Jackfoo 1st Gear August 4, 2005 Author Share August 4, 2005 people still new yet.... need some "OJT" online ... mean no harm lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 (edited) IMHO, get your rims outside C&C. There are loads of shops out there with loads of designs to suit different needs and budgets. Trust me, you will be spoilt for choice. A good place to start will be Stamford Tyres as their rims are well displayed and their sales staff are not pushy. Otherwise, you can visit Justin at pxx xxxg and he's always ready to give you a good deal when you trade in your stock rims and tyres. If you intend to upgrade your tyres and rims and trade in your stock ones, then don't wait too long as the trade in value of your stocks tyres & rims will fall as the mileage increases. My advice to you is to join some the local mitsubishi forum and look for Evo owners aqnd maybe get some hand-me-downs from them. There are loads of parts from the EVO that can fit your airtrek and some of them are literally brand new as some evo owners may upgrade their parts on the very same day they collect their ride. Edited August 4, 2005 by Wreckwrx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airtrek_newbie Neutral Newbie August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 Easy Oreo, there we go, no more caps. I was typing telex as i was viewing the forum. And WreckWRX, many thanks for your ideas...will go search some local mitsu forums. See if they have more discussions there. Bot this one rather on impulse. Nvr test drove one, nvr even went near one. Was at C&C , viewing the Sportage, did not like it, cross over to see the Airtrek and quite like it, fell in love immediately once they told me there was a weekend big offer. I grab it without knowing much about the history of the car. Hence i was looking out for some Airtrek discussion. Most of you are referring to the turbo version. Pretty neat, that one. Thanks again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 (edited) Whoah.....U mean u never test drove at all?? So did u get the Turbo version or the NA version? If u want to know more about tyres and rims, you can check out the Rubber and Wheels folder. Loads of discussion over there. You can do a search to get pxx xxxg's address or all the various Stamford Tyres outlet. Edited August 4, 2005 by Wreckwrx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airtrek_newbie Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 HI Bro WreckWRX I got the non turbo one, 20V. I meant i had not touched or got close to one till that very day. Only managed to test drive a while, the usual round, and got straight to buying it. This car's power and torque is nothing to crow about, in fact it is probably the only SUV with the sedan feel. Wife likes to own one SUV but yet hates the rough ride the normal SUVs give.....bumpy..'swervy'...etc. For me, i like the look and the interior though. Ride is fine as i am not the speed-hungry kind. Did you buy your Mitsu from C&C or from authorised dealer? Dunno who gives the better price. Heard from forum. Mitsu C&C service pretty bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 yupz, it's an evo7 engine. besides downtuned, airtrek is also quite a lot heavier so hard to compare with evo. the ride is quite sluggigh before the TC kicks in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 with the damn style kit, look very fierce leh....... U mean DAMD style kit..yes..sum chio ones around..I noe of one tat is a tuned ralliart specs..close to 300bhp!! airtek club is a united lot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched August 7, 2005 Share August 7, 2005 turbo can change man... anyway, now like C&C no more stock for the Turbo version... the outlander is the replacement for the airtrek. so those 2nd hand are rare/unique items!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched August 7, 2005 Share August 7, 2005 the silver damd style also park in suntec... wonder if the owner works in suntec or not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzer Neutral Newbie August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 Yea. its a detuned Evo7 engine that produce less bhp @ 240bhp. but more torque at lower rev. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzer Neutral Newbie August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 Yea the owner work at suntec. He is a hairdresser kekek...He is a mitsu fan...used to drive a evo 4 when i know him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzer Neutral Newbie August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 (edited) was at C&C to purchased the Airtrek...they do have stock. Recently surf the net and found out there is a Outlander Turbo wondering would it made it to our shores http://www.autoweek.com/files/specials/200...pages/index.htm Edited August 15, 2005 by Jazzer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vteckim Neutral Newbie August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 Wah you changing from Jazz to Airtrek? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzer Neutral Newbie August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 yeap. In 3 weeks time. Kind of sick driving it with full load of passenger. Besides...i love the arm rest of the airtrek! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 Exterior nice, but i dont like the interior. A bit boring. The EVO's interior also boring... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzer Neutral Newbie August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 got to agree...dull interior. But at $94,988..i dun think i can get any other cars of its kind lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched August 15, 2005 Share August 15, 2005 No sports rim??? wow.. .C&C really cut cost leh... previously all Airtreks 20v comes with standard 16" OZ RIMS. Personally I liked Airtrek also. Some may not like the interior but I like it cos it is quite funky, unconventional and different compared to the usual boring dash design of Tucson, Sportage, Forester etc. Without the central transmission tunnel, the front is pretty spacious. The full black interior also exude sense of quality and sportiness. Performance may have nothing to shout about but it is tuned for good low end torque drivability. So driving in city will be easy. Steering is light so it is quite easy to manuvere. It is also more of a crossover vehicle than the usual SUV. Taller than most sedans but lower than most SUVs. Thus also give it better car like roadholding and less body roll compared to the usual SUV suspects. Hard braking will also be more car like and have minimal nose diving braking typical of SUVs. There is an Airtrek Forum mostly for turbo version. But u may still get some tips from there. http://forums.delphiforums.com/Airtrek/start cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...