Darganz Neutral Newbie July 6, 2005 Share July 6, 2005 Yo! Any1 out there had solar films on their ride? If so, need your comments and recommendations on my Skoda Oct! Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear July 6, 2005 Share July 6, 2005 I'm using V-kool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear July 6, 2005 Share July 6, 2005 (edited) So many types, V Kool, Lextint, Rikecool, Sunguard, Ray Barrier Sumitomo, Huper Optics, Cool & Lite, Andy & Bill(god knows what brand is this) and so many other brandless types which u can get for less than $250 bucks whole car. Depends on your budget. Normally the more expensive ones has more UV protection. Cheap ones just for the looks. If you want bang for the buck, you can go across the causeway. 50% off. If you looking at high end ones like V Kool, make sure to drive the car for a couple of years. Install V Kool, one year later sell car then you lose. Edited July 6, 2005 by Relak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skodarr Neutral Newbie July 6, 2005 Share July 6, 2005 Have been using V cool for 3 years liow... so far so good... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear July 6, 2005 Share July 6, 2005 Of course lah bro. Premium range leh. My one is "J kool". Ever heard of it? From JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie July 8, 2005 Share July 8, 2005 If the "V" from V-kool alledgely stands for "very", what does the "j" mean? "JB-cool" ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie July 8, 2005 Share July 8, 2005 "jin jia" kool! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putter Neutral Newbie July 8, 2005 Share July 8, 2005 Yo! Any1 out there had solar films on their ride? If so, need your comments and recommendations on my Skoda Oct! Thanks I am using Huper Optics. Yes, it does helps to minimize the heat when you park under hot sun, or when you are driving under hot sun. If you intend to use a GPS system with its antenna put on your dashboard, then I advice you to get those films that has less metallic content type. Else, your GPS is going to be affected and can't work properly till you put an external antenna outside your car cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear July 10, 2005 Share July 10, 2005 Hahaha. Its not J kool actually lah. I meant it as a joke like u mentioned for JB Cool as u mentioned. Its called Sun Guard actually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xcalibur Neutral Newbie July 10, 2005 Share July 10, 2005 Yo! Any1 out there had solar films on their ride? If so, need your comments and recommendations on my Skoda Oct! Thanks Hi there Think mine should be the most economical here. I used Solar Film from US, 5yr warranty by mobile installer. They have a shop in Turf City, and at the same time, they can perform mobile installation at your convenience. The key here is that there must be a power point at your location for their dryer and the location must not be under direct sun and windy. Installed and paid $240 since I collected my car in March. No bubbles and everything meet my expection. Cos for me, my philosophy is that nothing is permanent and lasting. Especially when it comes to car. And of course there are other school of thoughts. :) Just sharing my 2cts worth of thoughts. Thanks and happy calling NKF donation line! Watching CH U now! Ciao xc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched July 10, 2005 Share July 10, 2005 (edited) [reply] If you intend to use a GPS system with its antenna put on your dashboard, then I advice you to get those films that has less metallic content type. Else, your GPS is going to be affected and can't work properly till you put an external antenna outside your car cabin. Hi Superb, do you know which one is metallic and which is ceramic? I seems to recall somewhere Huper Optics is ceramic and V-Kool is metallic and thus V-Kool will affect the in-car antenna. Any bro have V-Kool and GPA NAV system care to comment on their reception? Edited July 10, 2005 by Chimp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putter Neutral Newbie July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 Hi Chimp, "Pie-seh"...I also dunno which has high metallic grade. Perhaps you can ask the supplier (Vkool or Huper) on this matter. You can still have high metallic grade on side window and back windscreen though...just the front windscreen install without high metallic grade for your GPS antenna. The latest HP iPaq that comes with GPS is quite a good one if you are looking for a PDA. Bluetooth GPS antenna already costing about $250 (wo software). I install my car with Huper Optics and I use my PDA GPS (with Antenna placed on dashboard) and drive to Malacca without any problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 Thanks for the comments and suggestions. I will check with the solar film vendors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 What GPS receiver are you using? Holux? You using Mapking? Kingmap? Agis? Any feedback? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putter Neutral Newbie July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 I am using a wired GPS antenna made in Taiwan similar to Holux type (old model type). The software I used is KingMap for Singapore, and Agis for Malaysia. It works well. I also have a Compact Flash GPS antenna, but it is quite slow. Good thing about Bluetooth GPS is that the refresh is much faster than mine at 4800bps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putter Neutral Newbie July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 With regards to the features on Kingmap as compare to Agis, I don't have the Singapore map version to have apple-apple comparison. However, I think the Kingsmap is much more advance as compare to Agis, which includes a 3D version (though I personally think it is not necessary ). Kingsmap also catered much better pre-alert feature prior junction turning. They will have arrow sign and voice alert appeared ~50m prior any turn, whereas Agis only offer voice alert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 Been wondering which one to get for many months already.... reading all the posts at ppcsg making me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravel Neutral Newbie July 12, 2005 Share July 12, 2005 Of course lah bro. Premium range leh. My one is "J kool". Ever heard of it? From JB. mine lagi jio, be -cool ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...