What a disappointment GTI

Volvot5

let me ask you this: do u think ppl will rave abt the GTi MK IV in another 5-10 years down the road? Or put it this way; are ppl raving abt the GTi MK IV even right now?

FYI, people are STILL raving about the MkI GTi even today.... [thumbsup]

I think Tron's point is that, the iconic status of the MkI cannot guarantee the same for its successors. The MkIV was stodgy and underpowered, and was an embarrassment to the GTI name.

And this bring us to an interesting question :-

Do people rave about the iconic car like the Mk1Gti , because

A) thay had own one before or driven one and was so in loved

B) just follow the wave where everyone deem that Mk1gti is the "Hot hatch" of those era and start singing praises of "THE ONE"

It's hard to imagine that if one has not driven the original.... how are we going to compare the successor ??

And it is always true that once you have created a certain standard, it's harder to maintain or even surpass that.

Well....I have friends who are Mk1gti nut .... but can't say that myself since never really driven in one before.

Well again ..... Good to see that the MkV is punching out more decent power than the Mk IV.

(Dreaming rolleyes.gif.... if I could get my hands on the Cupra R ... all the Mk IV GTi will smell smoke ..... hah hah ... laugh.gif)

Edited by Mel4fun

...Tis is likely why VW is having problems selling their PHAETONs... check out their TV ads for the PHAETON;

Got a chance to "use" a 6 litre V12 Phaeton for 3 days while visting their factory in Dresden...totally different class of Phaeton we are talking about. The one we have in Singapore are the el-cheapo version. The "real" Phaeton is a differnt class, both inside and out. The powerplant is the same unit as in the Bentley Continental, minus the twin turbo of course. Confirm can move the big lump from 0-100km/h in less than 5 sec thumbsup.gif

...but agree, even in Germany Phaeton is a failure. Not because of engineering, but most probably because of the badge shakehead.gif

err... i think the top range phaeton is using a W-12 engine?? and not a V-12? [;)]

or rather 2 V6s blocks side by side to form a W12...

anywys, i have no doubts abt the capabilities, luxuriousness and quality abt the phaeton... jus tat it has a BIG BIG hurdle of being sold in the same class & catergory of its BMW, MERC rivals....all this bcos of BRANDING.

dun say... alfa is anthr good example of losing out due to brand image (no doubt brought on partly by poor quality & reliability). [:|]

get a 147 gta.... [sweatdrop][rolleyes][laugh]

its a really under-rated car (therfore its bang for bucks)... but try one... and confirm u cannot sleep. [sly]

I think Tron's point is that, the iconic status of the MkI cannot guarantee the same for its successors. The MkIV was stodgy and underpowered, and was an embarrassment to the GTI name.

heh.. yup! [;)]

actually thinking abt it... evn the R32 4motion didnt "deliver" as it really shld in terms of performance, driving fun & more.

Not saying tat its a lousy car, in fact i found it very luxurious & funky & few... but i mean it doesnt seem to me to have won the accolade of MOTHER OF ALL HATCHBACKS amongst car enthusiasts? - as (IMO) it rightly should being tat VW is the maker of the GTi MKI - which effectively coined the phrase "HOT HATCH".

im not so immersed in the VW community as such might be wrong... wat say u? [gossip][thumbsup]

2.0L JTS engine already cannot sleep liao. Not to mention thr 3.2 V6! Its a man's wet dream come true! [laugh]

u forgot to mention that 147 GTA is close to SGD 170k... under rated coz most pple cannot afford one to rate it.. [sweatdrop]

tats the crappy thing... once ure in.. seriously difficult to change anther car evn tho i try convincing myself.

i so hoped tat the GTi could have been the one... but the SEs attitude & IMO somewhat bland looks of the GTi (compared to a 147gta) will likely mak my butt itchy very quickly again. - lik tat sure die jialat jialat. plain rice & water everyday... [sweatdrop]

but i love the DSG and the fact tat the GTi is a Turbo direct injection (leaner burn).... blardy alfa... dunno how to put in turbo for the JTS... damn SIANZ. [:|][:|][whip]

anywys i dunno why but im lusting after a 156gta Selespeed.... [hur] the shifts damn quick man & blip on downshift [nosebleed][nosebleed] ... sigh.

oh blur liao. haha. u shld b right. Bopianz i still thk LGT is the best car for >120k. Even better than Golf GTI IMO even though i like the coupe GTI design.. Oni problem wif LGT is that the design is plain and understated, Golf is unique.

156GTA Selespeed Goot bro! Goot choice [cool]

Beautiful car. Lovely interior. Lovely rims. Lovely everything! How much did they quote you? $158k thereabouts?

heh... zhun bo? tat price was lik a year or more back...

now for the 147 gta selespeed... easily can jio jio them for $145K.. and im being PESSIMISTIC... [sweatdrop][sly]

dun forget... OMV abt 45K or more for the selespeed version..

u hav to go try it if ure serious. then u know wat i mean. [nosebleed]

[reply]

Hey Nemesis you a LGT owner as well? What colour is your ride? Do we know each other? wave.gifwave.gif

shakehead.gifshakehead.gif I joined the ALGTO club aka Almost LGT Owner Club bigcry.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

But I know there's a few couple of forumers are proud owners of LGTs inlove.gifthumbsup.gif

I doubt we know each other, but now we do thumbsup.gif

Cheers Posted Image

$158K?? [sweatdrop]

basket... say simi special price to me [rolleyes] . yes, a serious buyer can walk away wit a 156 GTA selespeed at tat price u stated.

whack oni.. thy dun offer ur price? walk off... tat is my opinion.