Valjean Neutral Newbie April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 Is it advisable to always pump to full tank? Will pumping less than full be detrimental to the car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 pump to full is ok wat, prevents the inside of the tank from rusting... i've only heard that if u always wait till very low fuel then top up, it might damage the fuel pump in the long run cause it might stress the pump Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 Would it be more feasible to pump like 1/2 tank thus the car being lighter, therefore FC increases? Or pump full tank and save the trouble of going back to kiosk all the time.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thepukster Neutral Newbie April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 (edited) It is advisable to pump full tank to prevent the mouth of the fuel tank from rusting. Try to pump before the indicator reaches the last quarter mark. So that the fuel pump will not be exposed. Edited April 26, 2005 by Thepukster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 personally pumping 1/2 tank is fine.. cause there are so many petrol stations in sgp , like 1 at least evey 10km? so its very hard to run out of fuel! its just like u said , its quite troublesome to pump every few days if u have to travel a distance to your "fav" petrol station or some that offers the most discounts lor hmm i tot this 1/2 tank concept only applies to F1 races Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 a half tank of petrol probably weighs abt 25kg.. its even lighter than some children...so i think the savings on fuel due to reduced weight is not substantial. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 Bro, your are right This is what normally the car manual will recommend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 dun understand...wad does it mean to the last quarter mark,,, anyway i squeeze till full full everytime..cos the petrol i use if RM1.41 per litre...so mus save save save... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thepukster Neutral Newbie April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 What I meant was dont let your fuel tank be more than 1/4 empty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orablue 1st Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 alot of people advice to pump to full tank to prevent rust. other than rust (i dunno how soon that will be) i don't think it really matter. less fuel will make the care full lighter (equal higher fc?) but how much difference can it make? personally, i perfer to pump to full tank bec it is easier to measure FC this way. oh yes... some people pump until almost overflow... i prefer to pump until the first click stop. Is it advisable to always pump to full tank? Will pumping less than full be detrimental to the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 haha yah i remembered pumping in the Caltex station juz across the Causeway...Going forr onli RM $1.41/litre, i squeezed in every drop i can until the the petrol overflowed i didnt even knw...wahaha...so paiseh...shows the typical side of Singaporean or issit juz me?.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 haha quite norm...cos every single car (haha all sg cars) is pumping to the max ..up to every drop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 26, 2005 Share April 26, 2005 haha damn paiseh lo....somemore its not just overflow by abit lor...i was chatting away until i realised a puddle of liquid on the floor...lolx./.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie April 27, 2005 Share April 27, 2005 oh never...my petrol was seldom less than half tank...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...