Engine Implant

Frost98

If i swop my current engine to a 1.5L one, will i fail my next car inspection?

What are the things i shld look out for if i want to swop?

anyone with such experience?

If both are sohc, then maybe hard to detect. How much is the hp difference between 1.3 and 1.5 for your case, from what i know, some are hardly substantial. Unless it's certain H brand from 1.6 to 1.8 or 2L, that one got alot of diff. [sly]

If die die must do, may as well do forced induction [lipsrsealed], more hp and less severe fine if caught also.

if the inspector suspects an engine swapped/illegal mod...they call in the enforcement unit...they wun fail ur inspection...

prepare a good statement...just in case...I think there'r many who got away...but I knew 'one' who did'nt.. [:)]

If i swop my current engine to a 1.5L one, will i fail my next car inspection?

What are the things i shld look out for if i want to swop?

anyone with such experience?

confirm fail. even if u swap a similar engine, u still hv to provide documents from the engine manufacturer, etc to prove the engine you're swapping is a direct replacement.

Once the inspector suspected the engine number is a re-punch by locall sifu, they will inform LTA and the enforcing officer will retain your car for further investigation.If there is sufficient proof, you will face the court and chances your car will be confiscated.

My adv is to forget about the transplant, it is not worth the time and money and you many end up having a heart transplant.

not reali the brand u mentioned hav got much diff....

hav to depend on the wat engine swap u r doing...

if SOHC to DOHC ofcos obvious...

but if bth same SOHC or DOHC,the diff wun be too noticible.... [nod]

i'm quite sketical about this.

the last time i went for the inspection, they din even open the bonnet to see.

how in the world will they know the engine is transplanted when they don't even see it.

my swop is from a same model car, just that the 1.5L capacity wasn't available in sg. had to ship from japan. engine outlook exactly the same.

i'd say "just do it" [:)]

i know of people who do engine swap... and getting away cause it looks exactly the same.

they aint gona tear ur engine apart to tell the difference.

not reali the brand u mentioned hav got much diff....

hav to depend on the wat engine swap u r doing...

if SOHC to DOHC ofcos obvious...

but if bth same SOHC or DOHC,the diff wun be too noticible.... [nod]

Ya lor, both dohc, not so obvious. It's not the curly H i'm refering to leh. The straight H's B16 to B18, abt 30hp diff right? More than 1 NA hp per cc, go where find? [nod]

Anyway, my friend did it [lipsrsealed], lots of difference in performance man. Somemore passed inspection easily, passed the "accident" he kena, and claimed from insurance even. [sweatdrop][laugh]

But personally, i still won't do lah, it's really breaking the law to the x degree already, IMHO. [sweatdrop]

do i have to change other areas of the car to keep up with the increased capacity or is it just a straight swop?

can't say what car, go figure it out. hehe.

veri common one is 4G13 to 4G15....exactly the same.....but no fool proof...can get a compression measurement gauge to check the difference...... [:p]