Jigc Neutral Newbie April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 guys, my car (proton wira) clocked 75k km and having serious jerking at low gears, at 1st, 2nd and sometime 3rd gear. it is intermitten. things have done to resolve the problem: 1. changed fuel filter 2. changed ignition cables 3. cleaned spark plug 4. adjusted clutch cable but the problem is still persist. next suspected item is the clutch plate worn off. how to check and confirm the clutch is worn off? BTW, this is a very informative forum TQ jigc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 (edited) 75k/km...dun think ur clutch pad worn off...unless...u used engine..to slow(thong) & brake frequently which a normal driver dun do it...or u like to play wif 1/2 clutch-in...on slope veri likely it's an ignition/firing or fuel injecting prob... clutch worn symptom; difficult to engage the 1st gear... slip clutch...vehicle move off veri jerky or refuse to move when clutch pedal's released. Edited April 30, 2005 by York Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jigc Neutral Newbie April 30, 2005 Author Share April 30, 2005 hi, york, during my initial driving, i used to do gear braking for ~40k km. 1/2 clutch-in on slope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japz Neutral Newbie April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 Engine braking will cause faster clutch worn out???? Dang!!! I've been using engine braking for all my corners..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 since is a proton which is mitsubishi platform, i think majority fault likely to b excess carbon in throttle body. but could b timing belt wearing earlier also. checked u used the right spark plugs? checked all plug terminal r installed properly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jigc Neutral Newbie April 30, 2005 Author Share April 30, 2005 apollo, i'll check the throttle body. last time i took a look at timing belt (took out the cover), it looked ok. i'm using non-stock spark plug: from NGK BP6ES to NGK G Power Platinum (BPR6EGP). but problem happened b4 i changed it, so, i didnt suspect it. as for tightening torque of spark plugs, i just tighthened it...roughly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 many possiblities, could throttle not adjusted properly. or fuel pump/ filter. cheaper to change the filter filter but if u can afford it, change the pump. but not least, who is ur mechanic. if u r not too familar with him, i suggest u switch mechanic also. some unscruplous pple may cause one other part to b loose after servicing so u keep gg back to them for repairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 bro..check yr plug cable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jigc Neutral Newbie April 30, 2005 Author Share April 30, 2005 fuel filter and spark plug cables have been changed. i did it DIY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 guys, my car (proton wira) clocked 75k km and having serious jerking at low gears, at 1st, 2nd and sometime 3rd gear. it is intermitten. things have done to resolve the problem: 1. changed fuel filter 2. changed ignition cables 3. cleaned spark plug 4. adjusted clutch cable but the problem is still persist. next suspected item is the clutch plate worn off. how to check and confirm the clutch is worn off? BTW, this is a very informative forum TQ jigc one method that i observed from my mechanic on checking clutch wear on my older rides is by having the handbrake on and engage clutch (with throttle) and try to move....if there is sufficient clutch...the car will wanna move and u can see the back pinning down...not sure if its the rite method...but one thing for sure..it also test my drum is working or not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched April 30, 2005 Share April 30, 2005 Well...how abt...u ram ur engine @ 2.5 to 3k/rpm stationary, hold it for 1 to 2 mins..neutral gear, the engine jerky anot?...if no..likely as u said...clutch gone liao...might not due worn pad..maybe broken spring or bearing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jigc Neutral Newbie May 1, 2005 Author Share May 1, 2005 guys, tq for reply and suggestion. i think i miss to say that the car jerks only when the clutch is released, no matter how slow i release it. it doesnt jerk when i travel at high speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 1, 2005 Share May 1, 2005 lidat could b ur drive shaft gone case liaoz.... but got check if the clutch plate is recon one or original replica one boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jigc Neutral Newbie May 1, 2005 Author Share May 1, 2005 drive shaft gone?? im the 1st owner , the clutch is stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched May 1, 2005 Share May 1, 2005 'mai thia liao'....go to a car workshop, they'll diagnose it hand-on...On a heard-say, even a good technical-man oso cant be perfect..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 1, 2005 Share May 1, 2005 drive shaft is the only contact with the gearbox. if gearbox is ok, den it must b drive shaft liaoz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear May 1, 2005 Share May 1, 2005 Look like your trust bearing (part of the whole clutch assy) is weak and worn. Jerky clutch, take-up not smooth could be due to the clutch assy ( 3 items - clutch plate, bearing, lever) need to be looked at. Consult the mechanic and hear what they say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear May 1, 2005 Share May 1, 2005 guys, my car (proton wira) clocked 75k km and having serious jerking at low gears, at 1st, 2nd and sometime 3rd gear. it is intermitten. things have done to resolve the problem: 1. changed fuel filter 2. changed ignition cables 3. cleaned spark plug 4. adjusted clutch cable but the problem is still persist. next suspected item is the clutch plate worn off. how to check and confirm the clutch is worn off? BTW, this is a very informative forum TQ jigc The sympton of clutch plate worn off is when accelerating, the tacometer (rpm) will increase but the speedometer does not increasing corresponding as much. To check for worn clutch, start the engine and while the car is not moving, engage 3rd or 4th gear and try to move the car by releasing the clutch as per normal. If the engine stalls, clutch is still good. But if can engaged clutch at 3rd or 4th gear and engine not stall, then likely to be worn clutch. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...