The classic case...

Divemaster

wow... that's a good FC.. if i could get 10km/L i would be overjoy..

Only 1K less milage then you leh.... [:(] . I am using 15inch rims also, somemore slightly lighter then original sports rims.

Have always been using Caltex 95 due to discount... but last week 15% discount pump vpower... FC becomes even worst.. 1/2 tank ~150..[crazy]

I guess i am not really light footed but 8km/l is really [crazy], my friend WRX jdm also that figures he says..

If only this car can archieve a consistent 11-12km/L...Optra wld truly be a super-value brand. FC is this car achilles heel.

I thot it should have been 426km/58L since you have burnt 58L after having travelled for 426km. So, your real FC should have been 7.3km/L [lipsrsealed]

Nope. I topped up 58 litres to the brim 1st. Travelled 426 km and top up again to the brim at 53.71 litres. Meaning i used 53.71 litres to travel a distance of 426 km. The 58 litres has no meaning other than to reflect that i almost emptied my tank before filling it coz i changed from Mobile 2000 to Shell 92, to at best eliminate any petrol differences from different brands [:)]

Agreed. I have no other complaints with this car. Strange thing is that it seems to grow on me. Everytime i drive it, i want to drive it even more [rolleyes]

should be, i pump 4 consective tanks of ron95 when fuel guage problems happens. now back 98 oso no used must fix when go scv. not used to see fuel needle at Emply where mileage only at 300km

serious? i have been using ron 95 esso/mobil all the while leh. nothing wrong. let us know what's the problem after the trip to SA

My Aveo5 (A) FC for the first tank was about 8 plus lite /km.

I had pumped 31.29litres of esso ron 95 when my fuel gauge was at 1/4 full. The 31.29litres plus 1/4 tank showed me a needle reading of over Full. I had asked the uncle to pump to the rim full..

After travelling for 320km, my pump light came up.. So FC effectively is 8 plus as I need to factor in the initial 1/4 tank..

Edited by Black_knight1sg

I drive a Optra (A). Just went up to Genting last weekend. Pump full with Shell V-power at Batu Pahat and travel up and down Genting 2-3 times. When I left on Mon, went into KL and pump full for 34 lit after travelling 356km. This works out to be 10.4km/l. When I reach JB (NS highway all the way), I fill up with only 26 lits for 366km, giving me 14km/l!! I was shock. I was hitting 140kpm on average, rpm above 3000, and it still give me good FC.

However, that only happen in M. After I came back, (still with the tank of V-power from JB), I can only hit 100km at 3/4 tank.I think I will probably hit only 8km/l this time.

I think it is because of the start/stop driving pattern in Singapore. The car is too heavy. Every start uses too much petrol.....

wah thats sibei sian man for u... well so it pays to get a car wif an engine that can reach a good max torque in the low rpms and light body as well.

i drive 80% city 20% highway. Getting 10+km/litre on Shell 95 Honda Civic VTI on 17" rims Falken St115s

Edited by Duckduck

[wave] Tat's quite a good mileage considering ur ride is a VTEC & somemore u r on 17inch rims. Is ur ride the latest Civic ES series? Lastly, is ur transmission Automatic or Manual? Soli me kpo [:p]

Cheers!

Lol..I din notice tat. Per litre & nt per tank..Bt I tink is per tank la. Gt wat car can achieve 400+km/L u let me know. I confirm buy [laugh] Few mths then pump petrol once [smash][smash][smash]

Cheers!

One question, your car is on how many milleage? More than 10000km? Running at 140km/h on average isn't that too fast for a new engine??

I drive a Optra (A). Just went up to Genting last weekend. Pump full with Shell V-power at Batu Pahat and travel up and down Genting 2-3 times. When I left on Mon, went into KL and pump full for 34 lit after travelling 356km. This works out to be 10.4km/l. When I reach JB (NS highway all the way), I fill up with only 26 lits for 366km, giving me 14km/l!! I was shock. I was hitting 140kpm on average, rpm above 3000, and it still give me good FC.

However, that only happen in M. After I came back, (still with the tank of V-power from JB), I can only hit 100km at 3/4 tank.I think I will probably hit only 8km/l this time.

I think it is because of the start/stop driving pattern in Singapore. The car is too heavy. Every start uses too much petrol.....

Optra definitely is a highway car... good on continous long trip... but sucks big time on city driving. [rifle]

wah thats sibei sian man for u... well so it pays to get a car wif an engine that can reach a good max torque in the low rpms and light body as well.

i drive 80% city 20% highway. Getting 10+km/litre on Shell 95 Honda Civic VTI on 17" rims Falken St115s

I had migrated from an EK3 to Optra (M).....no doubt the EK3 gave me lots of power but the noise insulation was [shocked]...but the low end torque of the EK3 is definitely worst than than ur ES5. I had troubled climbing my EK3 with full load,,hence must always rev to 4000 rpm to get the power. As for fuel consumption, I was getting 12 ~ 13 km/l

As for my current Optra (M), fc is almost the same 11~12km/l,,,but the insulation was much better. Comfort is also much better than the EK3, my colleague who owned a ES8 was impressed with the engine noise insulation too.

At the time of purchase, the ES5 was almost 18k more than the Optra; with my travelling pattern, I believed the 18k can buy me all the petrol I need for the next 6 to 8 yrs!!

anyway just my 2cts worth of experience to share.