Qns regarding Aveo5

Nerdie

Hi dudes, i'm seriously considering getting the aveo5 after seeing it last weekend :)

I hope you guys can help me out with some stuff here 'cause this will be my new car and i have close to zero knowledge!

Should i got for the premium or standard package?

If standard package, where can i look for someone to change the seats to leather and to install mp3 player and how much do these cost usually? And the mp3 player plays with a CD burnt with .mp3 files is it?

As for tyres, large tyres better or small tyres better? I think large tyres look nicer but i heard it'll compromise on FC, true or not??

Thanks!!! [nod]

So if i get the standard package, where to do the leather and mp3 player on my own? And how long does it take usually? Thanks!

Get the standard package. Leather seats maximum if you are lazy to do it elsewhere. SA outsource it to Jackspeed (try www.jackspeed.com.sg...I think). Or do a search here. Some bros did theirs outside and pretty nifty too.

As for wheels, just for what they give you. You can try pxx xxxg (do a search). Quite a few of us in MCF go there to do trade-ins. Just remember to go there as quickly as possible so that you can get a good trade-in.

Do a search under Aftermarket, ICE for more info about where and what MP3 player to get from.

I saw the pxx xxxg threads already :) Do bigger tyres mean poorer FC?

Ah, i see what Aftermarket means already :)

Edited by Nerdie

Bigger tires means more resistance to roll which means more fuel needed to push the car and would increase FC ! However bigger wheels looks cool and offer better handling and cornering abilities. So take you pick ! FC or CF ( Cornering Fun ! ) [:/][:|][;)]

I would stick to the stock 13 inch wheels and skinny 145 tires ! The leather seat is a must for me cause the stock fabric seats sughs ! The amount of dust it generates after sometime would really put you off and regretting not fixing the leather !

CBX

Edited by Cbx750p

standard package will do....the rest of the stuff change it outside.

Jackspeed charge full leather seat @ $900 (can ask ur SE to sent to jackspeed to do up the seats b4 collecting ur car)

Wheels/Rims recommended size will be 15" maximum

The cost of MP3 player depends on the model. If u r looking for single cd/mp3/wma player (eg pioneer) should not cost more then $300 wtih installation.

Hope it helps u. cheers

I asked the same question with regards to Aveo as well. And what the guys said here are right. Get the standard one and upgrade later when you got the $$$.

As for Brock, when you mention that we need to go pxx xxxg asap, I assume that when we first get the car, we should go there immediately to 'upgrade' it? That's how I think we will get the best deal as what you mention here.

So how much can we fetch for the standard wheels? Do you change the spare wheel in the booth as well? [;)]

Sorry hor ... haven't book the car and already so many questions ... I wonder when I really buy the car, would I have more [laugh]

As for Brock, when you mention that we need to go pxx xxxg asap, I assume that when we first get the car, we should go there immediately to 'upgrade' it? That's how I think we will get the best deal as what you mention here.

So how much can we fetch for the standard wheels? Do you change the spare wheel in the booth as well?

Not as in immediately immediately lah. Unless you really desperate! I would suggest maybe within a week after collection.

Some bro here traded stock 13" rims+tyres for $100. Mine after 2 months and 1k mileage, $0 trade-in. [:/]

No need to change the spare wheel if you upgrading to 195/50 R15. Difference is only 0.4%.

Look for Justin at pxx xxxg. Tell him you from MCF. You can say Brock recommend but can't guarantee you get better deal! [laugh]

I opted for Premium. Partly lazy and partly no time to run around. Getting aftermarket rims risk warranty..or at least that's up to SA's discretion. If you not too bother about warranty issue then no prob.

Wah..justin damn good business reach hur [thumbsup] .. when I'm in Subaru, already quite alot of people goes to him...I have personally change my rims twice with him...currently on 16", G3 for my TS. Nw in Chevy..oso him..hehehh...looks like he got monopoly [sly]

Actually up to you, Nerdie. Bigger Rims of course better stability due to wider contact with ground at the expense of FC [sweatdrop]. Not only the rubbers, the weight of the rims itself is considered as unsprung weight, the heavier, the more torque needed to move the car. Go for forged rims if can afford as it is very light. Tyres also important...Good grip tyres (Performance like SO3, G3 etc) are not so FC friendly. Quiet tyres are FC friendly but not so gripy..so you can't have the best of both worlds [;)] .

So ask yourself what type of driver you are and your driving routes...if you drive hard and often go through areas like south buona vista road (99 bends), then better go for performance. [:p]

Wah, so many replies already! Thanks!

How long does Jackspeed take to do the leather? Can i choose other types of leather seats?

THanks!

Of course you can choose other

types of Leather seats.

Just like if someone told you

Changi Nasi Lemak is good but

you felt that Chong Pang ones

better..

The choice is yours.

Jackspeed will do your leather seats

for SGD900 plus (Full Leather, single

tone colour).

JackSpeed is at Loyang but I cant

remember the actual address. Can search

internet for the address.

Leather seats by Jackspeed will take

a whole day. Drop your car in the morning

and can collect by 6PM.

Dont need to pre hand measurement if you

do at Jackspeed because they have the measurement

and pallets already (Since they are doing

for SA).

Edited by Godfinger

If you are on a 13", I suggest you get it change within 3 days. Your 13" rim doesn't worth a cent, they only take into the account of the tyres for the trade in. Thats why u got to trade it in when it is new.

If you are on a 14", then probably you can wait a bit longer because the main trade in value is the "sports rim" from Chevrolet. But if u still change it within 3 days, the price of course will definitely be even higher.

I got my 13" change on the second day and fetched $100.

There's no need to change the spare. The wheel base is a bit too big to fit into the spare tyre comparment if you change to a 195/50R15 or bigger. Can't close the cover for the comparment.

For best results, collect your car from SA with a long loader truck and use that to bring your new ride over to pxx xxxg for the trade-in! [thumbsup]

No prob bro...basically to reduce my monthly loan as my Mrs say she need a car too [hur] . So downsize my monthly loan and at the same time get a second one (Kia Picanto) for my wifey. Although the AVEO5 may not have all wheel drive but I reckon it would quite a fun and nice looking car to drive..maybe juz need to touch up the interior a bit..anyone got lobang to do CF printing onto the dashboard? Hehhehh...