Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Hi guys, I have two opinions about my first 1000km servicing tomorrow, 17 Jun, I have booked with Kah already. Cos now my odo reach 970km. 1. My friend ask me to go to Kah Motor, even tough they charge ~$120 to have oil, oil filter/washer change + labor (He quote "Let Kah Motor sign the servicing card, if anything happen, you can use it against them") 2. My other friend ask me to go to his friend's friend workshop, to have it do the same for cost about half of it. (He quote "What for you are paying so much for the oil and oil filter? Dont let them makan you.") Now I dunno what to do... Please bros here, advise me.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Bro, i thought you can buy your own oil and oil filter and let Kah Motor do the oil change for you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 This is one of my option too, but since im new to mantaining a car, I dunno what oil, and filter to get. If this is the case, I only fork out $12 for labor charge.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 don't really understand what you saying !!! New car usually come with free servicing ...mostly labour + material all in...but of course some only free labour...material you need to pay....For the first few servicing...people usually bring to agent...those who do outside are probably expert themself...for your case...think letting the agent maintain your car is a better choice...anyway what your fren say is very funny....does he own a new car before ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Bro, what's your ride? Oil filters can get from the stockists while for the oil part, jus get mineral oil i.e Shell, Mobil, etc.... Mineral oil from these few major brands should set you back about $ 30.00 while oil filter at most a few bucks. Let the agent do the oil change since it's a brand new car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Go back to kah. u wouldn't want to void yr warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrogenarian 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Hi Axelpro, for servicing at Kah Motor, you can bring your own oil and oil filter. First 1k servicing only change oil and oil filter. If buy from Kah Motor, then prepare to pay more. If you buy your own, then can save some $$$. Since the car is new, why not go back to Kah Motor? If you can live without the warranty, then of course you can go to any workshop you fancy for the servicing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 So you mean I can get any Mineral oil and filter anywhere myself? Does mineral oil have different grade like those fully synthetic? How bout the filter and washer? Which type you recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 I thought first few servicing free? call KM and check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 What he means is for me to save $$$ since his friend wont charge me labor cost, only material cost. I thought changing oil and filters alone wont void the warranty itself? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 nope. unless u bought jazz which comes wif free maintenance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 Just called them, my agent said is a 'discounted rate' for servicing.. haiz.. I also cant remember what he said last time before i bought it.. So min. $12 for the labor, if i buy the materials from out side myself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 Now, that explains. .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 just go back Kah for the first few servicing lar...after when you know more about maintenance liao then do outside...it won't cause you too much difference in term of $ lar...rather then you don't go Kah then wait car got problem then trouble.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axelpro Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 (edited) Ok, now i confirm go to Kah tomorrow morning, my next woes are wat oil to get and wat filter to get... is it pure mineral better or mineral, synthetic better. Cos' i dun feel to give Kah motor the money for their oil and the filter.. And oh yes, how long it took roughly ah? 2-3 hrs? Edited June 17, 2005 by Axelpro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Kah charges $85 for shell helix ultra 5W40. u could buy outside for $58 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrogenarian 1st Gear June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 If you intend to go back to Kah Motor for servicing, I would suggest you make advance booking with Kah Motor since you already clocked 970km. Svc ctr at Ubi and Leng Kee usually need to book a few days in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Bro...first 1000km, use a mineral oil. Dun waste on synthetic. Let teh engine run in first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...