DIYed Power Capacitor

Gadgeter

Any idea wat's ur cap operating temp...alluminum case is it....long time nvr touch a high charge cap...liao..

yesterday read some articles..saying latest cap can take 95 deg C.... [rolleyes]

me not updated...the last info I had(many yrs liao)...operating temp 65 deg C... [:)]

there 'll be different when u used 2 to 3...more then 400W> amp to drive ur spkrs + sub -woofer...even @ engine idling..ur sub-woofer wun go 'Blah blah blah'...rumbling...

For me, I changed to a higher capacity alternator + bigger battery to cope wif the current demand... [;)]

York, i guess you have confused ICE voltage concept and machinery voltage concept.

Higher cap alternator does not necessary mean the car electrical system can cope with ICE requirements.

Thus, CAP is always the most cost-effective way to go.

platform wink.gif

OT... eh taukeh, when's the next BKT session? Arrange leh tongue.giflaugh.gif

wahahaha.... taukeh is you lah...tongue.gif

Somewhere Jul or Aug ? lemme go collect all email addresses and mass mail.. laugh.gif

I modded 2 alternators + a 120ns battery wif an extra distribution panel... driving 6 amp range frm 160W to 500W(mono), 2 cross-over & a 15" sub woofer on a B310 engine...that was 7 yrs ago..till scrapped...no issues...the voltage always stabled @ 14V...wif normal car accessories on board...

I agreed capacitor's more economical...abt 400+ for a 2 farad cap that time...

But I did it for the fun of it.... [laugh]

i oso not taukeh lah, try Eric [:p]

Can, you arrangelah boss, i support! Eh nvr pass me your headhunter contacts?? Ok stop drifting again..... [:p]

Nothing wrong with your approach, York. [:)]

Just that some ride will cost a bomb to upgrade the alternator. E.g. 1.5k for me to upgrade the alternator.

Basically you have built a more efficient electrical system and thus no problem with the ICE.

Thanks. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

bro , make sure yr power wire from amp to yr capacitor as short as possible about 12"( 1 ft) will be good ,don't put yr cap at engine compartment ,damage yr cap.

engine compartment suppose to be more ventilated as it's not enclosed...how come 'll damage the capacitor...perhaps u can enlighten us...thks [:)]

sry hor...I'm noob to power capacitor but many yrs ago, a close fren of mine installed one just beside the battery side panel...which I thought was a suitable position... [:)]

yah...true..I.C alternator veri expensive....not worth going for it...

that time...I got tis concept becos...the imported used alternator 60A was dirt cheap...50 bucks onli...the project cos me abt 100bucks onli...but the works on it was quite terious...just the aligning of the belt took me a few hrs to get it rite... [sweatdrop]

if u install at engine compartment ,how long yr power wire got to be, and the cap should install near to the amplifier to maximum the cap performance,and the engine compartment is the most dirty area like dirt ,water and the engine produce heat.if not why after running yr engine for a period of time yr engine bonnet will be very hot.did you see those audio installer recommemd you to install a cap at yr engine compartment .i don;t think so .maybe yr friend was rite installed at the engine compartment?

hmmm...interesting...I thought the cap supposed to stablise the whole car voltage system...i.e including the lighting & other accessories....power amp...internally should ve at least 4 voltage capacitors to assist the 'stable' current flow...neehow..thks for reply [:)]

capacitor is for car audio only.becos amps with a very big sub ,either 1 or 2 subs.u pump up the volume.the sub draw a lot of power from yr batt .and yr alternator not fast enough to charge up yr batt.so u need a cap.unless u don't on loud ,then forget about the cap.

A capacitor is a little like a battery. Although they work in completely different ways, capacitors and batteries both store electrical energy. Capacitor cannot produce new elextrons, it only stores them.

Bro, I got a ques here. I was wondering if I off my engine but the system still on does the system run on the capacitor's electrical energy first or still from the car battery ? [confused]

if not wrong...it still drain your battery...its a continuous linked process if you had the linkage drawn on paper to visualise...