What a disappointment GTI

Volvot5

Who says cannot mod...

Check it out

http://www.vagsg.com/forums/viewtopic.php?...4&highlight=gti

Something wrong with your english proficiency. [laugh]

1) My friend test drove it and this is what the SE told him, "You can't swap with aftermarket turbo as the CEL will illuminate" End of story okies ? [rolleyes]

2) Very nice car pics from that forum but doesn't say anything about swapping with aftermarket turbo. [rolleyes]

3) I don't know which part of my post says the GTI can't be "modded".

[rolleyes]

Don't think CEL is the problem when changing to bigger turbo on the GTi, coz an aftermarket chip should prevent it.

Fueling could be the culprit here. Big turbo => more air => higher fuel demand. But since this engine is FSI, not sure how to meet the fuel demand. [hur][hur][hur]

And the stock GTI turbo is confirmed smaller than WRX's. That's why the spool up is at lower RPM [sly] which means faster response, but smaller turbo has lower peak boost which resulted in lower max HP. [:(]

Well, apparently thats what the SE told my friend. You could try a piggyback or a total replacement of ECU but I honestly don't know if it'll work out. [sweatdrop]

Get 1 of those damn 750cc fuel injectors [sly]

haha alright ... I thought TD04 is small enough. Didn't know theres a smaller one. But it has its pros and cons.

Smaller TC: Less lag lower boost.

Bigger TC: More Lag Higher boost.

FMIC = More Lag [rolleyes]

Any idea at what RPM the TC starts to spool and which RPM is boost at peak ?

GTI's Turbo definitely needs modding to get more ponies. Perhaps VF22 or TD05 with ALS and Catless turboback. [laugh]

[reply]

wah... u must really hate VW and lurv Volvos.. even ure nick says that.. hehe

nod.gifnod.gif Agree a bit bias sweatdrop.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

his nick tells that he's a volvo fan liao mah..

In Reply To
[reply]

wah... u must really hate VW and lurv Volvos.. even ure nick says that.. hehe

nod.gifnod.gif Agree a bit bias sweatdrop.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

his nick tells that he's a volvo fan liao mah..

That's Y i think a bit bias sweatdrop.gif , should be more fair thumbsup.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

I'm sure it is been worked out, or if not, can be worked out. Just make sure u r not the guinea pig can already. [laugh]

I have read someone saying they saw is a KKK K03s in the GTI, so that's the same one in the current Mk4. [knife] So that is reeaaaally small. For big turbo replacement, Garrett GT series is usually employed.

And on the spool up, it should be below 2K rpm range. Look at where the peak torque develops in the below link.

http://www.hs-elektronik.com/datenblatt-e/...00ps-280nm.html

Well.. I was just trying to be brief to put my point across.

I am not challenging your post but just want to say that those SE in C&C has no idea what modification are about. Basically the thread shows you that the car can be modified with no problems. However I also mentioned that swapping to a bigger turbo for VW is not recommended. Chipping has better return due to the low boost used in the factory spec (think is ~0.5 - 0.6bar).

oh blur liao. haha. u shld b right. Bopianz i still thk LGT is the best car for >120k. Even better than Golf GTI IMO even though i like the coupe GTI design.. Oni problem wif LGT is that the design is plain and understated, Golf is unique.

LGT's design is plain and understated???... U mean who will like a car that look like this, rite?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v154/Vampish/42.bmp

legacy_sti_black.jpg

Edited by Vamp

no im saying in context of the standard car(MI class or not), not modified etc etc.. like that even a suzuki liana or toyota picnic will look fierce n sporty if modded nicely.

If we considered modifications into the discussion, then i think it wld b v hard for me or you make a proper point of discussion.

And this bring us to an interesting question :-

Do people rave about the iconic car like the Mk1Gti , because

A) thay had own one before or driven one and was so in loved

Yes, you HAVE to drive one to know how that original pocket rocket invented the "hot hatch" genre. [thumbsup]

I like the grille [thumbsup] , makes it looks fiercer and sleeker, like a rex. But GT is supposed to be grand touring? It just does not have the grand touring look lor, IMHO.

It has the silent/stealth killer look n performance which does not attract unnecessary TP attention....

[pirate]

Edited by Vamp

Agreed that in term of look......GTI feel so gay in the interior and ok lah on the external. It's doesn't look like a expensive car.

I know nuts about bhp, i believe in what i see...

Definately, GTI has a good engine and a remarkable "speed" if mod...

But for what you paying now for the stock version, it's CRAB!

At 122k, there are many many choices around in the market..that can give you a relatively good speed (LGT) and good looking internally and externally...

That's my opinion...

And C&C service sux!

I am just wondering, how many people who gave their comment here about the GTI has actually test driven it?

Someone even said one could just use stronger clutch in place of the dual-clutch DSG .. oh my god, don't you think Audi engineers deserve more credit than that?

I dont work for C&C or VW or Audi, but Turbo-FSI engine just won Engine of the year award, just turbo-charging the FSI unit already is an engineering achievement ... surely forumers here can appreciate what has gone into the car.

Just read all the reviews one can find online, or magazines .. MKV GTI ranked very high up there. If you don't believe all the reviewers, then with all your sincerity, I am sure you can get a test drive .. I did, and I am loving it.

absolutely. think that there are alot of sour grapes

out there. sadly, we may find more ladies buying

Golf GTi, as they did for Mini Cooper. More guys will

stick to conventional saloon-style cars... Sad story.

i test drove it... & its a GREAT car in its own right.

but again, havin had the privelege of tryin anthr car wit a sequential shift - all i can say is the gti is still lackin in character & sheer driving pleasure.

its simply good to kno tat there are still great alternatives to it... [thumbsup]

still in the end, it wasnt so much of the "product" tat made me go elsewhere... but the ppl selling it..

Edited by Tron

Someone even said one could just use stronger clutch in place of the dual-clutch DSG .. oh my god, don't you think Audi engineers deserve more credit than that?

Hmm ... think i may have said something like that but the meaning is lost above. I meant in jest that perhaps modifying the DSG to handle more power simply requires a change to heavy clutches from stock - still dsg. U may want to read more thoroughly. [thumbsup]

Oh, and i have test drove the car (posted my comments up there), and i'm driving a VW myself now, and i have read tons of review on the gti.