How long does it take for mechanic to inspect and maintain a car?

Ahkeng

Heyo!

Now that the car is in my hands, I would like to send it for checks since its 2nd hand one. So any idea how long it would take? Cos I got to plan my day for it.

BTW, what do you think the mechanic will do?

And.. where's a good place for servicing a suzuki wagon in the PayaLebar Area? Autobacs?

thanks guys! [:)]

For inspection, u can send to STA.. For the wagon svcing..well, most shell svc centres are ok, so are most workshops...

I wud go for the ones recom by AA

good luck

my 0.02

Edited by E46RadX

the STA...well, maybe 1/2hr to 2hrs depends on what u want..alternatively the aas has such a service too...call them...think there is a web addie ot stautocentre or sth..do a search

i usually send mine (previous car) to a workshop (at a petrol station) for inspection and maintanence every time before i go to M'sia. Standard will be around 3 hrs if they are not busy and no major problem with the car [thumbsup]

Dun mention it....maybe u send to AMK autopoint and then have lunch wif me....haha..PM me if u want!!!

Wah piang!

I drove the car to Autobacs and guess what? Quite a bag load of things needing attention!

The tyres are 5 years old, brake pads are wearing out soon, timing belts needs adjustment, dunno-what-greasing needed to be done, and worst of all, air con compressor spoiled!

New set of tyres $300

Original Suzuki brake pads $220 (Dunno why I din ask for Mintax ones... )

Aircon compressor $600

This and that.... this and that.... The mechanic told me to prepare for the worst, an amount of about $1500+ tomolo when I pick up the car cos the aircon might be leaking...

ARGH!!!

No wonder the 2nd hand dealer willing to give discount!

Sian.... SIAN......

But the good thing is, despite a long day, the mechanic was very friendly, helped me call and check out prices of stuffs. And managed to smile at me even though before that some guy servicing his evo7 like a bit buay song with him.

Oh well... Good day then! [:)]

Before 2nd hand cars are sold arent they supposed to like go for at least an STA inspection or something and get a letter stating the results of that inspection ?

No warranty from the dealer ? At least get some compensation from the dealer man..esp since the air con compressor also spoilt etc.

Dealer generally sells the car as it is...except for some cosmetic touch-up and cheap replacement of parts to 'convince' you that the car is in good condition. [shocked]

However, you can always request for the vehicle to be sent to AA for evaluation before taking over the car though.. [nod]

For the big ticket items, perhaps you may like to get a 2nd opinion from another workshop. [thumbsup]

Edited by Michel

Latest news from mechanic...

Compressor have to get original ones... that means must add $400.

Other parts of aircon needing replacement:

-dryer

-cooling coil

- something I cant make out what he was trying to say.

total: another $400.

that's $800 to add!

I also asked for oil change and engine cleaning, that's $149 and another $60 for flushing.

Piang....

total price for servicing and repairs... $2424!!

Dun have citibank or else can pay over 12 months. Diners only up to 9months.

Sian 1/2.... [:/] no sian totally.

I calculated everything... I think the other suzuki wagon R+ at AML might be cheaper after all!! [mad]

That's right...Always insist on the STA certification(altho might not be totally unbiased too [sly] )

Nevertheless, it gives you a benchmark on what to look for and potential tell-tale signs..

I am pretty lucky that all my cars so far have been just [thumbsup] It takes some skill too and lots of luck. [sunny]

Sorry of your plight bro...perhaps you can go back to the dealer and bring forth the issues to him? Or then again... [shakehead]

OH well...

Nothing I can do now. LL lor.

But then again everything still within budget. Just not to happy that I need to do so many things after I got the car.

And also the baby seat cant really fit into the boot if I dun intend to use it.. hmm..

Oh well.

Thanks guys!

Learned alot from you all. [thumbsup]

Edited by Ahkeng

Couldn't agree more bro....as some mechanics themselves are 'hideous' characters and may recommend a change even when not warranted!

but bringing a mech fren suffices the 'intital scout' for any loose ends that the car may have! [thumbsup]