13177 Hypersonic August 24, 2011 Share August 24, 2011 hmmm................ TT: if vote him might as well let prata stay, no diff...... TCB: a little bit like prata, if that's the case, let prata stay. TKL: might lose molah.... TJS: nothing much he can really do, at least he can check & balance, so what will happen if we chose him, will SG collapse? unless someone tells me too much of check & balance will make all of us go jobless & homeless, then I definitely vote TT, if not what the hag...... Hmmm....... none of the four i want to vote. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zard Neutral Newbie August 24, 2011 Share August 24, 2011 Vote for the one who will not put Singapore to shame on the international arena. The Elected President must have poise and can command a presence when speaking in front of foreign journalists and diplomats. The likes of TKL and TJS cannot make it as can be seen by all via the mass media. I disagree with you. TJS is able to speak both proper English as well as Mandarin. TCB can only speak English and I guess he is handicapped in Mandarin as he needs someone to translate for him on TV. TKL can speak both English n Chinese but he seems to come from a more Chinese speaking background. I think TKL also can speak in Malay and Tamil? As for TT, he's the "Ang-Moh" pai who speaks better English than Chinese, not very fluent in Mandarin. B4 TJS speaks, he thinks 1st b4 he opens his mouth n from his speech on TV I watched few days ago, he is quite poised and steady. If u talk abt representing S'pore on the international arena, I think he fits the bill (my personal opinion). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zard Neutral Newbie August 24, 2011 Share August 24, 2011 The least desirable President MIW wans to c in the Istana is TJS. Anyway, my family n I will vote for TJS. Despite the ST n media trying to paint a -ve image of TJS to draw votes away from him (try 2 paint an image of him being confrontational and aggressive), I m unmoved n I stand convinced that TJS is NOT a person who opposes for the sake of opposing. He will speak up for the welfare of S'poreans with a heart if elected. The Toa Payoh stadium is packed with people last night, but the Chinese paper showed a skewed photograph where it paints the image that the crowd is not huge. I guess that is the photo taken after 10 pm after the rally has ended and people have aredi started leaving the stadium. Under-handed tactics by the MIW controlled media again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 24, 2011 Share August 24, 2011 (edited) 60.1% support turnout also vely quiet one can point out to my why TJS is ppl's president and what can he do as ppl's president? he repeat alot of 'balance n checks' but i dun really see how/what he gonna do to do these 'balances n checks' After viewing his "Meet the Candidates" TV appearance, he seems hellbent on going straight for the MIW's collective jugular. He will almost certainly make a public stink about the ISA, ministerial salaries, etc. He will almost certainly disregard Constitutional strictures on his ability to disagree publicly with the gahmen. This should be fairly clear from the way in which he basically stonewalled Janadas Devan's dogged challenges about LKY's stated opinion of what the EP should limit himself to. This is what I *want*, and I think Sg *needs*. Do we really need another guai-guai figurehead who shrugs his shoulders and remains mum when the gahmen says something he (and the public) disagree with, simply because of a rather unjust clause in the Constitution, drawn up by the old dictator? I applaud TJS pushing the envelope in this fashion. His spoken English is far from perfect, but then neither is TT's. And, remember, TJS is no dummy. He went to RI and Oxford. Some people just have trouble with public speaking, and I can make allowances for that. The other candidates: TCB - my second choice. Gut feeling is he's going to be as quiet as a churchmouse if he gets elected. I have a strong feeling he's the P@P backup candidate, so all of you voting TCB in to spite the MIW may want to rethink that, as you may be playing into their hands. I have had no personal experience with TCB, but friends I know and trust have had dealings with him, and they mistrust him, considering him to be very self-serving. TKL - Surprisingly, I found myself warming to this guy. He does seem like he has his heart in the right place, but he comes across as hopelessly naive. He doesn't stand a chance in hell. TT - nothing to be said. The Great Satan himself. Edited August 24, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 24, 2011 Share August 24, 2011 (edited) Also, to all those who feel the President should be "dignified" and are prioritising that over the likelihood of the Candidate meaningfully exercising his custodial powers while in office, keep this in mind: We *did* have a series of benign, avuncular ceremonial figureheads as Presidents - the last of those was Wee Kim Wee. If that system had been continued into perpetuity, I would've had no problems stating that TJS was absolutely the wrong guy for the job. But the MIW, specifically LKY, changed all that with the creation of the institution of the EP. To me, it seems clear that the intent of the EP's role is to safeguard Sg's crown jewels (reserves, Key Appointment Holders) in the event that the oppo (or what LKY would consider a "rogue" govt. and a "freak result") were to sweep into power in an unprecedented upset. Here is how I view it: The EP is designed to be a sleeper agent for the P@P - his loyalty to "The Party" being guaranteed by the almost ridiculously stringent criteria for eligibility. He is expected be a "Yes Man" or silent partner while the MIW retain power. If the unthinkable happens and the Oppo ascends to power, the EP is expected to miraculously find his voice and be as obstructive as possible. Hopefully, this would queer the nascent, fledgling new gahmen's chances enough to give the MIW the victory the next time around, and restore order to the Universe. The MIW have tried their very best to keep the ones they perceive as trouble-makers out of the Istana, culminating in the farcical unopposed double-term of "Yes Sir" Nathan. This time, they have little choice - they belatedly realise how disconsolate and restive the populace has become and understand that heavy handed tactics (like refusing COEs to the rest and anointing "Saint" Tony) wouldn't go down too well. That's why they're letting so many candidates fight it out, hoping to dilute out the "dissenting" votes and making their man a shoo-in. Or either of their men - I'm not entirely convinced of TCB's independence from the P@P machinery (and machinations). Divide and conquer. Well, let's try and give those gloating bureaucrats a run for their money, shall we? The *last* thing the MIW want is for a full-blown agent provocateur to hold the Presidency, since that might screw *them* up instead. So I'm going to be as bloody-minded as the MIW and cast my vote towards exactly that possibility. Vote "Ho Say!" If he comes into power (unlikely, but one can always hope) - that would serve the MIW right - they would truly be hoist with their own petard. Edited August 24, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 24, 2011 Share August 24, 2011 from some info i gathered, TCB is like OTC. that's why he's not exactly fav son material. sigh, if it were only just TT, TCB contesting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 (edited) Also, to all those who feel the President should be "dignified" and are prioritising that over the likelihood of the Candidate meaningfully exercising his custodial powers while in office, keep this in mind: We *did* have a series of benign, avuncular ceremonial figureheads as Presidents - the last of those was Wee Kim Wee. If that system had been continued into perpetuity, I would've had no problems stating that TJS was absolutely the wrong guy for the job. But the MIW, specifically LKY, changed all that with the creation of the institution of the EP. To me, it seems clear that the intent of the EP's role is to safeguard Sg's crown jewels (reserves, Key Appointment Holders) in the event that the oppo (or what LKY would consider a "rogue" govt. and a "freak result") were to sweep into power in an unprecedented upset. Here is how I view it: The EP is designed to be a sleeper agent for the P@P - his loyalty to "The Party" being guaranteed by the almost ridiculously stringent criteria for eligibility. He is expected be a "Yes Man" or silent partner while the MIW retain power. If the unthinkable happens and the Oppo ascends to power, the EP is expected to miraculously find his voice and be as obstructive as possible. Hopefully, this would queer the nascent, fledgling new gahmen's chances enough to give the MIW the victory the next time around, and restore order to the Universe. The MIW have tried their very best to keep the ones they perceive as trouble-makers out of the Istana, culminating in the farcical unopposed double-term of "Yes Sir" Nathan. This time, they have little choice - they belatedly realise how disconsolate and restive the populace has become and understand that heavy handed tactics (like refusing COEs to the rest and anointing "Saint" Tony) wouldn't go down too well. That's why they're letting so many candidates fight it out, hoping to dilute out the "dissenting" votes and making their man a shoo-in. Or either of their men - I'm not entirely convinced of TCB's independence from the P@P machinery (and machinations). Divide and conquer. Well, let's try and give those gloating bureaucrats a run for their money, shall we? The *last* thing the MIW want is for a full-blown agent provocateur to hold the Presidency, since that might screw *them* up instead. So I'm going to be as bloody-minded as the MIW and cast my vote towards exactly that possibility. Vote "Ho Say!" If he comes into power (unlikely, but one can always hope) - that would serve the MIW right - they would truly be hoist with their own petard. posb was eventually sold to dbs despite otc raising the issue. if the gahmen choose to ignore him, what can he do? suck thumb and lppl. kaopeh to who? :angry: i don't think that will pose too much of an issue to them even if the president 'creates trouble' for the gahmen http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ong_Teng_Cheong imo, don't pin too much hope to whoever that gets elected... wait for 2016 better Edited August 25, 2011 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 I have been seeing some commenting that no point voting for a change since EP can't do much in whatever ways. So for this group of people, who do you think they will vote for? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 hear hear. power lies with the legislative and the executive. not the ribbon-cutting president. just because he is elected, it does not make him excutive 100%. tjs espeically, trying to give impression that he is the other PM in singapore if he is elected president. wtf So u mean a quiet and sitting by the fence president will be more better for us? Might as well ask the PRATA Man to stay on right? Why so troublesome? Every EP have its own limitations and we understand that. But at least he had to ensure that things like our reserve is protected and as president, he can give his own views too on policies to the existing party... But if we have another PRATA man... knn.. u want this kind of president is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 (edited) Maybe he is still confused on the role of a president in s'pore? That's why i still feel he is more suitable to run for GE than Presidential. Hahaha... Then I think u also can go and run for President what. Our president so easy to do.. Just shake hands, no decision making (done by a commitee), take photos, international visits, maintain diplomatic relationships, eat good food and get fat... why not? Give u 100k per mth, u want? A president who will fight for the common pple is a people president.. Just look at our late presidents.. those who are people presidents, they got our respects even when they passed away.. Unlike the present guy... Edited August 25, 2011 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 25, 2011 Author Share August 25, 2011 this sat. will throw stone see who hit i vote (except TT) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 TJS is the man to go for. He is not afraid to push for the man on the road. That's why we're with him. Our next president. Nuff said ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...