2 weeks old tyre, burst.

Gadgeter

Paiseh for resurrecting this ancient thread....

such a thing happen to my on Sat when i was travelling along SLE...

There was this Nissan Sunny SD?????? in front of me. We were travelling around 100-110kph...suddenly, he swerved to the centre lane and then back to the outermost lane. Suddenly i heard a loud bang. Feeling shocked, i din know wad happened. Suddenly i saw a piece of rubber flying towards me and the Sunny was heading towards the centre divider...

i did something quite dangerous, by swerving to the left to avoid it, no time to check for oncoming vehicles on the centre lane...luckily managed to avoid it and the traffic was very light...

really sibei heng. if i E-brake confirm not enough time and langa into him even though i not following closely...after that damn scared liao then drive slowly.

my question is what can cause a tyre to explode like that with the rubber flying off...(as a rectangular piece, not the entire tyre) ??? is it due to poor maintenance or tyre quality?

i'm afraid something like that will happen to me...first time encounter such things on the road...

oh ya...being a P-plater, would like to ask what will u do if your car tyre just burst out of a sudden at high-speed?

insufficient air pressure is one of the causes for the tyre to blow out..

burst at high speed.. try to avoid excessive steering, and maintain in your lane if possible.. release all pedels and slow down, hard braking will make it more difficult to control.. not sure if i remember wrongly.. [laugh]

is hard to say for your friend's case. he could have bang his tyre on the kerb or some objects thus puncturing a hole and spun his car...air pressure not correctly and travelling at high speed may cause the tyre to burst

you can claim a tyre if the tyre is bloated(swollen), cracked or something to do manufacturing...Y tyre is famously for bloated long time ago....

anyway..bring your tyre to the distributor....they will send it for CSI.....

Thanks...

Will ask him to contact the importer.. By the way, the brand starts with Y.

Yummy ?

Yogurt ?

heh...

I stopped using Y stuff ever since I couldn't stop in time and ..... dizzy.gif

reduce speed by taking off your feet from the trottle...immediately look for your escape route...dun look at the problem (in your case...nissan sunny)...do evasive movement.

depending on the road condition...EBrake and emergency lane change if condition allow otherwise change lane w/o EBrake..

me just attended BMW advanced driver training..learnt a lot of defensive skills.

Had an experience with Yokohoma tyres, learnt from friends that there are a few experiences with Yokohoma, some 10 years ago. Do not know now, your case might be similar.

On the other hand, didn't mean to throw cold water, hope you did not kerb your tyres before or run across metal plated roads fast, these are the common problem that damage your tyres, which lead to the blow out....had an experience with Yokohoma tyres.

the biggest problem here is there was a hole in the tyre. u can argue all u want but the tyre guys will just say it was punctured in the 1st place. im not saying yr friend is at fault but i think whatever the case is, one should always check the tyre pressure at least once a week. best is every 2-3 days once. upon the realising the tyre pressure is severely low, then one can take approriate action. nonetheless, i think yr friend may not have a strong case against the tyre company.

You may have a strong case if you can prove that the tire was manufactured more than 3 or 4 years ago which could result in materials fatigue. Check the tire's date of manufacture!

One advice here :

When buying tires that are on offer, always counter check the date of manufacture of the tires. NEVER USE OLD TIRES - IT MAY CAUSE YOUR LIFE!

wow cool...me novice driver dun really dare execute..just managed to avoid that car by luck...it happened so fast i din konw what was going on... [sweatdrop]

u driving BMW?

how i wish i own a beemer [:p] it was a fully sponsored event for me...lucky me....but no joke...hitting the safety cone at 50km/hr can see the impact of hitting a person...so do bear in mind that the safety of your loved one, your own live and others when you drive a car...

and yes in real life those evasive movements i did experienced before.

Maybe your friend hit a nail while driving on the road. Does your friend live or work near construction sites ? Orr maybe he offended some people who then disturb his car ..

dun know leh...for the fun of it....maybe moderators should archive out the old postings liao to prevent us from digging out....

Althought old post but out of curiousity what car and tyre size at those incident ?

Low profile tyre together with so good car suspension and driver may be cause of this.

1)Personally when I'm using low profile tyre I do not keep them more 15K or 1yr.

2)Car with not so good suspension that cannot steer and response well when require end up hitting those kerb and hump will shorten life of tire much much worst on low profile.

Many moon ago when I was staying is Pasir Ris.

There was a bent in Dr 10 I saw 2 turtled korean car, both occasions front left tyre had rub mark and one burst. Look to me the 2 cars must have hit on left kerb while trying to make a fast right bent, either the steering is not response fast enough or the driver was really pushing too fast.

Question here is why both also korean car ?

Back then when I'm much younger I often eat that bent with my starlet up to 70km when I back from work. Quite Shiot [nod] now think of it [sweatdrop]...