Spango Clutched June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 How accurate are our speedo meters? When I am travelling on the expressway and my speedo reads 90km/h, but I still see cars overtaking me left right center... Maybe my speedo is spoilt... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 dun think so. unless u have changed ur rims/tyres so much so tt it affects ur speedo. maybe all of them are indeed travelling faster than u. no cause for alarm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
El69 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 If you're driving the Optra, yes, our speedo is slightly overstated. Speedo 90km/h = actual 80+km/h. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkl78 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 If u kena caught by TP for speeding , they will tell u how accurate is ur speedo vs their laser... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 By default the speedo is 2-3kph below actual. My analog speedo reads 90 on the dot while digital is 87-88kph. Don't take my word seriously and do 93 thinking your doing 90kph actual and end up being fined. But if your being sarcastic than yah ... there are outstanding citizens who would like to contribute to Singapore's Economy. I'm one of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkl78 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 by gettin caught 4 speeding at 91km/h izzit???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 Well ... you know there are morons around who would rather fine people for 1 kph above limit because its easier than jailing racers who would like to contribute to Genie's Organ donation scheme. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkl78 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 how can they b jailed when they donated their organs liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 (edited) How accurate are our speedo meters? When I am travelling on the expressway and my speedo reads 90km/h, but I still see cars overtaking me left right center... Maybe my speedo is spoilt... maybe u should do a similar observation when u r approaching those speed camera along the expressway, if ur car is close to the speed limit and cars are still overtaking u left, right ,centre, u r pretty sure ur speedo is faulty.. Edited June 8, 2005 by Cracker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 8, 2005 Share June 8, 2005 lol those fatal ones perhaps ? or sell them on E-Bay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear June 9, 2005 Share June 9, 2005 Speedometers are designed to indicate 5 to 10% more of the actual reading for safety reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbx750p 1st Gear June 9, 2005 Share June 9, 2005 How accurate are our speedo meters? When I am travelling on the expressway and my speedo reads 90km/h, but I still see cars overtaking me left right center... Maybe my speedo is spoilt... According my GPSR Garmin Quest, which measure the vehicle speed, when I am travelling at 90 kmph, actual speed is about 85 to 86 kmph. This would mean that the vehicle have a 6% up-play of the actual speed. When I flat out my Optra on the highway, the meter reached a max of 190 kmph but my GPSR showed max vehicle speed clocked at 180 kmph So you problem of travelling at 90 kmph and people are still overtaking you ? Have it occurred to you that they are speeding above the 90 kmph limit themselves ? CBX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched June 9, 2005 Share June 9, 2005 How accurate are our speedo meters? When I am travelling on the expressway and my speedo reads 90km/h, but I still see cars overtaking me left right center... Maybe my speedo is spoilt... yah man, was driving up north recently... my friend was neck to neck with me and his speedo not more than 140...while i'm at 170!! is there something wrong? btw my friend is on 17" while i'm on 15" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 9, 2005 Share June 9, 2005 the 'allowable' range's ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...