Deathsythe Neutral Newbie June 14, 2005 Author Share June 14, 2005 Wat freebies u guys manage to get from the SA? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imc10 Neutral Newbie June 16, 2005 Share June 16, 2005 Not very much. I got them to change the rims to the multi-spoke rims usually with the Optra sedan with Yokohama AspecDB tyres as oppose to the Kumho tyres that were supposed to come with the Optra5. Also got a reverse sensor and a car cover. I should have asked for more like maybe Toughseal and/or VKool. Maybe I too kind hearted to the sweet lady sales agent.. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imc10 Neutral Newbie June 16, 2005 Share June 16, 2005 Bro JDaddy, Yeah, agree that the air-con not so cold as my experience with other cars. You need to turn on the 'Cool' button (next to air-con button) almost all the time (except for cold rainy days) to have decent cooling in the dar. I do not experience any alignment problem and veering to the left as you have described. I did check after reading a lot of other posts in the Chevrolet forum complaining about tyre alignment. Have conducted a couple of trials and have not recorded any veering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie June 16, 2005 Author Share June 16, 2005 Wat's the car cover for? Can u pm me the SE contacts? Which showroom? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff Neutral Newbie June 16, 2005 Share June 16, 2005 hmm....i do agree tat optra5 aircon is sort of weak.. cos last time my back passenger always complain behinf very warm , when my aircon is already turn on , so usually if picking up passenger , gonna on the aircon to level 2-3 to cool them , which in turn my speed cool down too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie June 23, 2005 Author Share June 23, 2005 So there's actually no solution to the problem then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpierre Neutral Newbie June 27, 2005 Share June 27, 2005 I always start at 2 to cool it down a bit and go back down to 1. However, it tends to get a bit too cold in the morning. The thing that made me buy the optra 5 actually compared to the optra is how the hold button seems to work much better with the Optra5. Just love the sudden boost of power. I am still thinking about what mods to do to the car. Maybe the bros here have tried something already ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 27, 2005 Share June 27, 2005 How to use that HOLD button? press it anytime you want? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 27, 2005 Share June 27, 2005 Hi all, i'm new in this forum. Actually i'm considering whether to get a OPTRA5 but need to check with ya all what are the pros and cons of this car. ALso, i'm concerned about the high FC which i read in this forum too. Can you please advise your optra5 FC as well? I planned to drive this car for 10 years, do you think that it will last that long? Appreciate all the advice given...... Thanks! Daniel I am not sure if it can last 10 years, but I owned the Optra sedan and except for the infamous wheel alignment problem, the car has been very good. I have never need to top up oil or water other than regular servicing. The oil level never seems to go down. The brakes have also save me a few times. It has a soft and spongy feel sometimes, but it works well. I drive mostly at 110km/h, but I still get 10km/L FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 27, 2005 Share June 27, 2005 Gee correction, did I said Optra 5? I am driving a Optra (a) leh. Only one means only Chevy lor. As for sound, let me tell you what I understand by sound. A relative of mine tell me his new Altis got this high pitch noise. I try to listen while he drive, Hmmm, at the end of the drive, I hear more of the road noise than that 'sound'. To listen, he got to turn off his radio too!! My Nissan got the rattling sound since day one. If you have things laying in the grove, chances of it causing more noise than the car noise is higher. One sure way to cut off the noise, turn up your radio volume!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear June 27, 2005 Share June 27, 2005 (edited) Hi i tested the 5 last sat... very solid suspension setup as i took the car thru the airport road leading to Paya Lebar Airbase. Acceleration was great and steering response was good Didn't have much issues with the a/c as my wife who was sitting behind didn't complain. She also mentioned that surprisely the ride comfort was good when i bashed over the uneven & winding road littered with construction debris. Only 1 thing i didn't quite like... the engine note was quite intrusive (though the growl was addictive ) when i cruised the car normally at 60-70kph... Other than that it's really a cool-looking hatch! Oh, the SE was quite pushy when we sat down to work over the finances... Edited June 27, 2005 by Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imc10 Neutral Newbie June 27, 2005 Share June 27, 2005 Bro Diesel, The Optra5 is a fine car Wait till you try taking a sharp corner. There is a sharp corner around Sembawang estate (quite deserted) where I usually try sharp corner at speed. It handles and grips well, relatively no under/oversteer. Must be the combination of the weight and suspension tuning. Wonder if the traction control also contributes to this? The engine noise can be very easily solved with grounding. I had grounding done with volt stab and found the engine purring more gently, less growl and more like a hum. Gear changes also much smoother, mine is an auto tranny BTW. Recommend all bros to have this simple mod done. Don't let pushy SEs get to you. It is your money and your commission to give. I had a pushy SE at Ubi that I didn't like then drove to Leng Kee to be serviced by another sweeter more pleasant SE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedestrian Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 Can u recommend your SE to me? I think i fallen in love with the Optra5 liao... What freebies can i ask from the SE? I was worried about comments about hte aircon being not cool, so i thought of asking for V cool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jdaddy Neutral Newbie July 1, 2005 Share July 1, 2005 bro...where u done ur grounding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imc10 Neutral Newbie July 1, 2005 Share July 1, 2005 Bro Jdaddy, I had brother Saaber do the grounding for me. While I watched him connect the cables I recall thinking to myself that it is way simple to DIY also (once you know how it is done of course). Use the forum search for "grounding" and you would see that there are many places to get it done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jdaddy Neutral Newbie July 1, 2005 Share July 1, 2005 thanks bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged July 1, 2005 Share July 1, 2005 I think I know which bend you are talking about... The Optra sedan is also bloody good at taking corners. It just sticks to the ground like a glue. I think I better dun say it publicly on the kind of bends and speed I have done with the Optra, but rest assured that after owning 8 cars, the optra is the only 1.6L car that gives me good assurances on bends at high speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muskee Neutral Newbie July 7, 2005 Share July 7, 2005 Hi all, im a newbie here. collecting my optra5 in a couple of days.. just like to find out more from u guys.. wat should i look out for when i collect my car and wat freebies should i squeeze from the SE? he practically gave me nothing since all i could tot of came together in the package... plus the fact that he kept harping on the cash discount that he gave me.. so am quite clueless abt it all.. haha.. Thanks!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...