Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 Wah! SHIOK! A simple sms to relieve all your woes. So who do I sms? When I get to stress test the car, maybe I drive it down to meet you guys and then give me opinions on what to do with it. But first, I have to "curb" my fear of driving beyond 60kmph and also up to the expressway. Hahaha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 I suggest you meet our bros during one of the many meetups that they always organize Checkout the "meetups" folder and find the dates to the next meetup. I'm currently in the US studying so won't be present for many meetups to come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Agree with TB. The only mod that seems to work is throwing out that spare tyre. Another to consider might be those window film that cuts down the heat in the cabin and reduces the load reuired on the air con.. which sucks up 25% of the power. All the other aftermarket accessories seem not to work much (if at all) for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
French_porn Neutral Newbie January 10, 2003 Share January 10, 2003 hi turbo Do let the car idle as "warm up" in the mornings, just start and let the rpm settle at idle then drive off lightly on the gas till the engine warms up. how do we know that the engine is warm up and when can we rev up at higher rpm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 10, 2003 Share January 10, 2003 The water temp gauge should point to the middle position (or the position where it settles after about 5-10mins of driving) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie January 11, 2003 Share January 11, 2003 According to the HONDA Manual, it specifically said that the engine does not need warm up, and it will be a waste of fuel !!! Quote Firstly keep the car well tuned. Things like tire pressure, air filter, spark plugs, etc. must be kept within spec and replaced at recommended intervals. Avoid mounting too many stuff like bodykits, spoilers, etc. Do let the car idle as "warm up" in the mornings, just start and let the rpm settle at idle then drive off lightly on the gas till the engine warms up. You don't need much mods to maintain good fuel economy, just disciplined maintenance routine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched January 11, 2003 Share January 11, 2003 Quote Got to get a mini fire-extinguisher too. Hi Ahkeng, Welcome to MCF ! Most car accessories shops and places like Carrefour sell mini fire extinguishers. I think AUTOBACS at 126 Paya Lebar Road [near the paya lebar mrt] is having a sale which has a mini fire extinguisher going for S$4.90. You can do a road name search for the place at www.streetdirectory.com. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 11, 2003 Share January 11, 2003 Warming the car up for abt 3 to 5 minutes is good because it will help bring all the various type of oil (engine oil, atf oil, sterring oil, coolant.....) to the working temperature and thus less frition and lower wear and tear and thus better fuel consumption and better engine health..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 11, 2003 Author Share January 11, 2003 Hmm.... There's a question I want to ask. Can I like top up petrol from Esso today, then tomolo top up petrol from Shell? Presuming that I really drove alot and used up all the fuel? What if I top up petrol from another station, with half a tank of petrol from the previous topup from another station? I couldnt decide to use the Esso loyalty card or the Shell one... hehehe.. Oh oh, btw, saw this Fuel consumption thread, stating the fuel consumption for different cars due to personal driving experiences. so tell me, how to measure? Top up full tank then then reset the trip-meter then wait until the car die of empty tank then see how much distance moved? And the funny thing is... till today, I still dunno how to turn on the fog lights on my suzuki. Hahahahaha And... I cant climb the slope up the multistorey carpark on 2nd gear.... so sad.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged January 11, 2003 Share January 11, 2003 that's just wasting fuel and increasing wear & tear. read your car manual and see what it recommends... "Finally, keep engine warm-up time to a minimum. With the engine running and the car not moving, your fuel mileage is Zero. The engine requires only a minute of time to lubricate all moving parts before it can be driven; then use light throttle until the engine has warmed up completely." www.canadiandriver.com/articles/jk/020724.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear January 11, 2003 Share January 11, 2003 Wow!! that's something new... guess... those that warm up for too long can be relieve liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 I don't see any harm mixing different brands of petrol, the only point to note is if you pump different octanes then the resultant octane rating will be the ratio of the mixed petrol. Best way to monitor fuel consumption, take the mileage then pump full tank. Next fillup read the mileage (to deduct from the previous mileage reading) and note the litres of fuel pumped (to full tank). Divide the no. of km by no. of litres and viola! Fuel consumption calculation. For your foglight, where's your headlight switch? If it's a dial try pulling the dial outwards after you switched the headlight on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 Quote According to the HONDA Manual, it specifically said that the engine does not need warm up, and it will be a waste of fuel !!! What your manual meant is that you don't need to warm up the engine by keeping the car idle for a certain time. However, you are advised to drive off slowly and not whack the throttle until it reaches normal operating temperatures....... Keeping the car moving at low throttle after startup is a form of warming the engine up without polluting the atmosphere additionally. The car on the move also helps to minimise over-revving. Some ppl like to rev the engine while warming up with the car stationary. IMO, instead of helping, this will damage the engine faster. Also they will have the false impression that it's ok to blast off immediately after 'warming' up the engine. They forgot that the gear box oil, other mechanical parts are still cold....... Just my $0.02 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 Ok lah, maybe not 3 to 5 min but abt 1 to 2 min....but still warm up is recommended as in your quote.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 My engine when warming up, goes up to 1500rpm ! Anyway, since I stay in HDB and chances of parking on the 1st floor is low, normally, I'll just "glide" down the carpark and take that opportunity to warm up the engine ... which normally by the time I get out of my carpark, it's already showing "warmed up" on the guage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
French_porn Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 i c. thks rick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 Just drive off after start, slowly and smoothly until temperature reaches normal operating temperature before you engage in V-TEC mode! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie January 12, 2003 Share January 12, 2003 Hiaz ... the Stream is not meant to be a power monster .... the iVTEC provides a smooth ride, with power when needed. Power output is linear from 1750rpm to 4500rpm ... the VTEC comes in at 4700rpm .... which shoot up so fast that it reaches redline at 6500rpm ... Of my ownership of the Stream, I seldom had to VTEC, as the torque is broad and linear up to 4500rpm ... Upon reading some reviews, most editors had the same feeling that the VTEC is pretty much useless as it's more than sufficient due to the linear output. The same cannot be said for the 1.7L though .. haven't had enuff time to understand it during the < 10min test drive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...