Crazyjarjar Neutral Newbie October 13, 2005 Share October 13, 2005 I agreed actually, aiya... dun say oredi lah... taking car soon liao... dun let me hate my car before collecting it... I was considered in the beginning not getting the skyroof version as it was a few $K difference in price but managed to finally convince myelf that the skyroof might be the main factor that will make me continue to love the car many years down the road. But since you have already made your choice, just enjoy your ride I am sure it will be a fun experience. jarjar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluedevil Neutral Newbie October 13, 2005 Share October 13, 2005 Hi Arron, From what I understand, the age and the driving experience plays the biggest part in the insurance. The coverage for the make of the car varies from diff insurance agencies. Before I get my Airwave w/Skyroof, I made an enquire from 1 of the "infamous" insurance agency. They told me that the premium will be at least 200 - 300 more because of the Skyroof. Asked them why, and they told me that the Skyroof can also be a big hazzard in the event of accident. It too will be shattered during collision. Not only that! To help bring the premium down, they advice me that I have to be extra careful when parking in open space carparks. Never to park under a tree! In the end, I did not buy from them . Premium is still too high! Just my 2 cents worth! Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazyjarjar Neutral Newbie October 13, 2005 Share October 13, 2005 HA Longblack, I have nothing against star wars Can't imagine telling people yours is light green? Then tell them chiffon green then. HA, I also cannot imagine getting the response from others "Black again?" But seriously I personally feel that the Airwave looks best in black. Indeed the skyroof is a major selling point for this car. I am glad I went for the skyroof version. Glad to know you enjoyed your ride for a month, and presumably now your wifey is having fun with it too. FC seems to be not very encouraging. Hope it will improve further. Yeah, more people have collected or are collecting their Airwaves, so we can expect a mega-tsunami in Dec jarjar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwave05 Neutral Newbie October 13, 2005 Share October 13, 2005 Aaron Way too expensive. My NCD is 40% and I am paying $775 with zero excess from NTUC. Mine is with Skyroof. Is your NCD 0%? Shouldn't b that expensive. Do check around. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwave05 Neutral Newbie October 13, 2005 Share October 13, 2005 Wow Longblack The bodykit certainly looks cool. Quite tempting now. Even if we order directly from Japan, do we need to pay a bomb to install + spray paint it to our body colour? Any idea on the cost? Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crzytai Neutral Newbie October 13, 2005 Share October 13, 2005 Haha Bluedevil I am also trying to get used to the car myself.. Hope to get your posting soon.. My friends cannot believe its a 1.5L car.. All of them thought it is 2L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gene2 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 My dad's chiffon green airwave will also arrive in Decmber! Gosh, such a long wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluedevil Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 Hi Airwave lovers, Experiments: The rear is really bumpy with no load in the boot and 1 (light) passenger at the rear seat. Probably because its not wishboned or the suspension is set to stiff at factory to take on heavy load... When the load is just right (3-4 adults, at least >50kg/ea), no one complains about the bumpy ride at the back. Except the noise level echoing from the empty boot of which is still bearable. Cheers. Yo! Crzytai. Since you are also getting use to the car, place some comments to share lei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crzytai Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 Haha my comments BlueDevil?? hehe scared it will make me look like a fool I only know how to drive and don't know much about car techno stuff.. But this is from what i observe and heard from my father.. Handling : Airwave is quite good in handling, probably due to the car weight. Pick up : Never really try it.. still running in don't wanna be too heavy foot Gear change : Airwave is very smooth, the RPM will not drop when it moves up a gear, u will not notice any gear change.. Comfort : Same comment as BlueDevil a tack too bumpy for me Noise level: That i am not very sure sad to say nv sit as a passenger b4.. always the driver ... But there isn't much sound from outside only from the tire.. From what i know my tire is for wet performace.. and will produce more noise when traveling on dry road.. The engine is quiet, but when produce louder rev sound if you shift to S gear.. I guess its sport mode or something.. The car will became more powerful.. but the FC The boot space is huge but flat will need some box or some net to hold stuff in place.. Or your stuff will keep rolling left and right making more noise.. Anyone have any suggestion for it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 Hi Crzytai, U can buy anti slip map and place it on the back booth to try to stop yr stuff from moving around the back. Alternatively, I think carefor sells storage box for the car boot. Another place is Autobacs in Bukit batok, wide range of stuff for covering boot floor. Some of them waterproof some more. Hi Bluedevil, When you say that the car is not powerful enuf when moving up sheares bridge at 50-60km/hr, do you mean you can't accelerate even when pressing the accelerator more? What's the engines rpm when going up at that speed and are u in D mode? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 Hi all, Any bros here who owns an airwave and had sat in a corolla altis before care to commend between this two? Ride comfort (bumpy)? Noise level (quiet still at >110km/hr?)? Btw, the fuel comsumption of the airwave is so far still quite elusive..... maybe you guys care to put down in list to compare: eg: Name, FC km/liter (Fuel comsuption), Rim size, City/highway (100%) 1. 2. 3. 4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belnsebas Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 Hi all Other than Zenn, may I know who is getting or has got his/her airwave from Pinnacle? Any comments about this PI, plse share your experience.. good or bad.. thnx. cheers ..belinda.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenn Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 Can't be that high rite? I got mine from NTUC too wif 0 NCB at $1k+ I have friend doing general insurance. Let me noe if you need help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenn Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 Gd to see this thread so active ya! I start to see quite a few airwaves on the road. Will be more to come... Btw, are the bodykit available in spore? Saw a black airwave wif bodykit very Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwave05 Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 Bodykit Could it be Longblack? He has been posting a lot of Jap Airwaves pictures.... I'm sure waiting for some feedback especially FOG LAMP. FYI, KM is having a promotion on STREAM SIDE PROTECTOR ( Black in clour ) for only $183.12. What do u all think? It sure blend well with Black Airwave. Not sure whether it suits my Chiffon Green. With COE sliding, congrats to many AIRWAVE hopeful Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 Hi Zenn, Please help me check, i'm collecting the car this tues, and have to do my insurance by tomorrow (Monmday) if not there will be delay of collecting car... You can email me at [email protected] directly... Looking forward to your good news... This are some details of myself: 24yrs 2.5yrs class 3 2.5yrs having a van with 20% NCD that cldn;t bring to private car. 5 yrs class 2B no accident before... Thank you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carslave Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 Hi, I'm new here! Saw airwave on the road a few days ago, thought my wife sud like it! Did some homework on the net and happen to come across this site! Good job Just went down to Turf City today to check the car out. Was like Love at first sight for her! After reading thru all your post last night till early this morning Felt that this PI's offer is good($68,800)OMV 23K else rebate, will deliver by end of the month. So signed for a storm silver. Some doubts I'll need your help here. Have anyone come to conclusion on the best(size) fitting/looking rims for it? Where sud be the best location for the DVD monitor(since the normal loc is the moon roof now)? Thanks, Dave Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longblack Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 Hi BlueDevil, The rim is from Taiwan...dun know which brand... Wife like it so buy lor. Purchase with continetal tyre :) Do hear about stressing the axles beside the airwave...but.. nevermind la.. Mugen / Modulo kit can purchase from either Mcwell or few places... Or can purchase online which what they did too. few guys is interested in the kit too... maybe can wait for mass order.. :) Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...