Muar Durian Trip

Stinkray

Hello All,

I'm planning a day trip to Muar to have some yummy durian...can anyone tell if let's say I drive around 110km/h to 120km/h....roughly takes how long to reach destination ??? By the way....going by 2nd link morning 9am.

Please shear some experiences for those who has drive there before.....many many thanks... [thumbsup]

hi,

I frequent Muar due to OC is from there.

You can exit Yong Peng which is about 1.05 hr drive away,pass Yong Peng town and head toward Muar. Near a place call Parit Sulong. You will see alot of road side store manned by Malays outside the plantation selling fresh durian along the way.

Another way is to exit from Pagoh -1.20 hr away at 142/7km mark,turn left and head toward Muar town, also alot of road side stall.

If you want a proper place to eat,ie with table/chair and washing faciliites, the Chinese sellers around Jalan Sungai Abong in Muar town is your answer.

Do try out the Asam Fish Seafood around town, very delicious. And don't forget to drop by the famous Yong Sheng Cake shop to bring back gift for yourself and relative.

As a Singaporean without any contact, just enjoy at the roadside, not advisable to drive into the plantation which can stretch into km.

Happy feasting.

Muar ah..my hometown.. [laugh] [laugh]

From 2nd link, it's about 2hr - 2.5hr, depending on traffic condition..and i usually exit at pagoh toll..then it's another 30min drive to muar town proper..

as for durian, i don't have much recommendations because our durian is from own plantation one.. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Shull

My hometown Muar too. Like Shull said, from 2nd link, should take about 2 hours. If from Causeway, about 2h15min. Recommend Pagoh exit. Better driving roads.

If starting early on Sunday morning, can go to the Muar stadium area. There's a Malay farmers' market. Cheap veg, delicious Malay cakes, fresh produce, etc. Open early morning till about 1100.

If staying till late, go to the Bentayan hawker center. Chinese food. Open from 1800 till about 2300.

As for durians, recommend that you buy from the Chinese stalls. The reason being that the Chinese stalls are selling the 'hybrid' durians - more delicious. The Malay stalls are selling mostly the 'original' versions. Durian types to try : Ang Heh (red prawn), Ang Bak (red meat, also known as D101), Hor Lor (normally found only in the northern states). These are normally the best quality. Don't waste your stomach space on rubbish like D24, etc. Only eat D24 in Singapore when you are desperate for durians. FYI, until about 10 years ago, Ang Heh and Ang Bak not even available in Singapore due insufficient supply even for Malaysia. It's that good.

Price wise, Muar durians are normally charged by weight; i.e. per kilo. Not sure of current price as it's seasonal. As a guide, if outside of peak season, for top quality durians max price to pay is RM12/kg. If in season, about RM7.50/kg.

Parking your car in town requires parking coupons. Half hour coupons are RM0.40. One hour coupons are RM0.60. Coupons are required from 0800 till 1800 (I think). Coupons can be purchased from many shops in town, somewhat like Singapore.

Enjoy!

Edited by Flying_genie

From 2nd link, it's about 2hr - 2.5hr, depending on traffic condition..and i usually exit at pagoh toll..then it's another 30min drive to muar town proper..

as for durian, i don't have much recommendations because our durian is from own plantation one.. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

yr plantation .. that is good, than u shd organize a durian trip for us .. how?

would be glad to..but i dont know whether my relatives will mind onot..

when organising? [drivingcar]

Pay to eat & buy of course...... not free loading lah. [rolleyes]

would be glad to..but i dont know whether my relatives will mind onot..

lol..why everyone assume that i'm the one organising.. :wacko: i dont even know when will be the next time i go back muar siah..