Ocean6576 4th Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 Once again, I would like to express my gratitude to the team who made the trip happened and especially to Bro Opel for managing so well in everything, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 5:48 AM, Opel17 said: A very big thank you to everyone [and families & friends] who went for this drive-up to Melaka and the Durian Farm. - it seem that I am alway fortunate to have met wonderful folks, during this drive-up, just like those folks during last year drive-up. - the best part is all are easy-going and are really geared up for fun together . They even accepted some of the hiccups as part of the fun - everyone take care of each other, head-count of pax and cars, buddy/convoy back to SG. And also thank to our co-organizeers bro Hermitage & Phmaksg for their kind assistance, especially with their knowledge of Melaka. Or else I would be the "blind" leading the group . There are several hiccups/shortcomings in this trip : - on the way to check-in to The Emperor Hotel, we lost 1 guy in 4-cars convoy, who finally managed to find his own way. Almost wanted to set out for search mission. - we overshot the meet-up point [before durian buffet], and all 7 cars had to wait at the roadside under the hot sun. It is certainly a sweltering time for families and kids. - some of the durians fail to impress, and there was not enough high-grade durians for takeway. Overall, I hope everyone had a good time, especially along the bumpy tracks to the durian farm Thanks & Cheers !! opel17 Once again bro Opel, thanks v. v. much for co-organising this trip. Don't worry about the hiccups, I don't think anyone really minded - besides, waiting there in the hot sun probably helped our appetite for the durian feast! Thanks also for teaching me that one can withdraw RM directly from our Sg bank a/cs using a normal bankcard and ATM pin. Fee is SGD$5 and the exchange rate is not great, but still, it's a relief to know that one has an option if one is strapped for funds. Good learning experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phmaksg Clutched June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 9:16 AM, Turboflat4 said: Once again bro Opel, thanks v. v. much for co-organising this trip. Don't worry about the hiccups, I don't think anyone really minded - besides, waiting there in the hot sun probably helped our appetite for the durian feast! Thanks also for teaching me that one can withdraw RM directly from our Sg bank a/cs using a normal bankcard and ATM pin. Fee is SGD$5 and the exchange rate is not great, but still, it's a relief to know that one has an option if one is strapped for funds. Good learning experience. Yes, We should recongized the effort of Bro Opel 17 (Steven) . He really organized the trip well and provided sufficient details of Melaka sightseeing, shopping, plantation visits etc We shall stay tune for next convoy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 9:04 AM, Ocean6576 said: Once again, I would like to express my gratitude to the team who made the trip happened and especially to Bro Opel for managing so well in everything, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 [quote name='Turbo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/26/2011 at 2:32 PM, Turboflat4 said: Guess I got lucky. Was chionging most of the way back. Hit 170+ (by GPS) at one point. Got to check for saman by Internet after a few days. I only noticed my car tachometer often around 4500rpm. I did noticed a few rather slow moving Malaysian cars, a few kilometres before the Toll Plaza where the TP waved motorists aside. I did slowed down a little from then onwards. You meant they do not issue any ticket on the spot if caught speeding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 3:12 AM, Phmaksg said: Sorry to all Bro, Uploaded photos too fast and forget to blank off the car nplate no. Trying to delete the photos but to no avail, can anyone help ? Ask Admin for help. PM them and explain and request for removal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 10:35 AM, Opel17 said: You probably heard [did you arrow him ] from Hermitage about the East Coast trip. My wife lived in Kuantan during her childhood when her parents brought her to stay in Kuantan for several years. She mentioned about heavy monsoon rains [and floods], and rough seas during year-end period. We are contemplating driving up to Genting, as this is our frequent holiday spot. We have 2 sms promo from Genting giving us free room [2nites + 2nites] between mid-Jul to end Aug. Now subject to my work schedule in due course. If ya gg up Genting from 10th to 13th do let me know. I"m not driving up as the free promo and stuff confirm alot of people. Genting Hotel under reno. No rooms. Normally my choice of stay as near to casinos I like. Highland should be quite maxxed out by now. And beds really hard. Don't quite like. Unless Maxim Suite!!! Booked abt 3 mths ago, decided to try the new Resort hotel as heard quite a few good reviews. Heard got rain shower summore. Better book fast. I received the sms like 2 mths ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 1:46 PM, Good-Carbuyer said: I only noticed my car tachometer often around 4500rpm. I did noticed a few rather slow moving Malaysian cars, a few kilometres before the Toll Plaza where the TP waved motorists aside. I did slowed down a little from then onwards. You meant they do not issue any ticket on the spot if caught speeding? It's possible, for e.g. if they radar-ed me but were busy rounding someone else up and there was no roadblock further ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocean6576 4th Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 Genting sounds nice, looking forward to another trip though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 2:26 PM, Moredhel said: If ya gg up Genting from 10th to 13th do let me know. I"m not driving up as the free promo and stuff confirm alot of people. the free promo include coach ? Genting Hotel under reno. No rooms. Normally my choice of stay as near to casinos I like. Highland should be quite maxxed out by now. And beds really hard. Don't quite like. Unless Maxim Suite!!! Genting Hotel, Highlands, Maxim Suite, casinos --> you are a high-roller gamer ? Gold or Platinum card ? Everytime "huat" ok Me & wife are 2sen gamers Booked abt 3 mths ago, decided to try the new Resort hotel as heard quite a few good reviews. Heard got rain shower summore. - we stayed at Resort Hotel before. Not bad because it was newly renovated about 4 yrs ago. Very comfy. Without bathtub. Toilet and shower in same cubicle. - if we can, we try to stay at Highlands Hotel because of complimentary broadband at 15th Floor rooms. Equally comfy like Resort. Provided with shower [non-rain] cubicle and bathtub, and separate toilet cubicle. Better book fast. I received the sms like 2 mths ago. Can't make booking as still waiting for Client reply on project meeting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 2:56 PM, Ocean6576 said: Genting sounds nice, looking forward to another trip though. Another trip to where ? My wife said me just came back, not yet warm up the sofa, now thinking of drive-up again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 (edited) No bro, no coach. But I think they have a promo for NN chips + RM Cash if you take their authourised coach providers and exchange genting points. Quite good deal. I'm not high roller. Also play 2sen games. Haha. Just pass time pass time relax only. Maxim no need gold or platinum leh, The most important is 'RM' card. Lol!! Tell client bo eng lah....I book the date then keep the dates clear. But then, I'm a less responsible person than you. Btw, appreciate the solid organisation and kind help for this trip. Edited June 27, 2011 by Moredhel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 3:37 PM, Moredhel said: No bro, no coach. But I think they have a promo for NN chips if you take their authourised coach providers and exchange genting points. Quite good deal. Not driving, and no coach. Taking flight ? I prefer driving up since my ride is un-utilized and more flexibility. Just not long ago, we signed up for VIVA Night promo RM3,000 NN chip/credit, 2nites Resort, dinner + Taiwanese YUYA singer perfomance. Abit overboard for us to take such promo, because RM3,000 is alot to us, but wife said she like YUYA songs. OK lor. I'm not high roller. Also play 2sen games. Haha. Just pass time pass time relax only. Maxim no need gold or platinum leh, The most important is 'RM' card. Ya we same, just pass time relax, and hoping the jackpot randomly and incorrectly arrow to us Wait long long, maybe one fine day. Lol!! Tell client bo eng lah....I book the date then keep the dates clear. But then, I'm a less responsible person than you. Btw, appreciate the solid organisation and kind help for this trip. Sorry that there was not enough Raja Kunyit durians for your takeaway. Does the 3 durians sparkle ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 Yeah. Can't take the coach speed and collective waiting time. And lazy to drive up coz like to spend nights up pressing 'Roll'. Air Asia promo that time, so went for it. If heng heng, take SQ back. 3k Rm = 1250SGD leh.... Chor chor....But once ahile I think ok. 3k NN to play with shiok right? No stress at start. Likely win or breakeven? Nah, no problem with the durian quantity. The 1st one was good. THe other 2 just opened just now, overripe...shoulda factored in the heat in boot during travel back to SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 4:00 PM, Moredhel said: Yeah. Can't take the coach speed and collective waiting time. And lazy to drive up coz like to spend nights up pressing 'Roll'. Air Asia promo that time, so went for it. If heng heng, take SQ back. the coach speed is faster than my driving, every coach overtake me on NSH 3k Rm = 1250SGD leh.... Chor chor....But once ahile I think ok. 3k NN to play with shiok right? No stress at start. Likely win or breakeven? Below breakeven, try to rationalize overall, YUYA songs fantastic, 9-course dinner not bad, Resort hotel comfy, so actual loss equate to about RM400~RM500. First time playing like high-roller in International Room. Will never commit such foolish stuff again . Nah, no problem with the durian quantity. The 1st one was good. THe other 2 just opened just now, overripe...shoulda factored in the heat in boot during travel back to SG. Did you remove the durians from the paperbag once you reached home ? Last year some of the durians we left overnight/day in the paperbag turn sour. The rest were good becos we feast on them right after reach back SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 2:54 PM, Turboflat4 said: It's possible, for e.g. if they radar-ed me but were busy rounding someone else up and there was no roadblock further ahead. On that Sunday occassion, there were more than one TP at the Toll Plaza diligently waving the cars aside for their colleagues to do the bookings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 28, 2011 Author Share June 28, 2011 (edited) Here is the video of 360deg view around Melaka City, from the Menara Taming Sari Revolving Tower. http://s631.photobucket.com/albums/uu36/op...ngSariTower.mp4 Stay tuned for more photos.......... Edited June 28, 2011 by Opel17 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...