Zizou 2nd Gear October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 among hatchbacks, yup, jazz. then i came across the skoda... woweee.... the boot can fit pram, baby seat, and still lots of space for mother in law ok kidding that last part ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flick77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 oh.. how much was your skoda? which model is it btw? not familiar with conti. =) you preferred it over fiat punto? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flick77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 have you test drive fiat panda? it's a clutchless semi-auto. VERY fun to drive, IMO. i think it's going for $48,180 if you take 7-year loan, if i remember correctly. the SE told me add $1K if taking less than 7-year loan period. if you don't mind the tiny boot. and the fact that it's a fiat. =) it looks fun too... it's more lifestyle lah, huh. =) some pics here of panda. http://www.italiaauto.com/forum/viewtopic....er=asc&start=30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zizou 2nd Gear October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 not familiar with skoda? that's the reason i got a good bargain. its 2nd hand, octavia classic, 1.6L. bought at 38K, 6 years left, paper value 36K. a good solid car, underrated due to lack of publicity. not too sure bout fiat punto. was eyeing jap cars, but bought it later after test driving brand new skodas at czech auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zepil99 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 the first and third panda in the link looks damn cool with the red/blue mixture in color. wonder if such color schema is allowed in Singapore by LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 I've test drive both Panda and Punto just last sunday.I'm leaning towards punto because of it 6speed cvt.IMO Panda needs a lot of getting use to because it's using selespeed and whenever it try to change gear , I can feel the drag or the engine brake. Actually the new Fiat is entirely different beast as compare to its predecessor. The punto is a 1.3L but it feels like a 1.6L when picking up and cruising .The engine note it produce is very seductive and the price different is only about 4~5k between the two... I'm considering seriously on the punto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flick77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 http://www.italiaauto.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=3 quite a number of local workshops for fiat in singapore. looks promising? read in an article online that grande punto will be fiat's make or break in 2006. think they have some financial problems. http://www.motoring.co.za/index.php?fArtic...1765&fSetId=381 i test drove both too. very fun for both. =) you're right. the punto is quite torquey, feels powerful. =) the interior is nice and rather spacious too. i like the gear knob. very nice with the chrome styling. and the meter faces are so sporty looking too! i like the styling on its backside too. rounded. reminds me a bit of mazda3, its bumper, with chunky shape and sharp curvy lines along edges... so seductive. heeeh. but the front bumper so-so only. not fierce enuff. heee. it really stirs me a bit. after i drove it, i think i understand a bit more about what they mean when they say "it's about passion". =) think it's going for $55K or so now. can't remember... you have the exact pricing? but i suspect conti cars require more maintenance than japanese makes, IMO. don't flame me hor... maybe cars with slight problems give it more character...? heeeh. but don't give me big problems lah, huh. sian leh. pour so much money for a hunk of metal, still give problems. so a part of me wants japanese reliability from a sirion. but another part wants the passionate note that punto offers. it's hardly a rational decision, isn't it? punto/panda ranks third on my list... after honda city and sirion. =P there was another thread in mcf. someone who bought a fiat panda. his headlamp trapped some water after a heavy downpour. the chrome inside flaking off already. = Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flick77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 ya... it'll look very good with you when you're wearing jeans. =P the wheels on that panda are rather big. it looks good like that. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 Yes the punto is price around 55k. It's individual taste lah.For me I'm willing to take the plunge because you only have that handful of 10 yrs to drive so might as well experience it first hand.As for the reliability issue , all cars have hiccup every now and then.Some time ago ,there was a case whereby this 7 series was 'warded' in the agent workshop intermittently for years because of engine and over heat problem.My brother 'praire' was recall by the agent to work on some parts as instructed by the jap manufacturer , and the lattest rio already has some 'sudden lost of control of steering wheel' as reported in the another thread. All in all , we human are already not perfect not to mention a machine. Just go with what your hearts say lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mewmew 1st Gear October 14, 2005 Share October 14, 2005 among hatchbacks, yup, jazz. then i came across the skoda... woweee.... the boot can fit pram, baby seat, and still lots of space for mother in law ok kidding that last part Something nice about Sirion/Passo is not so common car, i did consider Jazz/Fit but i kind of put off, cause of the common BENGness of the car ( no offence to those who are not ). Panda is cute little car, do a test drive yourself, i find the gear shift a bit jumpy. top of it, the special gear will cost a bomb when you need to fix it, down the road of 4 to 5 yrs... I think there are not so many Sirion buyers cos of the Badge- Daihatsu. Many of my secondhand car SE wont not put there money on that badge. BUT they do think is a good engine and fun car to drive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckteddy Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 so technically... that means it's possible to squeeze a bit more from STS, since they increased their profit margin. gnahahah. or maybe not. i test drove swift and mazda2 SP as well too! both are very nice to drive... nicer than sirion IMO, actually. but interior too small lah. and SP too ex, although i really love its looks among all the hatches. so, it's pretty much just sirion left. heee.. actually, i don't really need a car. just a want. wat about you? when do you plan to make a purchase? was wondering how Open Cat COE works. say if we get sirion at $50K (immediate delivery) with open cat COE, which is $12K now. if the COE at next round is $13K, does that mean the open cat COE is worth $13K? or $12K? it's interesting, cuz this time COE sure go up, right? if i get Open Cat COE, that means i can get my car ASAP and also get higher COE rebate! wow. am i dreaming? I think not possible, the SE in STS veri niaw.... don't think you can squeeze out much freebies. I only interested in MT cars, so already cut down my options. Buying car in SG is always a want. For me, waited for a very long time liao, don't think can tahan liao. Now very tempted to get the Sirion in Nov leh.... For the Open Cat COE, it takes the lower Quota Premium value of either the Cat of the vehicle registered or the Open Cat value in the SAME COE bidding exercise. For example, if you get the Sirion @ 50k (immediate delivery) next month and the Open Cat COE transferred to you is from the Oct 1st bidding exercise: Oct 05 1st bidding exercise: 1) Cat A COE Quota Premium (QP):$11,991 2) Open Cat COE Quota Premium (QP):$12,000 So your COE value is the lower of the 2. In this case, the Cat A @ $11,991..... The system very smart right!! See info from: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...ml#MainPar_0016 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckteddy Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 (edited) Anyway back to the sirion, im thinking of getting it as an OPC, With shiny red available as one of the colour, hopefully it wont be too ugly with a red plate. will try to test drive it first before making a decision. Shinny red . My choice too. With the bodykit http://paultan.org/archives/2005/04/28/per...-trd-bodykit-p/ Go for more test drive if you have the time. You can get the feel better and each time you will notice different things. I test drove it three times on different visits.... Edited October 15, 2005 by Ckteddy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckteddy Neutral Newbie October 15, 2005 Share October 15, 2005 by the way, had sponken to two SE at STS, both seems not so sure about the car,even when i ask about the OMV of the sirion. There are only 3 type vehicle in the showroom, the YRV, Sirion and a SUV. Don t understand why they don t know the exact OMV of the car, what they want to know is how long you are taking the loan. - talk about good sale service The OMV varies depending the time of import and the currency difference. Probably, that's why the SE don't know the exact OMV value. For those interested in the OMV, you can get an estimated average OMV value of cars from the link below: http://app.lta.gov.sg/motoring_vo_omv.asp Don't know the model number for the Sirion Euro. My guess is the lower OMV is for the Sirion Euro since Sirion has the Euro and Euro Sports (looking @ the 2 closest model number). And they stopped bringing in the YRV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flick77 Neutral Newbie October 16, 2005 Share October 16, 2005 (edited) i see...! thanks for the info! and oh, yes... that TRD bodykit looks very very nice...! =P http://paultan.org/archives/2005/04/28/per...-trd-bodykit-p/ Edited October 16, 2005 by Flick77 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomvroom 2nd Gear October 17, 2005 Share October 17, 2005 Wah lao the bodykit is damm To all bros who bought the Sirion, Is it possible for you to PM me ur SE contacts and what are the things u manage to get from ur SE? Thanks in advance bros. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckteddy Neutral Newbie October 22, 2005 Share October 22, 2005 I just collected my Sirion today. My SE offered me some freebies or equivalent cash back. I chose the cash back instead, more practical... Seems like the freebies came out from the SE's own comission. And the amount of freebies they can give depends on the loan. I spoke to 2 SE on separate occasions and both offered me the same stuff. Seems like STS is quite stringent and the SE does not have much free play. But then again, I'm not a good bargainer.... maybe you will have better luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mewmew 1st Gear October 22, 2005 Share October 22, 2005 congrats. whats yours? a euro or sports? whats was the selling price? did you got the low COE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckteddy Neutral Newbie October 23, 2005 Share October 23, 2005 Mine is the basic Euro MT, did not add any accessories..... tempted to get the Sports but figured probably can get more stuff outside with the extra $2k. Got it just before this recent COE rise. I opted for the $50k immediate delivery. If we consider the $38k without COE package, I paid $12k for the COE. They gave me the $16k Aug COE. Got info that they were clearing their Aug/Sept Open Cat COEs before they expires. But I don't really earn too since end of the day COE still depreciates to $0. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...