Secondhand Neutral Newbie July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 I see their lot like crowded leh... How to park there? I dying to try out their 320i leh... Ppl say it's a good car... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie July 26, 2005 Share July 26, 2005 which branch? i went to bth branchs, hafta wait a while for parking lot..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear July 26, 2005 Share July 26, 2005 I ordered a brand new car on my 3rd day getting my license...why didnt allow you to drive if you are driving it properly... must give chance to newbie...you once were new....right.. yah, i see ur point. but i think the issue is with insurance and not really about giving u a chance or not. i really wonder if they were to allow a newbie driver to testdrive without insurance and the kukubrain go bang my car backside, then how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drift_dreamer Neutral Newbie July 27, 2005 Share July 27, 2005 Hey bro sorry OT abit. As they said... test driver right? So does it mean, for different with different preferences and that means different people uses different methods to test drive. So does that mean people who has a fetish for power, will do a "spin wheel" or "burn out" during that test drive session? Does the SEs allow them to do that? Seriously I think they should allow them to drive anyhow they wish to test on the car, provided handling with care and safety. Are those 2 mentioned above allowed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahlun Neutral Newbie July 27, 2005 Author Share July 27, 2005 i agree.. to be allowed to test the full potential of a car.. u must be able to stretch out the limits of the car! for eg.. how do you really know if your car's airbag is really working?? if you tell the SE.. "i wanna test the airbag.." i believe the SE will be freaked out and not allow you to do so.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 27, 2005 Share July 27, 2005 you hope not true but sad to say it's definitely the truth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lonewolf Neutral Newbie July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 as above.. i heard there might be some insurance issues for p-plate drivers to test drive.. how true is this? can any bros clarify? thanks! I'm a p-plate myself and have test drove from Mazda twice. The SE din even knew I was p-plate till I told him. So my conclusion is that for Mazda at least, it is not a problem. I did go around car shopping at Mitsubshi, Tan Cheong, KM, BM but did not ask for test drive so not sure about their policy there. I accompanied my fren last week who went to BM to test drive and the SE din even ask to see his driving license!! Anyway, just a point to ponder. It makes no sense if this is an insurance issue. Who do you think is more proficient and confidence in operating a car? A newly minted driver (assessed to be competent and safe driver by professional assessor) or someone who has not driven his car in years?? But honestly, if I had asked for a test drive and they turned me down becos I'm a P-plate, I would ask to speak their manager or someone who can changed this ridicolous rules. If its an insurance issues, then the dealer should get it changed. The problem with many insurance companies is that they equate P-plate to very young drivers (<23 years old). But they are a lot of people who choose to take their driving qualification in their 30's, like me for example. So I wondering whether age is an issue here? P-plater less than x yrs not allowed to test drive but p-plater > x yrs old allowed to test drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahlun Neutral Newbie July 28, 2005 Author Share July 28, 2005 (edited) well.. that might be the case for some insurance (with age restraints).. but i thought the correct procedure will be for the SE to make a photocopy of your license so if anything happen, they can claim the insurance coy? how did he/she allow ur friend to test drive like that? my friend was not allowed to test drive a civic at leng kee's KM.. The SE asked my friend if he's a p-plater probably cos of the young look and just denied him when my friend told him yes.. he apologised and said that there'll be some concerns over insurance if he let my friend test drive.. he didn't ask for my friend's age.. well.. i believe this can be quite subjective over different dealers.. probably because of the different insurance policies at diff coy (ntuc, aviva, etc).. some might allow all.. some might allow some.. some might even not allow.. Edited July 28, 2005 by Ahlun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 well, i went to BM n TC to test drive, its ok. U just need the triangle plate. Only the SE at KM rather stuck up dun entertain you one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 should not be a problem. they usually just ask for your diving license. they even let my CO drive... i dun even dare to do that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lonewolf Neutral Newbie July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 Well, I guess the SE will have to assume responsibility if anything were to happen during the test drive. I was also cos this is the first time I encounter this. And my fren had not been driving for at least 2 yrs! So I guess it more or less confirmed that KM doesn't allow P-plate to test drive. But I agree that generally the SEs a KM kinda stuck-up. A lot of comments have been passed about BM SEs, but I found them to be more service-oriented than KM. I was looking at the cars for more than 15mins and no one bothered to come to me (at least to ask if I need any help etc) I think KM better wake up their idea. Honda may be a good car but it has to be quite a few nootch better than other cars for me to endure this sort of attitudes. Class for class, Honda models are not necessarily the best in its class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 [reply] should not be a problem. they usually just ask for your diving license. they even let my CO drive... i dun even dare to do that! Deep sea diving or sky diving one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 typo lah.. i meant driving.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 28, 2005 Share July 28, 2005 as above.. i heard there might be some insurance issues for p-plate drivers to test drive.. how true is this? can any bros clarify? thanks! Think that's the showroom's responsibility.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie July 30, 2005 Share July 30, 2005 as above.. i heard there might be some insurance issues for p-plate drivers to test drive.. how true is this? can any bros clarify? thanks! why not? i test drive X-Trail, Tucson and CRV 3 weeks after i passed my test. I even joked with them if they need to put the 'P' plate sign or not... If the SE is not comfortable, i ask other SE.. its up to them whether they want my money or not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hmanxx 2nd Gear July 30, 2005 Share July 30, 2005 I test drive mazda 323 and mit lancer on 2nd day of getting license...no whatever reject...eventually picked the mazda 323 as my first car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crv2004 Clutched July 30, 2005 Share July 30, 2005 I tested before what when i p-plate No problem with it man Tested the accord 2.4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonleng Neutral Newbie July 30, 2005 Share July 30, 2005 i test drive a Mazda2 when i was a P-plate loh.... no question ask too... Eventually, it became my 1st car loh :) Regards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...