What a disappointment GTI

Volvot5

I think Tron's point is that, the iconic status of the MkI cannot guarantee the same for its successors. The MkIV was stodgy and underpowered, and was an embarrassment to the GTI name.

That's in stock form. But seriously, who would keep a GTI stock [hur], maybe except those reviewers who just took the stock car out for a spin. [rolleyes] The mod potential of the MkIV with the 1.8T engine is very high, taking up to 480 dynoed hp with stock engine.

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...=914478;#913102

It just shows VW is plain stupid. Got good product but dunno how to sell. [laugh]

Well of course you can tune the car, but the permutations are endless, so reviewers can only rely on stock cars for comparison. Otherwise you can argue till the cows come home and still not come to a satisfactory conclusion.

German mantality.... kia su. THere is also a factor of DSG reliability at higher HP. I think the DSG max can take up to 350hp or even less. THerefore you do not see DSG in RS4 or RS6 because the gear box would breakdown.

They are making the DSG work with the (supposedly) 1000hp Veyron, so I don't see the problem with 400-500hp...

wow.. didn't know. [sweatdrop]

Anyway if the DSG is mated on the RS4, it will be made in heaven. For now, I reckon it is absolutely good value to get the GTI @125K bec it has got both award winning engine and gearbox which are reserved for the higher end segments in Audi line up eg TT.

Cheers.

German mantality.... kia su. THere is also a factor of DSG reliability at higher HP. I think the DSG max can take up to 350hp or even less. THerefore you do not see DSG in RS4 or RS6 because the gear box would breakdown. Anywya, VW will definitely launch one with higher hp when the current interest for the stock one dies down. This is call marketing, ie skimming... [:)]

After drivng Vw for 4 yrs, I would never recommend anyone to touch the turbo bec the skill level of our local workshop is below average when it comes to conti cars. Normal chipping, exhaust mods would give you 30 more horses at wheels without any problems.

the DSG wasn't used for the RS4 because The Audi/VW group's excellent DSG twin-clutch sequential manual is only on offer for transverse engine at the moment, so that left a six-speed manual (with clutch pedal) as the only choice. ANyway, for specs purposes, it designed for a maximum torque capacity of 350 Newton metres

[idea]

[reply]

woah... 112 to 114k??

hmmm... imagine 2 years from now, the 2nd market for these.... 70-80k?? sly.gifsly.gif

Ya lor nod.gif Dun wanna to image too much sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

1 of the minus pt during the consideration of LGT sweatdrop.gifcool.gif From 135K drop till 119K during 1.5 to 2 mths tongue.gif

Good time to grab 1 inlove.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

[reply]

Hi Nemesis

Given that the GTI is only half a year old and with numerous tuners offering upgrades, how can it not be mainstream (at least in Europe)? Of course you cannot compare to the Jap where there are so many tuning house in Asia. Nevertheless, the cost of original Jap tuners' kit are also very ex unless you get copies from TWN or a used set.

I would say at least in modding terms, you can easily source parts esp in terms of chip, coilovers, body kit etc... (the normal upgrades) easily if money is no object.

U r right nod.gif Agree thumbsup.gif Guess I'm juz trying to say there are oso a few famous and great tunners out there for Volvo flowerface.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

[reply]

If only they bring in the 260hp (?) manual version. rolleyes.gif

If I'm not wrong is LGT Spec B = 260 bhp inlove.gifinlove.gifinlove.gif

Try Garage R and etc, they will indent if there are owners that are interested on them, there's orendi a handfull of LGT wagon on Singapore road thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

[reply]

Same for the GTi, where's the manual?? rifle.gifbigcry.gif

PI PI PI PI PI cool.giflaugh.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

[reply]

But personally I don't fancy the LGT's design. When my colleague first sent me a pic before it's launched, i thought it's a KIA. Posted Image

Will the following Pic chg your mind Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Cheers Posted Image

post-3-1118312099_thumb.jpg

not for me... i have decided that my next car will be a 2nd hand car, especially considering these type of cars... 1st 2 year depreciation is sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

nah... too dangerous if i drive it like my current focus round a corner sweatdrop.giflaugh.gif... then again, wife will probably nag less tongue.gifsweatdrop.giflipsrsealed.gif

[reply]

i have decided that my next car will be a 2nd hand car, especially considering these type of cars... 1st 2 year depreciation is sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

2 yrs later sure gotta ppl want to seller LGT cool.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

[reply]

nah... too dangerous if i drive it like my current focus round a corner sweatdrop.giflaugh.gif... then again, wife will probably nag less tongue.gifsweatdrop.giflipsrsealed.gif

Try Cayanne inlove.gifthumbsup.gifcool.gif Ur better wife will definitely won't nag @ u anymore thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Cheers Posted Image

Well of course you can tune the car, but the permutations are endless, so reviewers can only rely on stock cars for comparison. Otherwise you can argue till the cows come home and still not come to a satisfactory conclusion.

That's why never just rely on reviewers. [thumbsup] Must do research in car forums like this to supplement. [laugh]

Try Garage R and etc, they will indent if there are owners that are interested on them, there's orendi a handfull of LGT wagon on Singapore road

But the price won't be as cheap as MI already. Can't have both cakes huh... [sweatdrop]

Paiseh, still don't fancy the LGT design, found it abit - how should i say - "soul-less" .... But i'm sure the value-4-money more than make up for it. [thumbsup][/reply]

Edited by Falc

[reply]

But the price won't be as cheap as MI already. Can't have both cakes huh...

There's always 2 side of a coin cool.gif There's pro and con for MI v.s. PI tongue.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

[reply]

ermmm... don't print moolah leh sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Try to money some hopes on Mon, Wed, Thu, Sat and Sun sly.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Cheers sunny.gif