited) actually the correct ting is, if urs is above 12 mth but below 21 mth its consider as early upgrade where surchage is either $300 or $100 depending on ur previous model purchased. eg - if ur previous model purchase is an iphone then ur early recon fee is gonna be $300 + watver the new phone price, be it an iphone or normal/smart phone. But if ur previous model purchased is normal/smartphones den ur early recon surcharge will be $100 + watever the new phone price. As for Hub Club member, early recon charge $300 - $200 early recon waiver + ur new model price, tis apply if ur previous purchase was an iphone but if its not den early recon thers no surchage u only pay watever the new phone price. this is the privilege of HC members. btw, if urs is on high end plan, ur able to to a early recon wout any additional surcharge be it ur previous purchase is an iphone or not, u only pay watver the new fon price. means to say every 12 mth ur able to change to a new fon. Edited April 9, 2011 by Zuleo78 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuleo78 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 IDA didnt do enough. the penalty should be tied to the OMV of the phone. if u buy a phone that costs 1k in the market, and your plan is 100/mth, then if u cancel after 12mths, no penalty. u "paid" them back le. or another way, allow max contracts of only 1 year. hahaha... u really make me laugh.. ur calculating cost of phone against ur mthly plan. yes if ur calculating tis way in 12 mth it wud cover cost of phone but den wat about ur usage charge? then can they make it like $100 fix mthly for u excluding ur usage charge?? make no sense at all bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuleo78 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 alamak... okie lar... now you know lor..... so dont come here comprain if you kena from Telco.... Think the reason for doing this is... IDA disallow Telco to tie the subscriber for >2years of CON-tract and some funny stuff that telco use to have.... so now they chook this type of pattern.... and knowing smart phone is popular, esp Iphone..... they eat us kao kao.... bro, then very simple, if u disagree with it u, u have a choice of buying the phone at retail price without any contract... did any telco stop us from buying retail price fon? i dont tink so.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuleo78 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2011 Share April 9, 2011 Yap, seriously IDA should make the telco tie in with max 1 year CON-tract.... knn now a days where got people keep phone for more than a year.... 1 year is like 100 hundreds years in mobile phone term.... if we all remember correctly, few yrs back all phones are on 2 yrs full contract or only if we reach 21 mth then we can do a recontact but IDA rcv lots of complains as 2 yrs is way too long den they change to 12mth to allow recontarct with a surcharge but yet now we still complain... den later if they give 12mth contract yet still ppl complain wat nex.. 6mth contract?? its a never ending complains... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathism Neutral Newbie April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 IMO, a 1 year contract will be just nice, simply because most phones have only 1 year warranty. There were times when my phones died just past the first year mark. Had to use a cheaper phone till my contract was over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 if u are on those smart phone plans when u are able to surf internet... yes u are required to pay 300$ i am previously on a normal plan even though i hold a E63 nokia phone not ablt to surf internet or nor do i have a data plan 15 months into my contract, i upgraded to i phone 4.. pay additional 100 only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 bro, then very simple, if u disagree with it u, u have a choice of buying the phone at retail price without any contract... did any telco stop us from buying retail price fon? i dont tink so.. Agreed. If you agree to get tied in by contract to get cheaper phone, hv to abide by their rules. The telcos are aware that many people who renew their contract after 1 year even after signing a 2 year contract. Even if there is a 1 year contract, the $100-300 will add on to the phone price anyway. So if you intend to change phone every year, be mindful to add $300 + the phone price and compare with full retail price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 hahaha... u really make me laugh.. ur calculating cost of phone against ur mthly plan. yes if ur calculating tis way in 12 mth it wud cover cost of phone but den wat about ur usage charge? then can they make it like $100 fix mthly for u excluding ur usage charge?? make no sense at all bro.. u dont get the point. what a few of us are saying is that, a 1 year contract is enough. they still earn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Today I tried to do re-contract after current contract in force for > 12 months but < 21 months. Wanted to get the Sony-Ericcson Arc and was prepared to pay the $100 penalty for not waiting for the full 21 month as before. BUT, was told I have to pay $300 penalty as Arc is a smartphone. Really disappointed as never know about such rule. Is it a new rule? if u on SEArc and wana get other hp,then is 300 if u not SEArc or smartphone for current contract and getting a smartphone or iphone,by right this 300 penalty should not in force,rather $100 the most Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 u dont get the point. what a few of us are saying is that, a 1 year contract is enough. they still earn. Well you have the option of no contract Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 (edited) if u on SEArc and wana get other hp,then is 300 if u not SEArc or smartphone for current contract and getting a smartphone or iphone,by right this 300 penalty should not in force,rather $100 the most Telcos juz want to make more $$$ lah. They already know 1) many people renew contract after >12 months < 21 months 2) many people buy smart phones To TS: Getting SE Arc from Singtel with 3G Flexi Lite (24 mth contract) with $300 penalty = $648 Get from WhyMobile at full retail price w/no contract = $750 Save: $102 Depending on the plan you have, more expensive plan, higher "savings", so you have to decide if it is worth it or wait out till 21st month, then you renew. WhyMobile Edited April 10, 2011 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 10, 2011 Author Share April 10, 2011 Telcos juz want to make more $$$ lah. They already know 1) many people renew contract after >12 months < 21 months 2) many people buy smart phones To TS: Getting SE Arc from Singtel with 3G Flexi Lite (24 mth contract) with $300 penalty = $648 Get from WhyMobile at full retail price w/no contract = $750 Save: $102 Depending on the plan you have, more expensive plan, higher "savings", so you have to decide if it is worth it or wait out till 21st month, then you renew. WhyMobile Thanks for the advice. Called up Singtel to check further and was told nothing can be done as have to follow rule. But, sort of consolation, I was told to call up again on the day my contract expire to ask for handset voucher; exact value cannot disclose till I call. My friend just told me about this as he has done it twice already, $100 each time. Another thing that I do not know of! But I will probably use my wife's plan to get upgrade lah, as it is much sooner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuleo78 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 u dont get the point. what a few of us are saying is that, a 1 year contract is enough. they still earn. i do get ur point bro, like i mention on other thread, tat few yrs back it was a solid 2 yr b4 u can do a recontract but IDA bend the rules and allow for a 12 mth contract due to much complains frm consumer and now we are asking for a 12 mth contract, its a never ending story by consumer and its never enuf. wat nex after 12 mth, 6 mth contract?? btw.. how do u noe tat with 1 yr contract they stil earn? but bro do take note even the contract is 2 yrs ur able to do recontract after 12 mth and watver ur balance of the previous contract duration is consider as forfeited and u start off with a new 2 yrs contract and tis cycle carry on and on. As to what i noe telco dont earn frm model of phones tat we buy but its our mthly subscription tats more important to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 i do get ur point bro, like i mention on other thread, tat few yrs back it was a solid 2 yr b4 u can do a recontract but IDA bend the rules and allow for a 12 mth contract due to much complains frm consumer and now we are asking for a 12 mth contract, its a never ending story by consumer and its never enuf. wat nex after 12 mth, 6 mth contract?? btw.. how do u noe tat with 1 yr contract they stil earn? but bro do take note even the contract is 2 yrs ur able to do recontract after 12 mth and watver ur balance of the previous contract duration is consider as forfeited and u start off with a new 2 yrs contract and tis cycle carry on and on. As to what i noe telco dont earn frm model of phones tat we buy but its our mthly subscription tats more important to them. This is just the same like some inkjet printers are sold cheaply and at a loss but they will earn thru' the ink cartridges that you'll use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 bro, then very simple, if u disagree with it u, u have a choice of buying the phone at retail price without any contract... did any telco stop us from buying retail price fon? i dont tink so.. Bro, I am just pointing out to TS what the telco is doing... in which point did I disagree... in any case, so what if I disagree..... LL suck thumb..... and no, I not RMC like you, buy phone without CON-tract... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...