Heartbreakid 6th Gear January 11, 2006 Share January 11, 2006 Quote Quote Hi ALL, I am new to this forum. Just wondering how do you guys find the Wira 1.3? Last saturday there was a promo for a Wira 1.3l at $38 999. Isit a good deal?? How long more is it gonna be before the model will be phased out? Cos i am thinking of gettin a car nearer to the end of the year! Pls advise! Thanks Just saw in the Straits Time classad: Wira OFFER $38 988.............. Yah man, like what the above said, dont buy Proton no matter what... I drive a WIRA too but '96 model. Ever since new car has been giving me silly problems, i.e. pwr windows, A/C fan not working, key lock not fixed properly...Something I wont expect in a new car back then... Since their engineering in the new WIRA still the same, that means their engine are not as fuel efficient as other models... Even its more or less round $40k, I'm getting myself either the GETZ or picanto instead... PROTON = Piece of C***... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear January 11, 2006 Share January 11, 2006 Seriously, is the Wira really that bad? Maybe you got a lemon? Don't think Gadgeter has any problems with his Wira. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear January 12, 2006 Share January 12, 2006 hmmm, lemon or not, I've got the so-called facelifted WIRA in '96 which as a usual practise among car makers, all or majority of flaws should be addressed but Proton's facelift is just cosmetic rather than skin deep... I remembered one time the car got knocking sound from left rear door, a closed inspection found out that a screw drop within the door itself, so I removed the dr panel to removed it and found out that the screw doesn't even belong to be fitted to any parts in there!! Another occasion, rear drain hole rubber found missing, so I removed the rear carpet to see if there's water seeping in, to my surprise, I found another screw there!! So what do you say? Quality control simply S*** for Proton. Anyway, I think Proton's the only car manufacturer produces more lemon than quality assured products... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 Well. I have to disagree with you. Am not facing so much problem as what you stated. I guess it is really up to individual, depending on whether do they maintain their ride or not. One thing for sure, the 2002 model does have some problem with the servor sensor especially when one change to Open pod. The throttle body tend to get dirty easily, thus, regular cleaning of the TB is required else, the rpm goes a bit crazy... Since I'm the type who likes to DIY, I do not view that as an serious issue knowing the fact that it's because I changed to Open pod. Nonetheless, it is a cheap car to maintain.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 looking at it from another angle.. Old technology means, a lot of people knows how to service it. Agree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk2000sg Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 hi no major problem for my ride 1.9 years old with clock in 47K.... FC is 14km/ litre without fail..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 Dun worry too much, lah. screws r very cheapo items the factory can afford to loose, mah. But if u still continue to find some more screws in yer witch-hunt........prepare for the panels coming apart, liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Africatwin Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 Yes old technology means more people able to repair, but proton is making wira not only old in technology. They have change certain sensor to be unadjustable. So anything wrong mean the whole module got to go. My ride 98 model dun give me any problem too. FC varies from 12 to 15km/l. I am just trying to tell those people that buying proton to be careful. Cheap doesn't mean it's good. I do not know when they changed the intake design to unadjustable type. If the sensor don't spoil after 5 years then good for your but if spoil after 3 years then it will cost about RM 300 and above. This is what the mechanics in malaysia said. Then here will have a lot of new wira owners !@#@$#$^%&$%@ proton's cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genfan Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 IMO Cheap doesn't mean no good and the same goes...expensive doesn't mean good. I was at Paya Leabr Road on WED about 1pm, a SFY plate Toyota Vios broke down on the centre lane(trafiic light). All the drivers behind him have to siam here siam there.....remember some years ago (it was in the news paper) if I remember correctly a new Saab owner and his family was lock in the car, doors can't open....sometimes its your luck...if heng car drive 10 yrs also no problem...if not so heng, may be drive out from showroom haven't reach home have to call toll truck already...hahaha.. just my opinion..you may beg to differ.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 end of the day... To each his own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Africatwin Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 Ya i do agreed with gad n u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Africatwin Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 No meet up 2nite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genfan Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 Cheers........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 16, 2006 Share January 16, 2006 there was,.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruggles Neutral Newbie January 19, 2006 Share January 19, 2006 hi is anyone able to confirm for OPC Wira, Proton s'pore does not practice COE rebate level? ie if COE drops below certain level can get rebate off the diff in COE price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 19, 2006 Share January 19, 2006 am not sure about this.. Best to double confirm with your SE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched January 20, 2006 Share January 20, 2006 Hi Ruggles, if I am not wrong, most OPC package from any brands would not have such COE rebate as currently the COE is such low, the OPC rebate has already exceed the COE amount...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruggles Neutral Newbie January 20, 2006 Share January 20, 2006 juz to clarify, i m not asking abt COE rebate fr LTA upon scrapping of vehicle b4 10 yrs, that case is quite clr i did not pay for the COE so i shld not be entitled to any COE scrap rebate, my question is essentially to benefit fr lower bidded COE to reduce the buying price of the vehicle. thks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...