Change Gearbox Auto->Manual

Gk123

Any bros can advice how much is it to change gearbox? any workshop to recommend if changing from auto to manual?

me driving honda... think auto gearbox giving problem liao. Is it true that in a 10 yr lifespan sure gotta change gearbox once?

thanks

How often did you maintain your tranny? Got keep wacking the trannt or not? Tranny maintenance very important to its service life.

IMHO if you have service your gearbox according to maintenance schedule, it should serve you well even for 10 years [:)] However, lifespan will also depend on how you whack it [lipsrsealed] Some people even have to change their whole gearbox to 2nd hand one when their car is about 3-4 years old [sweatdrop] However, i have seen my boss's auto gear box at almost 200,000km odo mileage with frequent shifting to 'N' position at traffic lights still going strong [sweatdrop]

I thought often change to N at traffic light will also cause damage to the gearbox. confused.gif

Cannot remember exactly the figure, but remember reading an article saying as a rule of thumb, not advisable to change to N unless it is more than 5mins. Which basically means at traffic light, just maintain at D. confused.gif

That's why loh [:|] By right, the wear & tear rate should be high as compared to leaving it at 'D' when we stop at traffic light but my boss always shift his to 'N' at every traffic light and his gear box was still going strong when he scraped his car last year [:p] By the way, his ride was a 1998 Mitsubishi Lancer Glxi [;)]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

I change ATF every 20k.

Hope some one can advise of the cost of a CVT gearbox and manual gearbox... whether original is required...

Thanks.

dont think can change from auto to manual. cost aside, you probably have to go to layers of red tape just to get the approval from the authority... most likely, authoritIES sweatdrop.gif

haven try cvtf.... dunno if recommended for my ride...fit vtec...

btw, is that the main purpose 4 cvtf?

Hmmm? Its nothing about the engine or Vtec, its more about the CVT. Somehow honda feels that the Z1-Atf is not really that suitable for their CVTs when some of their cars cars got some lockup clutch probs. So they got CVTF to replace the current Z1-Atf lor. [dead] Some people reported problem gone, but some reported problem came back. [dead]

Does that mean changing from manual to auto is also a bad idea? And ignoring the LTA and government issues for a minute, what kind of cost are we actually looking at? as in.. 5k, 10k, 20k?

Asking cos a friend of mine just got auto license, so considering whether to convert the family car (currently manual) to auto, or get a new car, or dun drive =)

Thanks!!

I drive a 89 corona cd & overhauled my autobox last year at about 300,000km at KANGS. Cost me about $2K & later found out I cud get a 3 year old replacement for $400 ALL IN. Sigh.

I service/flush the ATF every 50 to 60K km as recommended & now use RP synyhetic ATF. Box is still running smooth today & hope it lasts another 10 years or so. [laugh] ( I might renew my coe again).

BTW, I don't trash the car & am a gentle driver most of the time. [drivingcar][thumbsup]

As for changing an auto to a manual, I doubt it can b done. Too many things to change so not worth it anyway.