Shell petrol incompatible with chevy??

Scorcher

Hey, that was what happened to me once, early in the morning before I was to report back for my first day of ICT! And I just pumped a full tank of Shell petrol... [sweatdrop] Anyway, what happened was that I could hear the starter motor running when I turned the ignition, but the engine cannot start. Tried a few times before I stepped on the gas while turning the ignition... When I did that, the engine roared to life but the RPM dropped to very very low after I released the gas, and the whole vehicle vibrated like hell... [hur] Then I stepped on the accelerator a few more times before everything went back to normal. I even killed the engine and tried to restart - This time it is okay. So I tried driving around the carpark for a while to make sure the problem didn't come back. Till this day, I don't know what happened, but hope it won't happen again... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

BTW, I've seen the engine not starting problem in a Wira and Kancil that I sat in before... Maybe Chevys are in the same league as the Portons? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

ha...i encountered these moments ago.... gg to send in the car third time already... cannot tahan ah...

I filled my tank full with Shell 95 on many occasions but yet to encounter such a problem? When I was driving my Sunny, I did encountered a few occassions where the engine stalled or refused to start. Sometimes after I spray wash my car.

I think it is water in the system.

but the service technician said that the car can't even be started if water gets into the system... hmm...Never thought that a 3 month old car will have such problem...No wonder my bro in the states kept telling me not to get a chevy... Even its own countryman don't trust it...

Hmm....

Have not been using Shell petrol for long long time. [shocked] Used to pump shell when riding motorbike but felt engine very weak. Changed over to EssoMobile, no such problem. Been on Esso ever since then. No problem experience when using on my previous 2 cars. [thumbsup]

Hi I,ve just spoken to someone who also have the same problem as you and worst thing is when he stop and move the car every time the car refuse to go and suddenly the car just pick up fast and go , he send to SA and there to him not to use Shell n also 92 octane petrol (why Shell cannot> according to friend who are a SA they told me that Shell petrol is dirty n not filted properly that is the reason). But my friends & I always mix my petrol (eg. empty tank OPTRA 1.6A S$23 V-Power Bal Caltex 95 / Corolla 1.6GLi S$20 V-Power Bal Caltex 95) you can try this mix petrol n you can fell the different in your can on the road n I ve been mixing petrol since 5 year ago from my corona to Honda Accord to 93 Corolla to 2001 Corolla now OPTRA.

Henry

It defeats the purpose of using Shell V-Power when you mix it with cheaper 95RON petrol, irregardless of brand.

All petrol come from the same source, the only dif is the diff oil co add dif additives.

There is no such thing as "dirty" 92RON petrol. A myth.

I am driving a optra and have pumped shell full tank, SPC full tank but never encounter such problem. However, I never pump shell 92 because my previous sunny feel weak with 92 and having heard so many story, do not want to try 92 lor.

When I say water in the system I don't mean full tank of water be the petrol is diluted. [dizzy]

Hi, for my Optra, I don't feel any different with Shell 92 or Shell V-power. Now I pump Mobil 5000. Tried once to revert back to shell 95 after empty tank,

[shakehead] the problems comes back again. So now have to use any brand other than Shell for my Optra. I still don't understand why Optra is so sensitive to Shell Petrol? [shakehead]??

Well the diff maybe in the additive but if you combine V-Power & Caltex you will know the diff in the performnce of the car. Any way we have try all kind off petrol but still find that when we mix it this way the car perform better.

chevy cant use SHELL??? shocked.gif

i've been using shell 95 since i got my aveo this may

and so far no prob......"TOUCH WOOD"!!

occasionally i use 98. every 5 topups of 95, one of 98.

cant use shell?? hmm....

ironically,the onli 2 tankful of shell that i've pumped is 98 and vpower...

Meanwhile SA has called me to ask me to send my car for few days observation...

presently no problem already le... after abt 1-2 months after full clearup of the petrol [dizzy] ...not sure also la...

still considering whether wanted to send in....

my poor chevy is onli a few months old and had gone through so much operations liao... [sweatdrop] Now still got to stay overnights for observation...

And those mechanics in sa.... always anyhow handle pple car one... the last time when i got back my car, the aircon is full blasted and not off before they switching off the engine...kaos... [thumbsdown]

it is okay..

my car was "warded" twice...the first time needed an "ambulance" aka tow truck to bring it in...while the second time was picked up by them.

the following parts had been changed since I took over the vehicle in jan.

fan blower * 3

fuel sensor *1

MITA * 3

and finally the ECU or ECM was changed during the last "admission".....so far so good..

the estimated price of these changes, especially the last item which was quite costly, could easily offset the price difference between wat I paid back in Dec and compared to the current selling price [laugh]

but then again I do feel tat (at least) my optra doesnt run too well on shell petrol.

Edited by Cracker

wah low bro..I have been using Singapore SPC + JB Shell for 1.5 years liow. Never encounter such problems.

Mine is Chevy Optra (Auto)

Before SPC, I was using Shell also no problems what.....

being using shell for about 9mths, no problem with shell at all. tried 92,95,98, v-power.

mostly pump 95, unless damn poor or damn exp pump 92