Major recall by MMC !!!! siao liaoz....

Apollo

Carmaker admits that it failed to act on defects for up to 3 years

TOKYO Mitsubishi Motors, responsible for one of the global auto industry's largest product recalls, has said it will take back 274,635 cars in Japan to fix defects that it failed to act on for up to three years.

Mitsubishi Motors will recall its Colt compact cars and the Galant, Aspire and Legnum sedans to repair defective ignition systems and air conditioner fans, according to the Tokyo-based carmaker's applications filed Tuesday to the Transport Ministry.

The recall is the latest hurdle for Mitsubishi Motors, which is seeking to restore its brand image after it admitted to having hidden defects twice in five years. Sales by Mitsubishi Motors, Japan's fifth-largest carmaker, fell 32 percent in March and have slumped for 15 months.

"An incident like this would give a bad impression" to investors, said Shigeo Kikuchi, a Takagi Securities equity manager in Tokyo. "Mitsubishi Motors hasn't been able to change its corporate culture and has a long way to go to revive itself."

The company, Japan's sole unprofitable carmaker, has been surviving on funds injected by shareholders, receiving almost

wah lau eh...colt and galant...what about others? My bro just bought a lancer!!! xiao liao...if they can hide 3 years without recall, then what about other models?

Think all those driving mit cars now must be biting their nails!! This is freaking unethical!!!Thought the company would have learnt its leasson after the last scandal!!!

actually the defects dun sound so serious. ok, mebbe some japs really dunno what a key is for.

mebbe too much AV liaoz, anyhow plug into holes can find. no wonder 2 got injured. lolz.

dun worry...

if they unethical, they will hide another 5 more.

forgive and let life. mebbe they throw in $500 petrol voucher for ur trouble.

or mebbe sit under papaya tree, coconut may drop down also.

lolz. lelax.

erm... why again? actually if u follow on Japan Today's tabloid, every month also got some car get recalled, even european model. end of article is DM's recall on mercs mah.

Used to own Mit many years back, kanna recall a few times in 4 years. But at least these guys try to make sure that you dun get into danger driving the car. I understand from American friends that people died in US because care are supposed to recall but the car company save face by hiding the truth.

For me i fed up and sold that old Galant away. But later, i found my bros Merc/BMW also kanna recall..

Perhaps, just have to get used to it after you buy a car.

Where is the source from???

Looks like a C&C flamer news? [:|]

Can give us the link to take a look? [;)]

Thanks bro [:)]

wah lau eh...colt and galant...what about others? My bro just bought a lancer!!! xiao liao...if they can hide 3 years without recall, then what about other models?

Think all those driving mit cars now must be biting their nails!! This is freaking unethical!!!Thought the company would have learnt its leasson after the last scandal!!!

juz keep fingers crossed that lancers wont kena recall loh. so many on the road. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I was considering the Colt! Heng never opted for it cause CO doesn't like hatchies!
actually not bad lah. consider colt and jazz... colt is slightly cheaper. [;)]

Bro,

My Wish also kana 'recalling' soon.....still waiting [smallcry] since last year due to a Faulty Brake Switch. Some Wishes have problem engaging from "P" to "D" because the switch behind the brake pedal unable to "detect" that you are stepping on the brake to allow you to shift out of "P".

So far no problem for me [sweatdrop]

Edited by Wish186