ST Forum: New Flat: Problems, Problems, Problems

Vulcann

Imagine spending almost 270k for a 3-room unit, excluding reno and furniture & stuff, you kena a lemon flat...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_751520.html

New flat: Problems, problems, problems

Published on Jan 4, 2012

THREE months after I moved into my new HDB flat along Bendemeer Road, the supposedly stainless steel fixtures in my bathroom turned rusty.

Their replacements by the HDB also turned rusty and I did not pursue the matter again because I was in the thick of my pregnancy.

Four months later, one side of the indoor clothes rack collapsed as I was lowering it but thankfully, no one was hurt. That too was replaced.

Last month, or some 14 months after we moved in, the ceiling of my living room started leaking because of a crack.

Once again, the HDB contractors had to repair the damage. The repairs were major enough to require me to leave my flat with my baby for a few hours.

How can a brand new flat have such problems within such a short period, especially when it was not a cheap three-roomer at $268,000.

How does the HDB ensure the quality of the flats and fixtures? With the current volume of build-to-order (BTO) projects, I hope the HDB is not rushing to complete flats at the expense of its dwellers.

Shameem Basheer (Madam)

I dont think all that repair is acceptable. To think its a new flat. But apart from HDB, is there any other venue where the tenants can lodged an official complain..?

Curious to know which contractor build those flat..if got problem, she won't be alone. She should ask around the neighbourhood ... Of she is alone, she got herself a lemon flat...

Do they still build 3 room flat nowadays ?

made a comeback after 30 years hiatus... tells you how much Singaporeans' purchasing power has regressed...

I wonder if the flat was built during Mah's time...

Do they still build 3 room flat nowadays ?

They had to as CEO say already the quality of living and space/person did not reduce since this 3 room only got 2 adults + 1 baby.

Last time 3 room got Grandpa/ma, Dad/mum, Uncle/Aunty, and 10 kids... this is real as my 2 Uncles lived in 3 room flat, 1 room each filling 7 and Ah Gong Ah Ma sleep in the kitchen...

With so many Ah tiong main con tendering for the job, don't be surprise about the quality.

Ya I see so many Ah Tiong Construction Cos doing everything from drains to condos.

In the past it started with Ang Mo then, Jepun then HanKok, now Cheena.

Next should be Ah Neh.

Curious to know which contractor build those flat..if got problem, she won't be alone. She should ask around the neighbourhood ... Of she is alone, she got herself a lemon flat...

Also curious who supervised / inspected the work? ----- HDB site supervising officers? or HDB let the contractor otot?? [:)]

Let's see what HDB got to say before judging who's right and who's wrong.

A good chance to see 'passing the buck in full swing'?? :D

Only the crack is the issue.

This shows the entire block is built on cost cutting method.

I worry can last ten years.

Maybe no need to wait for 10yrs... if these flats were built by ahtiong contractors who have been building in the past flats which collapsed in the middle kingdom, what chance do we have now? :o

Many more inquiry committees to be appointed, soon?

Cheaper, smaller, and collapsible............

Edited by KARTer

Imagine spending almost 270k for a 3-room unit, excluding reno and furniture & stuff, you kena a lemon flat...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_751520.html

New flat: Problems, problems, problems

Published on Jan 4, 2012

Last month, or some 14 months after we moved in, the ceiling of my living room started leaking because of a crack.

Once again, the HDB contractors had to repair the damage. The repairs were major enough to require me to leave my flat with my baby for a few hours.

Not surprised that the living room ceiling can leak, because waterproofing membrane is only applied in the bathrooms? How about kitchens? Anybody knows?

Definitely there is no waterproofing in the living rooms, so if the upstairs neighbour is the type that washes floor by splashing water all around, then yes, can cause leak to downstairs. Water goes through the cracks between wall and floor.

Edited by Sosaria

How about her neighbours? Got similar issues?

If isolated case, then the building still safe.

If neighbours also got cracks, then the building is suspect. Can last 10 years without collapse or not?

made a comeback after 30 years hiatus... tells you how much Singaporeans' purchasing power has regressed...

I wonder if the flat was built during Mah's time...

it takes about 2yrs to build these flats.... you say lor??! [:p]