Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Would like to consult the bros here. Saw an offer for a 6 mths old O5 on sale at $53k... Is it worth buying? Currently brand new at $61k right? Heard many incidents regarding the service quality of SA, if i buy a used is still covered under warranty right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 wah....6mths old lose 8k already?.. anyway it's should still b under warranty.but if de guy selling only after 6mths...den skali he's car is a lemon.u de do maths..whether new or old is cheaper.in terms of mthly instalments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 My math says used one confirm cheaper in terms of mthly installments. 50% chance that it's a lemon But lemons covered by warranty right? Think the owner lost more than that. The person i spoke to is a dealer, imagine what price he took in for the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 warranty is transferable but do send the car for a full AAS check to see if it kena accident b4. someone once posted here he saw a banged up Optra5 at IDAC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 take it as a put option. and sell again if its lemon if not lemon, u get a cheap car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 saw a red chevy for sale on sat classified ad. cant recall if it was an optra or optra5, selling for ard the same price too. maybe same car ? however did recall seeing a red optra in SA for accident repair.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Saw the car liao, chilli red , exterior alot of wax stains in-between the edges/grooves. interior still ok. ODO at 2000+km, which i believe has been tempered with as there is a servicing label at the windscreen that says "Next servicing on XX/05/05, mileage-6000km+" Overall gut feeling about the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Optras still not common, so chances of the one u saw banged up at SA, quite high! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 No rich man's son, if get lemon, can only make lemonade and drink myself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 haha.lemon can be resold mah. effectively what i am saying is resale car are very attractive due to the scrap value system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 I think used cars before 2004 has higher paper value... if dun mind a 2 yr old car it's a safer buy than brand new... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jansen Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Hi PED Go and buy a NEW one...SA service quality has improved Jansen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 the mileage thing should be okie lah...think the "Next servicing" refered to the mileage when u should bring yr car in for servicing again....The guy did his 1k servicing on xx/02/05, so the next servicing should be 3 mths later or 5k later, which is xx/05/05 or mileage 6000+... at least that is the way my servicing label is written... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muskee Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 totally agree with jansen.. go get a new car.. feel is different when u are buying a new car and a 2nd hand one.. anyway prices nowadays are quite comparable.. i was also considering whether to get a used car or new one.. consulted my gf's uncle who is a used car dealer.. he actually told me that some used cars or rather 50% of them got some problems here n there which cant be seen initially..problems will start to arise after 6 months if u are lucky.. he said that im like playing a game of 50-50.. although some new cars do suffer the same fate, at least its guranteed accident free n warranty protected for 3 yrs.. After hearing his 'wise' words, i went starsauto the next day to see see kaypo kaypo.. my fren keen on chevy but backed out later . once i set my eyes on the optra5 and sat in it.. i made up my mind although i never consider it in the first place.. guess it was the feel.. and i end up paying thousands of dollars more than wat i planned initially... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Author Share July 14, 2005 Can i also check with you whether the FC is high for this car? I saw in the spces it got a 60L fuel tank capacity, which gives the impression of having high FC that's why need such a big tank. Also when the low fuel light comes on, how much do u have to pump? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Author Share July 14, 2005 The 1st time i saw the O5, i fell in love too After a visit to the showroom & a test drive, loved it even more Read from this forum so many times regarding the O5 problems, so still undecided till now... I intend to drive my next new car for a long time, so comparing with other japanese makes, i still have some reserves regarding the Optra5 Advice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Author Share July 14, 2005 My suspicion is the long lapse in-between the service intervals. Ok assume he did 1st 1000km servicing in Feb 05, so the label is correct to state the next one in May 05 when ODO at 6000km+.... But now is July liao & the ODO only at 2000+km??? Means after 1st servicing the car only travelled 1000km+ for 5 mths??? Possible that it was taken off the road for a very long time for major "something" too.... well, that's my guess...anyway didn't feel gd when i thought about this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 14, 2005 Share July 14, 2005 the "something" could be: i) kena accident, sit at IDAC or SA awaiting insurance assessment ii) long case to establish claim, fault, etc. iii) in the end, insurance write off iv) bought by panel beater to repair since Opt5 no export value v) sit at dealer's yard waiting for buyer this process does take a few mths. like buying a resale home, if 'feeling' no good - better not to buy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...