Alignment

Zero

Tampines Motorgard. $40 for wheel alignment. Didn't go there anymore as they always try their luck to do other things.

How they do it:

a) Remove a cover on the floor. A roller mechanism expose.

b) Drive the car slowly on the roller mechanism. (front right wheel on roller)

c) Look the overhead display. If >0.5, reverse car and adjust right wheel nut.

d) Do (b) again. If hopeless, adjust left wheel nut.

e) once completed. Tightened both nuts.

Mech will then bring the car for a spin. Rule of thumb is to drive at 80 km/h on a straight road. If steering does not drift, then it is ok. I think this is not a good gauge as if you just completed a wheel rotation, drifting to left or right is normal as it will take a while for the wheels wear evenly and balance out the drift.

This is what I saw and I also understand alignment is done when you seriously mounted kerb or after doing wheels rotation. Need not have to do it too often as $40 is painful to the wallet.

Regards,

That isn't alighment. That is side slip test. and likely to adjust only 1 side of the wheel only. I was been cheated by them once too. Told me to check whether the alighement got out or not after I change check tyre over there. Later I realised that they only do side slip test and tighten something under the car and done. Lastly they will tell you this "We can only promise the steering will go straight with wheels during driving, but didn't garantee the car will move to left or right during releasing of hand away from steering". Wah lau... what the hack man! [furious] .

That place, change tyre change lah. But the rest of the job, so some other place.

Blur blur also thought this is alignment.

Anyway, glad to know.

Have not gone back for a long time and likely will not anymore.

If got good and trusted mechanic, do recommend for my future reference.

Thanks.

ya lor. [:/]

That place, change tyre can lah. But don't do any thing else.

I usually do my servicing in JB. Because they is cheaper and quality of work still exceptable. Can compare with S'pore.

Hi bro~,

got my issue fixed up and the reason is POOR workmanship when fixing my RIMs. Now everything is fixed.

rdgs

Zero

you mean when my car going 80kph and i let go of my steering and the car drift left slightly is not cos of wheel alignment?

Eh... yes... Its betta to double check that the wheels are really balanced AND then go do alignment. IMHO changing Rims & Wheels do not cause the alignment to go off.

That bugger who did my rims FORGOT to remove the screw at the drum brake AND did not put any spacer then just secure the rear Rims on. So the Rims are not full secure as there is a slight gap. As mentioned above, my alignment went very off due to the lowered spring i changed, but after my alignment the car moving to the right was caused by the 2 screws.

Actually it depend. If you let go your steering and it take quite a while to move to the left slowly, than It's ok. Coz most road is design with a little bit of slope to drain away the water during heavy rain, otherwise, expressway will be flooded.

Or if you are driving straight and you realised that your are holding the steering slightly to the right, it's also quite normal due to road conditional like what I mentioned above.

If you release the steering and it move to the left immediately, than it's the alighment problem liao.

mentioned above somewhere,... alighment cost about S$50-S$60... that's for front 2 wheels only or for all 4 wheels?

Bro, it's for 4 wheels. They jack up the car and do some tightening at the bottom of the car... with 4 garget to cramp onto 4 rims and computerize adjustment...something like that lah.

Do you need the address?