Experiences with 2 year-old Jazz/Fit

Jamjammer

Hi fellow MCF,

I'm thinking of getting a 2+ year old Jazz / Fit. Wonder is this a good buy? Lots of people tell me not to buy 2nd hand, but if I buy new car, got to drive till 10 yrs (it's too long!!).

I'm looking at driving for a couple of years and sell it before I decided to settle for a "ultimate" car that I know what I want.

Any views?

Thanks,

jamjammer [drivingcar]

1. find out where his bottomline is. it isn't really too hard to do so. get his NRIC and car plate number, do a search and find out the paper value. at same time, get a quote from 2nd hand car dealer for this same car by imitating a seller.

after you get a quote from the dealer, you will know that his bottomline is the price the dealer quote + a few k. you can then start negotiation with the price of the dealer. then slowly move towards the price you have already set in ur mind before hand.

think of it this way, the dealer is his next best choice so definitely he's hoping to get a better deal than wat the dealer will offer him. but you aren't ready to pay premium for most resale car so a few k above dealer quote is the best price you can fight for.

Hello,

I just got my 2 & 1/2 year old Jazz last week.

Here are my tips:

1) Check the COE, you can calculate how old the car is. Check for no. of owners, etc...

2) Negotiate. For 2yr olds, around $52k. I got mine at $52800.

3) Ask in writting, for no admin fee. This hidden cost can cost you $500.

4) Check the car for problems, you got a mech? If yes, get the car to your mech for a check up. Don't trust their mech.

5) Negotiate everything. Ask for extended road tax, or even free transfer fee or insurance.

6) Do your homework when it concerns insurance & financing.

Call the insurance companies & banks yourself. You may get a better rate since these car dealers use a broker. Ask for no "Rule 78" & minimum or no early settlement penalty.

7) Don't rush, some banks may take a few days. Rates are around 2.75% to 3.1% for 7yrs.

8) Everyone wants a cut, so you got to negotiate everything to keep them from exploiting you.

9) Read every page before you sign. Make sure all agreements are on paper.

Finally, make sure you can afford the installments, petrol, parking, potential repairs, upgrades, etc. It is also good to take photos of the car before you put your deposit. This is to make sure that when you collect the car, everythings there, especially the radio/MP3 player & the sports rim.

I went to a few car marts, saw about 20 Jazz/Fit before deciding. So take yur time to fall in love!

Others, you can refer to the "What to do when collecting new car", just browse the other topics in this forum.

Cheers.

Hi fellow MCF,

I'm thinking of getting a 2+ year old Jazz / Fit. Wonder is this a good buy? Lots of people tell me not to buy 2nd hand, but if I buy new car, got to drive till 10 yrs (it's too long!!).

I'm looking at driving for a couple of years and sell it before I decided to settle for a "ultimate" car that I know what I want.

Any views?

Thanks,

jamjammer [drivingcar]

if u r looking at a car that drive for a while before commiting into something that you really love...dun even think about a Jazz...high spares cost! wears and tears easily...

go for toyota or a good balance on cost, FC , maintenaince and spare parts cost...

go for Korean for cheap care price!

Clutched

yap...me oso think 53k for a 2.5yrs jazz iss'nt cheap, must ve brought frm a dealer rite? [:)]

most likely he bought from dealer... but which dealer... last week i sold a jazz at only depre 5.3k and that fellow say expensive liao... but someone in here buy a 5.6k depre... what kind of world is this... sigh...

Yes, you are right. Maybe I'll consider a 3 yrs old civic for reliability sake or a one year old Accent for slight higher COE value. Hopefully, when my "needs" (ie, my boys grow older or family intending to expand in force!!) increase, then no choice have to go for 7 seaters liao!

I think Jazz/Fit is out for me. THough it's my dream car but not practical for me. Thanks for all your feedback thus far :)

I reckon if I come across anyone who wish to sell their car and we deal direct with each other then, there's no hidden admin fees and all the nonsense from 2nd hand car dealers, right? Maybe the price will be better for me and the seller, is this correct? Save commission and mark-up for ourselves.

Sorry, no offence to any SE from 2nd hand car dealer here. Just that I heard too many horror stories from friends being "makan" by them.

Any views? Any lobang from my kind bro out there?

2nd Gear

Yep, I do agree on the expensive part but not the reliabilty part. [;)]