Vtim 3rd Gear June 21, 2005 Share June 21, 2005 My Volvo S60 recon parts are not that easy to find. Hopefully, I don't need to change anything before I change my car. there are only a few aircon compressor makers for cars, most likely conti are using Bosch, if I'm not wrong. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 21, 2005 Share June 21, 2005 If proton saga, just go any WS in JB. They all "specialize" in that make of car. 2nd hand compressors sud be aplenty. Just b careful u don't get conned. Try to check for a reliable & honest WS b4 u go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 21, 2005 Share June 21, 2005 That's one of the main drawbacks of owning a conti car. U might still get 1 from the scrapyards as the carry alot of stuff for conti cars (especially merc) nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 that's very true as the volume on conti is not that great here except maybe for Merc I was surprise to find a re-con air-con compressor for my Alfa 33 16v and it wasn't in SG but in one of the small town in Terengganu and it cost only RM250 back in 98' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 I hopr I don't have to go to Trengganu to get a replacement compressor for my old car next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 my was a different case lar, was on the way to one of the resort to Kuantan and by the time I reach there, air-con compressor freezed up and kaput was damn lucky to find a recon as replacement on the next day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 only $125 Sg after conversion for ur recon alfa compressor!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 heehee... yah, just $2.00. i was rather surprise... with so much work, testing, go under the dashboard, check every cables,.... yet only charge me $2.00 me driving a COE proton saga. i think the compressor may be less than $180 lah. when it broke down then see how lor. that's why droves of ppl go MC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 23, 2005 Share June 23, 2005 less than S$125 lar, back in 98, exchange rate was better, it was slightly less than S$100 by the way, the Compressor is Denso Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear June 23, 2005 Share June 23, 2005 denso somemore....u really "earn" man!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 24, 2005 Share June 24, 2005 I was very lucky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear July 24, 2005 Share July 24, 2005 i just replaced my buang air-con compressor at KaiTex Motors, the one inside caltex station in pasir panjang... cheap, honest and good quality service! btw i'm driving daewoo nubira..the compressor spoilt after like 2yr 8mths only... :( replaced at about 1/3 the price startauto quoted... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear July 24, 2005 Share July 24, 2005 how much was the replacement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear August 7, 2005 Share August 7, 2005 pm me for the price... :) not very cheap cos hard to find this model of compressor...this also includes changing the receiver drier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 6, 2005 Share October 6, 2005 i got a feeling its the electrical board dat is faulty. cost bout $100+... this thing controls the on n off of compressor n the condensor. good luck!! iszit the black colour electrical board? i changed a recon for $15 at MC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5kylark February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 Is the trend to just replace? MC quoted 800 for new compressor but I planning to sell soon so hoping for recon but tough. > Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 A brand new original compressor cost about $300+ include discharge and suction pipe. Hyundai and Kia use Denso compressor. I bought at KB Autobay top storey. You can go JB a get it installed lor. I installed myself ...... heeee Is the trend to just replace?MC quoted 800 for new compressor but I planning to sell soon so hoping for recon but tough.> 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greddy82 1st Gear March 13, 2019 Share March 13, 2019 How does Ah Huat from MC looks like so I can straight go to him instead of the other mech? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...