Mivec9 1st Gear October 26, 2005 Share October 26, 2005 leakage yes was at clip part....clip koyak liao.... the rubber hose was actually brand new from...simon..yes again. so far all rubber hoses...as a precaution...i have changed all already.. Well, when i took out his ring clip..there's some brand though..but my concern is can do the job, can already..cheap and good, my hardware shop only 1 buck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 26, 2005 Share October 26, 2005 wahz u sound like a hardcore diyer... must chuan shou a bit of skill next time hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 26, 2005 Share October 26, 2005 rubber sounds like quite cheap to replace...but repair cost so hefty...bobian unless can find recon ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 26, 2005 Share October 26, 2005 [reply]go where?? simon..wahz that one is kana tow onez...not my choice cos car died...alternator not charging Go scrap yard lah!! Next time jio/call/pager/sms me k? I also replaced alternator (recon one) before, few weeks after I collecetd my swift. Car just died, replace battery, still cannot, in the end...alternator problem. My 1st "major" repair cost which then I really know maintaining an old car is not cheap. Luckily thank god the recon alternator is still working good till today... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 26, 2005 Share October 26, 2005 yo bro... why i go back to simon cos still got warranty.. how much was ur recon alternator...how long liao?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 I helped someone with the same prob on the rad hose. Just cut off the part which had the leak & push it back & it lasted for very long after. The damage was prob caused by mishandling when installing. Like he used a screwdriver to help push the hose over the lip & it prob cut the hose. With time, that part gave way although the rest of the hose is still in very good condition. Sometimes things with a brand will cost more as it gives u confidence that it is of good quality opposed to something without any brand as the manufactures don't even have the confidence to tell u they made it. Very high quality stuff will have a "MIL code" which means it is used in military equip & meets a very high standard but costs several times more. But dosen't mean all things without barnds r no good. Some r still of very good quality. If it is going to b used to secure a hose on the space shuttle, then u can b sure it will have a trusted brand as this kind of thing they cannot take any chances. For the rad hose on a car, well the most u break-down if it gives way. Unlikely will lead to a space shuttle crashing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 DIYER? Not really. I like to fiddle with mechanical stuff & learnd when I watched mechanics working on mine & frens cars. Wanted to learn as I used to b ripped off by so many mechs when I was young. There r many other guys here who r much more skilled than me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 (edited) Rubber bushings are only about $5 each & another $5 labour to change it. That's not too much to pay for a smooth, quiet & safe car. No point in getting re-con bushings. Never heard of anyone doing that. Latest r or polyprob (or something sounds like that) bushings. Of high quality. Costs about 4 to 5 times more though. Comes in several colours to look good. They also have bushings made of nylon or even metal. Metal normally used for racing but damm uncomfortable ride. Edited October 27, 2005 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 bushings so cheap.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 Yup. The normal black rubber type is about that. Lasts a couple of years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 Quote yo bro... why i go back to simon cos still got warranty.. how much was ur recon alternator...how long liao?? Recon Alternator = S$ 130.00 Labour = S$ 30.00 Total = S$ 160.00 Hi Pisces69, how to check if bushings are worn? Visual inspection can be done? Thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 When rubber bushings r worn, u get more creaking or clonking noise when going over bumps. U can visually check but must get under car to see. Sometimes quite hard to get a clear view, sometimes is quite easy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 thks for breakdown bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched November 1, 2005 Share November 1, 2005 anyone knows how to drain the radiator fluid? done up the temp sensor le wanna install later cut the hose everything wet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear November 1, 2005 Share November 1, 2005 there shd be a release valve/drain plug to unscrew near bottom of radiator. Normally for me, it's done by mech when they change rubber hose or other related cooling system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched November 2, 2005 Share November 2, 2005 (edited) i can't find it... do i need a jack to raise the car? maybe its blocked by the bodykit.. btw havn't found the thermostat yet... lolx that 'project' on hold first nvm... see if i can pump out the coolant from the pressure cap opening on the top btw i tested the water temp gauge in a pot of boiling water and only reads ard 95deg.. don't have a standard thermometer to compare but water boils at 100 deg at sea level pressure.. think the difference is quite a number.. maybe has to do with my soldering the wire i used from the sensor was the normal red/black kind u can get at electrical stores, not some fancy low resistance type.. trying to diy but nv seen a professionally installed setup b4 so just trial n error Edited November 2, 2005 by Yc86 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear November 2, 2005 Share November 2, 2005 Some info for ur diy job bro: Flush Radiator if can't locate it, need to raise the car. To drain the radiator, need to locate the petcock, which is the radiator's drain valve. You'll find it on the bottom of the radiator, and you'll notice that it has a handle. That handle is there for a reason: you won't need a wrench to open it (although you have one handy just in case). Thermostat's main job is to allow the engine to heat up quickly, and then to keep the engine at a constant temperature. It does this by regulating the amount of water that goes through the radiator. At low temperatures, the outlet to the radiator is completely blocked -- all of the coolant is recirculated back through the engine - hence coolant are not "cooled". Once the temperature of the coolant rises to between (82 - 91 C), the thermostat starts to open, allowing fluid to flow through the radiator. By the time the coolant reaches (93 - 103 C), the thermostat is open all the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched November 2, 2005 Share November 2, 2005 (edited) thanks for the info~ lolx don't like to jack up car... but will try tmr btw just curious, what's the censored word? Edited November 2, 2005 by Yc86 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...