Normal_aspirated Clutched May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 (edited) Another interesting performance Italian FIAT car, and tot would like review here. It's taken from http://www.carsfromitaly.com/fiat/index.html. Here goes: Fiat Stilo The long awaited replacement for the Bravo/Brava, the new 'Stilo' as it has officially been named (internally, project 192), was released officially at the Geneva Motorshow in March 2001. Following on from the Bravo/Brava pair, Fiat are stressing the different characters of the three and five door versions of the new car. This time, however, there is only the one name for both models. The heritage of the Bravo can be seen in the design of the three door car, whilst the five door model retains more styling cues from the three door version than was the case with the Brava. The three door car has a slightly shorter body, a much lower roofline, and the driving position is lower, whilst the five door car is slightly longer, has a much higher roofline and has a raised drivers seating position. The latter model is described by the official press release as being a traditional car with the benefits of a monovolume added, with ease of entry, excellent interior space and raised driving position being quoted. The rear seat is also adjustable in two parts. The three door car is claimed to empahsise driving pleasure, individualism and performance, whilst the five door concentrates on on-board comfort, interior space (and the implied safety), versitility and a competitive price. The range comprises three trim levels (Active, Dynamic and Abarth), the two bodystyles, six engines (see below) and seventeen different colours. The engines comprise 4 petrol units and two diesels. The former start with a 16V 1.2-litre unit (coupled to a six-speed gearbox) include 1.6 and 1.8-litre 4 cylinder 16V units and conclude with the 2.4-litre 5 cylinder unit (fitted with the Selespeed transmission) with 170bhp in the Abarth version. The diesels are both 1.9 JTD units, one with 80bhp and the other with an extra 35bhp thanks to a variable geometry turbocharger and an intercooler. The suspension is a conventional MacPherson strut setup at the front and a modified torsion beam system at the back. Disc brakes are standard all round on all models, and include Bosch ABS as well as EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution), ASR (Anti Slip Regulation), MSR (MotorSchleppmomentRegelung) and a brake assist system. An ESP (Electronic Stability Program) system is standard on some models. The steering is assisted electrically, proportional to the speed, and includes two levels of assistance, selectable by the driver. One is aimed for normal driving, the other (with more assistance) for town driving and parking. Above 70km/h the two systems coincide. The interior is aimed to offer class leading levels of equipment and includes fully adjustable seats and steering wheel, customiseable central-locking, various displays, trip computer, six-speaker sound system (with more available as an option), electrically heated and adjustable door mirrors, adjustable head restraints and various other 'goodies'. An automatic dual-zone climate control system with an air quality sensor (controlling recirculation) is optional as are electrically adjustable seats (with a memory), cruise control (standard on the Abarth), improved sound systems, CONNECT integrated communications and navigation system, steering wheel controls, rain sensor, automatic headlights, parking sensor, radar cruise control, remote control central locking, completely keyless entry and start system, segmented glass sunroof and more. Occupant safety has been concentrated on, both in the design of the structure and in the provision of six airbags as standard (two front, two side and two window bags with two sidebags in the rear optional), height adjustable front seatblets with pretensioners, adjustable head restraints, side intrusion bars, fire protection system and more. Other novel features include the now established 'follow-me-home' headlights (first seen on the Punto) and the new 'puddle-lights' which illuminate the ground beneath the front doors when the doors are opened ! The Paris Motorshow of 2002 saw the release of the Stilo MultiWagon The estate version of the range it retains the same wheelbase, but is longer and taller than both the 3 and 5 door versions. As well as the cavernous loadbay, the interior is designed to be flexible and has many seating combinations. A revised rear suspension ensures minimum intrusion giving a wide, low area, whilst touches like the separately opening rear window make life with the car much easier. 2004 saw a mild revision to the range with various content, trim, material and colour changes. Significant design changes concerned only the rear of the 5-door, which was noticeably improved by the redesign of the light clusters. Mechanically, a new 1.4 16v engine with 95bhp replaced the 1.2 16v unit, whilst the 2.4 Abarth became available with a manual transmission as well as the Selespeed as offered before. Enjoy.......... Edited May 29, 2005 by Normal_aspirated ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 so when are you getting your Italian mistress again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 29, 2005 Share May 29, 2005 the stilo's nice, problem is TTS is bringin only the high spec 2.4 which is more ex than 156! it'd be nice if they bring in the base models. think the 2.4 gona be hard to sell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched May 30, 2005 Author Share May 30, 2005 so when are you getting your Italian mistress again ...........let's see, i've to breakeven for my present car 3 years from now, and job stability. Btw, do u receive the invitation for the grand opening and launch on June 3rd? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 Erh.... define breakeven. I thought having a car is a spend money "investment" and no chance to breakeven Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 (edited) means dun hv to top up to pay back bank, i tink. either way, still lose money. Edited May 30, 2005 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 i got the card, let go togather.... how long more to three year? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 OIC...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 Yo, this is the model that kena the top 10 most unreliable car in the recent www.BBC.co.uk car owner survey for 142 car brands/models. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched May 30, 2005 Author Share May 30, 2005 u got PM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear May 31, 2005 Share May 31, 2005 i will still spend the $$$ buy the car and enjoy the driving experience because i m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched May 31, 2005 Share May 31, 2005 (edited) abang.. i oso wanna see leh... when going ? from the front pic, bery chio leh... Edited May 31, 2005 by Linus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched May 31, 2005 Share May 31, 2005 so when are you getting your Italian mistress again ...........let's see, i've to breakeven for my present car 3 years from now, and job stability. Btw, do u receive the invitation for the grand opening and launch on June 3rd? ai yah... pass ur car to ur kids loh.... then u can start a new fling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear May 31, 2005 Share May 31, 2005 bro, tyell u more on friday meet upz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 so when are you getting your Italian mistress again ...........let's see, i've to breakeven for my present car 3 years from now, and job stability. Btw, do u receive the invitation for the grand opening and launch on June 3rd? what invitation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched June 1, 2005 Author Share June 1, 2005 drop by TTS with yer calling card and they will sent u the invitation card........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched June 1, 2005 Author Share June 1, 2005 ai yah... pass ur car to ur kids loh.... then u can start a new fling. very hard leh........need to breakeven first, no more hard cash to donate to gahmen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 okay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...