Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 Well... Just dun like it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Any idea wat's ur cap operating temp...alluminum case is it....long time nvr touch a high charge cap...liao.. yesterday read some articles..saying latest cap can take 95 deg C.... me not updated...the last info I had(many yrs liao)...operating temp 65 deg C... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 17, 2005 Author Share June 17, 2005 I'll check the info later.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 there 'll be different when u used 2 to 3...more then 400W> amp to drive ur spkrs + sub -woofer...even @ engine idling..ur sub-woofer wun go 'Blah blah blah'...rumbling...For me, I changed to a higher capacity alternator + bigger battery to cope wif the current demand... York, i guess you have confused ICE voltage concept and machinery voltage concept. Higher cap alternator does not necessary mean the car electrical system can cope with ICE requirements. Thus, CAP is always the most cost-effective way to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 platform OT... eh taukeh, when's the next BKT session? Arrange leh wahahaha.... taukeh is you lah... Somewhere Jul or Aug ? lemme go collect all email addresses and mass mail.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 I modded 2 alternators + a 120ns battery wif an extra distribution panel... driving 6 amp range frm 160W to 500W(mono), 2 cross-over & a 15" sub woofer on a B310 engine...that was 7 yrs ago..till scrapped...no issues...the voltage always stabled @ 14V...wif normal car accessories on board... I agreed capacitor's more economical...abt 400+ for a 2 farad cap that time... But I did it for the fun of it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 i oso not taukeh lah, try Eric Can, you arrangelah boss, i support! Eh nvr pass me your headhunter contacts?? Ok stop drifting again..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Nothing wrong with your approach, York. Just that some ride will cost a bomb to upgrade the alternator. E.g. 1.5k for me to upgrade the alternator. Basically you have built a more efficient electrical system and thus no problem with the ICE. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 ok ok.... Lemme hunt that fella down... you still want to be headed meh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 you can never have too much head Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 bro , make sure yr power wire from amp to yr capacitor as short as possible about 12"( 1 ft) will be good ,don't put yr cap at engine compartment ,damage yr cap. engine compartment suppose to be more ventilated as it's not enclosed...how come 'll damage the capacitor...perhaps u can enlighten us...thks sry hor...I'm noob to power capacitor but many yrs ago, a close fren of mine installed one just beside the battery side panel...which I thought was a suitable position... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 yah...true..I.C alternator veri expensive....not worth going for it... that time...I got tis concept becos...the imported used alternator 60A was dirt cheap...50 bucks onli...the project cos me abt 100bucks onli...but the works on it was quite terious...just the aligning of the belt took me a few hrs to get it rite... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 if u install at engine compartment ,how long yr power wire got to be, and the cap should install near to the amplifier to maximum the cap performance,and the engine compartment is the most dirty area like dirt ,water and the engine produce heat.if not why after running yr engine for a period of time yr engine bonnet will be very hot.did you see those audio installer recommemd you to install a cap at yr engine compartment .i don;t think so .maybe yr friend was rite installed at the engine compartment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 hmmm...interesting...I thought the cap supposed to stablise the whole car voltage system...i.e including the lighting & other accessories....power amp...internally should ve at least 4 voltage capacitors to assist the 'stable' current flow...neehow..thks for reply Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 capacitor is for car audio only.becos amps with a very big sub ,either 1 or 2 subs.u pump up the volume.the sub draw a lot of power from yr batt .and yr alternator not fast enough to charge up yr batt.so u need a cap.unless u don't on loud ,then forget about the cap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev_zone Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 A capacitor is a little like a battery. Although they work in completely different ways, capacitors and batteries both store electrical energy. Capacitor cannot produce new elextrons, it only stores them. Bro, I got a ques here. I was wondering if I off my engine but the system still on does the system run on the capacitor's electrical energy first or still from the car battery ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 if not wrong...it still drain your battery...its a continuous linked process if you had the linkage drawn on paper to visualise... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev_zone Neutral Newbie June 17, 2005 Share June 17, 2005 Okay, so I guess capacitor is just another stabilizer for audio system. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...