Steering Not Centred

BoneStock

Hi Bros,

Strange thing happened to my car after I changed to a new set of tyres. My steering wheel is now off centre [:(] .

Very strange leh, this is the 1st time something like that happened to me.

I feel that the wheel alignment should still be ok cos when travelling on level ground, me let go hands and the car could still go very straight. Handling of the car still feels same as before.

Can anyone shed some light?

Many thanks in advance!

Usually, it is better to do wheel alignment after changing new tyres because the geometry of the alignment will change a bit...

If you tyre change is at an interval of abt 2 year, it is always good to do a 4-wheel alignment.

I do mine once a year.

Your old tyre was not worn evenly. When you put a new set in the steering adjust itself to centre. Basically nothing really wrong, if you don't like it, then a wheel alignment adjustment shd solve the problem.

I see. I usually do a wheel alignment only when the car's handling is not

behaving normally like not travelling straight on level ground, hard steering,

steering wheel doesn't return to centre fast enough, etc.

My concern here is that now my car's handling is ok, only prob is the steering wheel

off centre. If I do wheel alignment, the mech may be able to bring steering back to

centre but then the actual wheel alignment may go haywire. Sorry...but I've too many

unhappy experience with mech that's why lose confidence.

Hmm...just thinking...can I just ask the mech to remove steering wheel fix it back in the centralised position. Has anyone done this before?

Yes, you can do that provided the steering is only off by a little.

Go to good ones like the RS Motorsport at AMK autopoint, they will do a good job......

Wheel alignment would not go haywire if they follow the OEM spec for your car.......

Do the 4-wheel computerised one lah....Moreover, they will advise you if any of your suspension component is faulty, at least you will be able to retify the problem before it become a more expensive problem....

I did a visual inspection on my old tyres, tyre wear was actually quite even.

I did tyre rotation/change on my previous cars, but nothing like this ever happened to me before. [:(] Sometimes I will ask for wheel alignment when my car's handling is not behaving normally but not this time leh. [blush] Car still feels ok, only steering wheel is out....very strange.

Do you guys normally do a wheel alignment after a tyre change/rotation? Hmm...maybe I should reconsider... [laugh]

Oh yes...heard of RS before...thanks buddy! [thumbsup]

BTW, can you advice how to get OEM spec? Is it in the owner's manual? Paiseh, but I dunno where I placed my manual liao...think got to try and dig it out. [:/]

Edited by Vtecc

There is always first time for everything.

It quite normal, sometime, but very seldom, for the steering wheel to shift slightly from the centre position when new tyres are replaced.

Like I say if you feel comfortable with the steering new position then no problem, don't have to do anything. Or else you can get it adjusted to centre position.

Sometimes after a wheel alighnment job, the steering are also not centred, the expert know how to adjust or correct this problem.

If you want to DIY, and know where is you tie rod, you extend half turn out on one side and half turn in on the other side might correct the problem.

Eg, supposed your steering is a little to the right. you adjust the left wheel tie rod toward toe-in direction and vice versa on the other wheel.Your steering should move bact toward centre position. But if you are not familiar then u need the expert to do it for you at a fee of course.

Hmm...just thinking...can I just ask the mech to remove steering wheel fix it back in the centralised position. Has anyone done this before?

Then you are not correcting the problem, right? It more like using two wrongs to make a right. [laugh][laugh][laugh] Go for the alignment first lah............

Yeah Bro...theoretically sending my car for wheel alignment may be the most logical solution. I know this may sound silly but I've some unpleasant experiences with mechs in the past when doing wheel alignment on my previous cars. [blush] On those occasions the alignments actually went haywire and I had to pay multiple visits to the same freaking w/s to get the problem eradicated....sibeh sian.

So now a bit phobia already... [:(] ...hmm...am considering sending car to RS as recommended by another bro. BTW, what's the market rates huh? you know I've not been doing for a couple of years already [laugh][laugh]

Yeah...agree with you...think I should leave this to the experts. BTW, sometimes so-called experts like mech can also make a big blunder out of wheel alignment....sigh. [blush]

>>theoretically sending my car for wheel alignment may be the most logical solution. I know this may sound silly but I've some unpleasant experiences with mechs in the past when doing wheel alignment on my previous cars.

I think you'll just have to find a mechanic you trust. Don't just go for cheaps unless you know he's good.

I've aligned my tyres once at South East in Sin Ming. This guy's popular and has a lot of things to say/criticize but he dies a good job but is expensive, $85! [sweatdrop] Had a second alignment done at Autoacc in Loyang for $65. Not bad too.

Yup, insist on computerised alignment and up to date databases. The computer should have the manufacturer's alignment figures, stock and lowered, which the mechanic can refer and tune the alignment to. Of course these figures are a guide and an experienced mechanic can tune it according to your needs. I align my babe as per manufacturer's recommendation.