Super7 Turbocharged December 25, 2002 Share December 25, 2002 Read this today and thought this would be a good revision on the Airtrek's background since it's intro sometime back early in the year:- As the modern automotive landscape evolves, traditional and distinct vehicle categories like the sport utility vehicle (SUV) and estate are becoming increasingly blurred. Not content with an elaborate re-packaging exercise of one of its existing estates or SUVs, Mitsubishi has launched the all-new Airtrek. Billed by Mitsubishi as a "crossover recreational vehicle", the Airtrek is a clever blend of the practicality of an estate with the off-road muscle of an SUV. The brawny yet elegant exterior lines exude just enough machismo such that it wouldn't look out of place frolicking off-road or cruising down town. On the inside, circular dials and vents lend a retro and sporty air to the cabin while the panel-mounted shift lever liberates space upfront. The seats have been strategically placed 600 mm off the ground for easy ingress and egress while extensive sound insulation and foam-filled pillars ensure that noise intrusion is kept to a minimum. The luggage compartment holds a useful 402 litres with 5 passengers in place and 1049 litres with the rear seats folded forward. Powering the 24 series is Mitsubishi's 4G64 2.4 litre engine with fuel-sipping GDI (Gasoline Direct Injection) technology while the 20 series draws life from the proven 4G63 2.0 litre ECI-Multi unit. Although the GDI unit has an edge in both the power and fuel economy epartments, both engines deliver enough grunt for off-road jaunts and have the flexibility necessary for relaxed urban and highway cruising. Power reaches the wheels via Mitsubishi's intelligent and adaptive 4-speed INVECS-II automatic transmission, which comes with a sequential-type sport shift mode. On the safety front, Mitsubishi's "RISE" body dulls impact forces while dual airbags further cushion the front passenger and driver. Anti-lock brakes and electronic brake force distribution are standard as well. With superior ride comfort in mind, the wheelbase has been stretched to a class-leading 2625 mm while ample ground clearance (195 mm) keeps the bodywork clear of uneven terrain. Its rigid monocoque construction, which not only dampens vibrations and noise, and relatively low vehicle height (1550 mm) contribute greatly to handling stability. Automotive design usually involves trade-offs. Ride comfort often comes at the expense of handling stability while a purposeful off-roader usually sacrifices some on-road ability. The Airtrek's unique design makes it more practical than an SUV for daily use and yet more flexible than a traditional estate in terms of the types of terrain it can handle. Its balance of form and function, tempered with clever engineering enable it to transcend the barriers that have, until now, kept the concrete and evergreen jungles apart. Instead of photo shoots, here are some 'artistic' sketches......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched December 25, 2002 Share December 25, 2002 Waaah...if that's what the new AirTrek is gonna be.....I'd like to get that in future. Some of the tyres in the sketches are a bit off-scale leh. See the word 'Enduro' on some of the sketches...new name ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 26, 2002 Author Share December 26, 2002 somehow, when car makers transform design ideas from drawings to real metal, they 'lose' the exciting looks here n there................ maybe the production engineers have better ideas along the way.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 Saw a silver Asstrek turbo today wif gold 18" rims. Think he was running 245/40/18. The 18" does fill the big wheel arches quite nicely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 26, 2002 Author Share December 26, 2002 (edited) 245!!!....... that sure is very tempting...... Edited December 26, 2002 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 2nd Gear December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 (edited) Hi Foo....at that size (245/40 R18), you'll probably fork out $1000+ for tyres alone... If not more. That's really SUPERCAR size....similar to the front tyres of most Ferraris! BTW ...The more I stare at the drawings/sketches... I come to think of the Airtrek as a leaner meaner...and more muscular looking Chariot/Spacewagon. It's like the Chariot went for a slimming course and took up Tae-Bo. Can't wait to see you drive around in it....and the rest of the bros testing it....... and eventually my turn too, huh? Cheers...and Merry Christmas! Edited December 26, 2002 by Presea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 26, 2002 Author Share December 26, 2002 Merry X'mas n Boxing Day............. exactly: >>>$1000 per tyre is really beyond my means..... ..... maybe i should check out Kumho and see if they have this size at cheaper rate???? the fattest i have used is 225 in the 850 turbo..... wait a minute: they cost only about $250 per piece!!???.. but it's only 16 or 17 inch...... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 2nd Gear December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 (edited) Gostan! Gostan! I didn't say per tyre. It was $1000+ for tyres alone. I was shopping for 215/40R16 tyres, and the current price for "normal" non-race tyres were $220 per tyre. ..which is about $900 for a set. If you're talking 18"...I think that would easily reach $300 per tyre. Anyway....I'm sure you can afford it when it you want it badly! Oh yeah... I'm also looking at Kumho for my next set. At 205 width and above, the grooves look very capable of driving through water puddles without ill effect. I'm more interested in the 711 than the 712 model. cheers and a "Merry?" Boxing day to you..!?... anyway..."compliments of the season" Edited December 26, 2002 by Presea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 26, 2002 Author Share December 26, 2002 (edited) gostan also: at this type of tyre size, what about noise and comfort..... skarley end up wife complains noisy and bumpy and says: sell the Asstrek, so uncomfortable!!!!..... me die standing man Edited December 26, 2002 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 The 18" would be a +2 upgrade. That car's performance is probably slightly blunted due to the much increased drag from the massive 245. Ride quality must have taken a back seat too. Coming from a comfy Camry, r u prepared for such a hard ride? But those 18" look damn chio tho...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 Think if they were to change such tyres.... they probably won't bother about the $$..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 26, 2002 Author Share December 26, 2002 (edited) Hi Guys, In the C&C showroom, the display Asstrek Turbo R comes with 225/55-17 tyre/rim. Someone in MCF recommended 215/50-17. Question:- in terms of performance eg acceleration/handling, will there be significant differences?.... which one gives more accurate speedo readings???.... i think stock is 215/55-16........ (off-hand, i feel the 225/55-17 gives a bigger tyre/rim combined circumsferenc ie the whole thing will look "bigger" = more fierce visually!!??....... right/wrong?? (Assuming tyre/rim brand/model remains unchanged) Many thanks.. cheers Edited December 26, 2002 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 If your OEM size is 215/55/16, the most suitable +1 upgrade will be 215/50/17 as your speedo is off by only 0.61%. 225/55/17 is a no-no as it's off by 5.66%!! As a rule of thumb, u should not deviate beyond 5%. Not only your speedo goes awry but your ride n gearing ratios will be slightly affected too. Add the increased rolling resistance, you'll find the car won't feel as light on it's feet as might expect from a turbo car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 (edited) 55 series is meant for OE supplied tyres most of the time. although it is still possible to get them aftermarket, but it could be more expensive as compare to 50series, . the differences in outer diameter as compared with 55 series profile is quite minimum. So normally it is quite acceptable. I am referring to same diameter rims size only, well as for 215 as compared to 225mm, this is the width of the tyres. again you got to check, a strange thing happen...if you measure the dimension, you will find difference tyres with the same specs ie: 215/50/17 has difference width it could be like 220mm, 212mm etc....not neccessary be 215mm..dont ask me why hahaaa I also dont know but thats what people had found out. Edited December 26, 2002 by Wrxblue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 26, 2002 Author Share December 26, 2002 what about 225/50-17.......... trying to make the tyre/rim compo look abit fierce ie big........ but i do wurry about going beyond 5% and mess up the acceleration/handling...... looks vs performance, vanity vs practicality .......... how?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 For your kind of power..it shouldnt have any great effect...haaaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 True...True.....18" rim and tyre combination also can lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 26, 2002 Share December 26, 2002 You'll be off by 2.16% if u go for the 225/50/17. If u drive off from the showroom wif this size, you'll probably not notice what is amiss. But if u have been using the OEM recommended size n then change up to the this size, you will feel the difference in a slight performance dip. The 245/40/18 i was telling u abt will only be off by 1.6%. So how?? If u ask me, i think upsizing to 17" will already give the car a nicer look without having to go for fatter tyres which will blunt the shiok-feeling performance. Depending on how sensitive your autobox is, it may also confuse the bugger's pre-programmed ratios too. And dun forget, the fatter the tyre, the more prone it is to aquaplanning too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...