Randall Neutral Newbie May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 I afraid that the ES5 relearning capability is very strong../.. That means that wat ever capsule or monster u throw in...4-5 tanks later...no effect liao There is no way that altering the A/F ratio will the ECU keep that it that way.. Under closed Loop..the O2 sensor will feedbak to the ecu keeping it ideally 14.7.It can extent the injector pulse width or shorten the pulse width to correct the ratio. Under partial throttle or idling , the ecu will start calibrating the short term value. So after a few tanks, it will start triming the Long term value...so that the short term function no need to trim at fuel meaning 0% However under open loop, the ecu will ignore the o2 reading and inject the fuel according to the fuel map...however is the Long term valve is -1%, then the overall fuel will be -1% of the fuel table. When the ECU is reset, the idling original fuel valve is at 0.9V(13.23)...idealy is 1V. What happens is that it uses real time valve, engine condition and uses cloesd loop feedback to bring ratio to 14.7 Thats why went u reset ECU ur FC will suffer and slowly better as time goes by... So very sad leh.... thats when unichip/orbit comes it...It doesnt alter AF ratio under closed loop..in fact it promotes 14.7. At close loop it doesnt trim af ratio,,,..it changes ignition timing..The ecu will not trim the ignition timing,. Standalone ECU even better but very EX$ Just to tell the bro here...the ecu relearn ability is there so be careful in choosing ur mod and the more Emmsion controlled the car is the more power is the learning ability ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 nope, it means tat unichip/ orbit is the wrong controlling device. not sure abt safc though. but something should b installed by an experienced mech to tap the right cable and one who done dyno test on ur car to tune it correctly also. all these amount to more $$$. so unless u r prepared, i'd say u venture with the foot forward, not knowing the consequence of aftermarket ecu controller. best u check ard with cars of the same make/ model n see who managed to get it working, den find tat ecu controller and ask for the setting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 I know for some ECUs like Bosch type, one can modify to quicken or slow down the rate of learning. For track, people set to a slow rate and elsewhere it's set to the fastest rate. Just forget abt those magnet etc kindda of dodgy mods lor, go for those proven ones like CAI, header, exhaust, pully or flywheel, P&P and cams. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...