Marcz Neutral Newbie May 23, 2005 Share May 23, 2005 hi fellas, just wondering if there are any products that you can just dump into the petrol tank to clear carbon? i think going with a a few full tanks of vpower is a big hurting to the wallet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 23, 2005 Share May 23, 2005 take a trip north Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 23, 2005 Share May 23, 2005 pump into fuel tank - stp complete fuel system, per bottle is $20, supposedly contain more octane den vpower. see terms n conditions on resticted use. spray into throttle body - carb canister $9+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie May 23, 2005 Author Share May 23, 2005 where can i get it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched May 23, 2005 Share May 23, 2005 But isn't a full tank of V-Power ( in terms of incremental cost vs. Ron-95/92 petorl ) cheaper than the $20 additive ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 23, 2005 Share May 23, 2005 STP total fuel system? apart fr autobaccs, i supposed wud b stamford tyres. carb cleaner u need to strip down the air intake to reach the throttle body, if u r noob, forget it. if u r not, do b careful and park in mscp so all screw/ bolts will not drop into the turf. hv an umbrella or long stick with a magnet on one end ready to reach hot spot to pick up missing items. canister can b bought fr any car parts shops in sing min/ waterloo/ bt merah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie May 23, 2005 Author Share May 23, 2005 so once i've pumped up to full tank i just dump in the cleaner into the tank? will there be instructions on the can itself? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ozkaki 2nd Gear May 23, 2005 Share May 23, 2005 just throw in the whole bottle and start driving. i think u can't do it too often, something like at least 4000 miles apart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear May 24, 2005 Share May 24, 2005 Its better to put the cleaner into your fuel tank before topping up with petrol. That way it mixed better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 24, 2005 Share May 24, 2005 no lah, at the petrol kiosk, u pour STP first den pump full tank, best is short drive, let the thing mix with ur petrol overnight or at least a few hours den drive. but can feel the difference lor. only for a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie May 24, 2005 Author Share May 24, 2005 ahhh thanks alot! will do it soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear May 24, 2005 Share May 24, 2005 You're welcome. One more advise which you might consider.........I hear those fuel additive may dilute or cause deterioration of the engine oil. Its better if you use it before your next oil change. That way you get fresh engine oil after finishing the 'addicted fuel' and engine protection won't be compromise. [inline SMOKE6.gif] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie May 24, 2005 Author Share May 24, 2005 HUH....i just went for my servicing like 4k km ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 24, 2005 Share May 24, 2005 no worries lah.... just drive. but i would recommend u replan ur route, try to head for the highway whenever possible. u dun hv to hard rev the accelerator but the constant drive will help reduce carbon deposit, as compared to urban driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie May 24, 2005 Author Share May 24, 2005 ahhh...icic..thanks alot for the advice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 25, 2005 Share May 25, 2005 anyway, goto the general discussion folder lah, got feller trying to trial his new Palm Oil product leh, not Palmolive shampoo lah, but said to better ur FC. free one.... go try lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnchong Neutral Newbie May 25, 2005 Share May 25, 2005 haha, another method... How about filling up with V-power and revving to the redline... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched May 25, 2005 Share May 25, 2005 a question from me.. revving redline/near redline at 2nd gear and 5th gear, what's the diff? other than the speed of course. if there's no diff then can do italian tune up in SG also? 2nd gear redline about 90km/h for most cars. Or is there other differences eg, amount of exhaust gas, engine load.. and also, any tech gurus can enlighten me on the following: how to calculate the amount of air your engine is taking in at 6000rpm for a 1.5l 4 cylinder engine? cos i have a nagging doubt that a normal 2.5inch CAI pipe is restrictive at 6000rpm for my car. so...that's 2 questions..hmm... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...