Genie47 1st Gear May 24, 2005 Share May 24, 2005 I got some material from the leftover of installation of biohazard chambers for handling SARS stuff. Dunno how it will perform in the car . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 24, 2005 Share May 24, 2005 maybe must wear spacesuit liao but i must admit tat car below 10yrs dun need tis kind of filter lah ..more applicable for COE cars.... cos my first COE car the filter is so dirty until we had to replace it cos no amount of washing helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 25, 2005 Share May 25, 2005 Just installed mine at $42 from freelance guy who buys direct from Clairefresh manufacturer. It good. Flow is also much better and my aircon gets really cold now (at lowest setting) I understand from this person freelancing is that the prices would not deviate too much. About $40 to $43 depending on size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2005 Share May 30, 2005 Hi bro & sis, Would like to share the following information with you! CaireFresh Cabin HEPA Filter can NEVER be used in cleanroom application as it will fail the cleanroom standard. However, the True HEPA used in cleanrooms can NEVER be used in car cabin as it will breakdown the entire air-con system. This remains a fact until there is another break thru in air filtration technology. The Hybrid HEPA indeed is a break thru to cater to cabin environment in view of the city driving pattern and the outbreak of viruses in the last few years. From our studies, pollutants come into the cabin: 1) Whenever you wind down the windows or open the doors 2) Whenever you drive with an open air vent 3) Infiltration - sips into the cabin thru leaks and cracks as the black rubber degrades You probably know how dirty our car cabin can be. Our findings reveal that it can be 100 times higher than the US EPA standard set for indoor environment. When these pollutants enter the cabin, it would be hard to purge as the airborne particles will be subjected to the recycling process of the air-con system. In the case of city driving, motorist takes about 30 mins to 45 mins to travel from one place to another. You will open the door or wind down the window when you arrive at the destination. For normal cabin air-con filter which has efficiency around 25-30% for sub micron particles , it will never bring the pollution level to down to a healthy level within such a short duration. It will be your pair of lungs that are doing the filtering from you. With the incorporation of HEPA (Hybrid) filter, it will reduce these pollutants within a mere 15 mins. This is why such filter was introduced for city driving condition. Similarly for planes and cruises in the US, such filters are incorporated into the respective air-con system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 Hi bro & sis, Another feature of the CaireFresh filters not found in original car cabin filters is the anti-bacterial property which inhibits the growth of bacteria and mold on the filter media. Picture 1(Top):Normal Cabin Filter with Mould- USED Filter (4 months old) Picture 2(Bottom): CaireFresh Cabin Filter with Antibacterial Treatment- USED Filter (6 month old) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 2, 2005 Share June 2, 2005 >> CaireFresh Cabin HEPA Filter can NEVER be used in cleanroom application as it will fail the cleanroom standard. However, the True HEPA used in cleanrooms can NEVER be used in car cabin as it will breakdown the entire air-con system. This remains a fact until there is another break thru in air filtration technology. The Hybrid HEPA indeed is a break thru to cater to cabin environment in view of the city driving pattern and the outbreak of viruses in the last few years. ------- well, according to u, it is not a HEPA filter, so why the misnormer tat it is a HEPA filter? beri misleading right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie June 2, 2005 Share June 2, 2005 (edited) You may like to know that there are 2 main categories of HEPA -- True HEPA and Hybrid HEPA. As mentioned above, CaireFresh using Hybrid HEPA . The Hybrid HEPA blends in with charged electrostatic fibers so that high filtration efficiency is maintained (above 90% for sub micron particles) while the air resistance is kept low. This is the most recent filtration technology from USA adopted for application in the automotive market eversince the outbreak of SARS and other flu viruses had emerged. In US and Europe, air planes and other public transportation have started to incorporate such HEPA filters into the air-con system. You may also get to know that such filters will be used in commercial buildings to give better protection to the occupants. Hope this gives a more in-depth explanation. Edited June 2, 2005 by Ml21 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinkeong Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Am using Bosch Aeristo activated-Charcoal filter.... quite good as it removes odour rather effectively... good if u da pao food regularly.... heard tt it lasts 15000km.... paid $60+ for it... feel tt its very value for $$$.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Share July 14, 2005 You are right! As Charcoal filter for cabin air-con application is developed PRIMARILY for odour reduction. Filter composition includes both the activated carbon media and charged filter media. This product incorporation was originated from Japan in the last 10 years to cater to their common smoking habits acquired by the local driving population. The main objective is to reduce the smoke smell and particles from cigarettes. Because the static pressure for the overall combination of these 2 media are already high, the charged media which this type of filter adopted cannot be too high in filter grade -- otherwise, the air-con operations will be adversely affected. Henceforth the particulate removal (filtration efficiency) is limited and the air clean-up rate is slow. HEPA filter for cabin air-con application is the latest development in air filtration technology. With the outburst of SARS and other flu viruses in recent years, capturing these airborne particulates and protecting the people in an enclosed areas have never been so crucial. In US and Europe, for the last 1-2 years, airlines and other forms of public transportation have begun to incorporate HEPA filters into their air-con systems to reduce the possiblity of human-to-human infection by these viruses and to tackle the cabin pollution contributed by the ever polluted outdoor environment. The Cabin HEPA Filter comprises of HEPA filter media used in cleanrooms & hospital surgical rooms and triboelectric charged polypropylene (PP) fibers blended together. While it has a tremedously high particulate removal rate of above 90% within 15 minutes for airborne particles as small as 0.1 micron, it enables the air-con system to function normally without restricting the flow of cooled air. An internal laboratory test and a 3rd party field evaluation were carried out on both types of filters. Results showed that the cabin HEPA filter is 4 times more effective and 6 times faster than the charcoal filter in the particulate removal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Danapj Clutched July 18, 2005 Share July 18, 2005 Hi, Is it possible to clean the HEPA filter the way we clean our K&N filter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stepper Neutral Newbie July 18, 2005 Share July 18, 2005 Just installed mine at $42 from freelance guy who buys direct from Clairefresh manufacturer. It good. Flow is also much better and my aircon gets really cold now (at lowest setting) I understand from this person freelancing is that the prices would not deviate too much. About $40 to $43 depending on size. can have the contact for this filter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grandfather Neutral Newbie July 18, 2005 Share July 18, 2005 Just installed mine at $42 from freelance guy who buys direct from Clairefresh manufacturer. It good. Flow is also much better and my aircon gets really cold now (at lowest setting) I understand from this person freelancing is that the prices would not deviate too much. About $40 to $43 depending on size. Hi, can PM me the contact or not? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie July 19, 2005 Share July 19, 2005 No, its not washable. Need to be replaced every 10,000km or 6 months. Check before replacement, if still clean can continue to use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie July 19, 2005 Share July 19, 2005 Hi Stepper & Grandfather, Which model are you driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 19, 2005 Share July 19, 2005 Call Roger at 96833586. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stepper Neutral Newbie July 23, 2005 Share July 23, 2005 me driving a Mazda2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml21 Neutral Newbie July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 Hv you contact Roger? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 i think star automative centre has a promo on their air-con servicing at $78 inclusive of the cairefresh filter... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...