Kianbeng Clutched December 20, 2002 Share December 20, 2002 Hi ppl, Need some advise. I recently saw some AV system for home theatre 5.1 package. It's a pair JBL floorstanding speakers, rears, centre, and a rather solid woofer + a harmon/kardon amp (model is ??300??). Whole JBL package I think is...?? 4555 ?? Anyway, it's selling at half price! $699. Seems like a super good deal to me. Coz if I were to go outside, maybe just a amp will cost me $599 liao. Woofer maybe $400 liao.... But the drawback is....This clearance set of JBL is display one. And I understood that it's 3yrs old liao. But the shop will give me 1 yr warranty. Quite alot of scratches on the woofer though....(but was thinking, maybe can get some carpenters to redo the veneers?) So.....any comments? I personally think it's a good deal since the woofer sounds very good (woofer made in canada, not sure about the speakers though). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 20, 2002 Author Share December 20, 2002 (edited) think the harmon kardon amp is AVR300. oh another thing to add is that....I heard there is some problems with the JBL agent recently. Heard it's been changed.....and so all shops in sillypore are clearing their jbl sets....dodgy isn't it? but I feel that speakers are usually long lasting...don't usually pichar. Maybe amp is the first to go.... Edited December 20, 2002 by Kianbeng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 21, 2002 Share December 21, 2002 Lousy speaker don't last.. One Very heavy bass and there it goes...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 21, 2002 Author Share December 21, 2002 do you mean this particular brand/model is lousy? But my understanding from a few ppl was that....JBL speakers are very good with bass.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 21, 2002 Share December 21, 2002 Make sure you get the real stuff....sometimes it is just cheap speaker with JBL brand....just be careful.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear December 21, 2002 Share December 21, 2002 I think the best is to audition the speakers. Most JBLs now are made in China or elsewhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 21, 2002 Author Share December 21, 2002 not so sure about the floorstanding 2,centre, and rear2 speakers.....heard from the salesperson that they may be from msia. But the subwoofer confirm is from canada. Coz he lifted up the boom box and I saw "Made in Canada". And most importantly was....the subwoofer box was very solid. When you knock on it, it sounds solid. The other speakers in the same package sounds "emptier". Maybe really from msia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 21, 2002 Author Share December 21, 2002 real stuff? How to tell? From Safe Superstore leh.....should be alright right? But confirmed the woofer is canada made one. The rest of the speakers maybe msian one. Quite sad that the JBL agent closed (or changed hands) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 21, 2002 Author Share December 21, 2002 actually I went for the audition liao. The only disappointment is that the salesperson couldn't get the subwoofer to work. It's either faulty or the H/K amp is faulty. But just by listening to the front 2 floorstanding JBL speakers(without subwoofer), you can feel the bass. Very good feeling. (Maybe I'm those who like bass one ). Maybe this sunday (tomorrow) I'll go and check it out again. See if the salesperson manage to hook up the subwoofer or not this time. But for such display set, is there anything I should look out for? There are scratches on the subwoofer liao. Me planning to get a carpenter to redo the veneer if I buy it, coz the scratches is quite bad. Doesn't fit into my new flat. . Also, on 1 of the rear speakers, the cloth cover is torn. But I think this should be a easy replacement. (got 1 speaker repair shop in SL tower) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 23, 2002 Share December 23, 2002 Open up the cover and check the speaker cone for wear and tear...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 23, 2002 Author Share December 23, 2002 ya...did that. Everything looks fine. But when I played some music, and when it was turned on the quite (or very?) loud, I could see the big speaker almost struggling when the bass boomed. So...I decided not to get it. Coz I'm wondering if age is really catching up with it.... Think i better stick to my wharfedale diamonds. 1 cent money buys me 1 cent product. Furthermore, with a completely new set, I don't have to find a carpenter to redo the veneers. The difference between $700 (JBL) and $2K (wharfedale) is just $1K+. To me now it may be a great savings. But if I look at 1-2 more years, my purse will be alot more fatter, and I think this $1K+ difference is not a lot in the long run. Thanks for help! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 23, 2002 Share December 23, 2002 The speakers must have kenna abuse a lot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 23, 2002 Author Share December 23, 2002 probably lor..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...