Use of Second Link at Tuas

Peqasus

Hi guys,

took my first trip to JB over the wkend. Just wondering y ppl would rather squeeze at causeway than use 2nd link leh???

I calculated using GPS say for eg

Distance from 2nd link to Tebrau Jusco is rd 40 km. tat takes rd mayb 40 min travelling time? tot better than jam lor.

considering if 2nd link is a good option for me cos i stay so near tuas. any downside to using safety link? Jams? Usage charges? Security? Robbery???

Its a huge difference. Going to Jbee via Tuas checkpoint vs Causeway.

Once i tried coming back from jbee via tuas. So bloody far.......have to pay for toll somemore. [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Nowsadays the causeway jam not so bad. Went in ytday 1+pm. Spore side not much cars. I think 10 minutes tops clear spore side liao. Over Jbee side a bit of Q, maybe abt 20 mins. Thats all. Its still much much better than going via the Tuas.

for me wkdays nite during peak hrs i will enter via tuas. den come back thru woodlands. clear abit of carbon.

for after mn i will just take woodlands in and out. cheaper dude. [;)]

actually hor, very much depends on individual.... i stay punggol and 90% of the trip, i use tuas....only use causeway if i travel at wee-wee hour which i seldom do recently after i got married.... i will look at the time im going in/coming back, then make a phone call to check traffic at causeway and 99% of the time are "heavily congested"....so, tuas is for me... [:p]

got one time on my way back to sg, i reach jb and the jam starts before the flyover bridge toward jb custom (i can even see anything infront yet already jam.)., i know it's going to be easily 2hrs jam or more + depending on sg custom clearing also (we know they are slow, i mean very slow..), i simply u-turn spend 40mins to reach tuas 2nd-link and cleared custom within 10mins... spend anohter 25mins from tuas to punggol home.... anyday, i would rather spend a bit more, continue to drive rather than waste my life in jam... [:p]

On 9/22/2008 at 2:29 AM, Peqasus said:

Hi guys,

took my first trip to JB over the wkend. Just wondering y ppl would rather squeeze at causeway than use 2nd link leh???

I calculated using GPS say for eg

Distance from 2nd link to Tebrau Jusco is rd 40 km. tat takes rd mayb 40 min travelling time? tot better than jam lor.

considering if 2nd link is a good option for me cos i stay so near tuas. any downside to using safety link? Jams? Usage charges? Security? Robbery???

You probably have not experienced jams at 2nd link before, it could happen and yet have to pay more! I'm the causeway supporter and I don't like to use 2nd link having been caught in a 2 hours jam there before.

Regards,

On 9/22/2008 at 2:50 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

Its a huge difference. Going to Jbee via Tuas checkpoint vs Causeway.

Once i tried coming back from jbee via tuas. So bloody far.......have to pay for toll somemore. [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Nowsadays the causeway jam not so bad. Went in ytday 1+pm. Spore side not much cars. I think 10 minutes tops clear spore side liao. Over Jbee side a bit of Q, maybe abt 20 mins. Thats all. Its still much much better than going via the Tuas.

One more advantage about Causeway is, upon exit from the custom can run up to 100Km/h on HW and Tuas has lower speed limit, 80km/h? Speed camera warning signs everywhere, very sian and the HW is long.

Regards,

100 km meh thought spore speed limit on HW is 90km/hr max? Suggest those going into msia can check onemotoring online first to see the traffic sometimes Tuas can be very much faster even though ex but sometimes Woodlands can be empty while Tuas congested. It all depends on the day and time. By the way, heard the new JB CIQ take longer time to clear too last wkend the queue at woodlands was due to the car not able to move at the causeway due to the JB CIQ side. anyway had only went into to msia once after getting my ride 2 yrs back.